Production / 3sat-recording
The 10 Selected Productions

Automatenbüfett

by Anna Gmeyner

Burgtheater (Vienna)

Premiere 30 October 2020

Barbara Frey and the Vienna Burgtheater’s acting company have created a wonderfully tragicomic evening of theatre that puts the rarely performed author Anna Gmeyner back in the spotlight.

Automatenbüfett. Video trailer

© Burgtheater

  • 2 h
  • In German with German and English subtitles and German audio description

Past Dates

The 2021 festival edition will be presented online.
This production will be accessible via the ZDF Mediathek from 15 May to 11 September.

After-show talk and reception in honour of the artists
on 16 May 2021 at 22:05

The provincialist Adam saves the beautiful stranger Eva from suicide by drowning and takes her along to the “Automatenbüfett”, the restaurant owned by his feisty wife. Eva’s arrival is an attraction to this largely male community and the shrewd Adam knows how to use it to further his plans. Anna Gmeyner’s characters are struggling desperately for civility but cannot help gradually revealing their own depravity. Martin Zehetgruber has designed the eponymous automat, which provides a looming backdrop to sometimes cringeworthily funny and sometimes heartrendingly sad encounters between the outstanding cast. Once again, director Barbara Frey has proved her talent for precise yet casual suspense – and an intelligent, contemporary look at gender-dependencies.

Theatertreffen-juror Petra Paterno about the production
“Automatenbüfett” is a rediscovery. Author Anna Gmeyner, born in Vienna in 1902, was a literary outsider throughout her life. “Automatenbüfett” would have been more than adequate to establish Gmeyner as a dramatist as early as the 1930s, but since she was a left-wing Jewish playwright, her writing was banned in Nazi-Germany. Gmeyner managed to escape to exile in Britain and never returned to Austria.

Critics like to compare the author to Ödon von Horváth, often to her disadvantage. And yet especially her female characters are tough fighters who will take what’s theirs against all resistance – quite unlike Horváth’s forlorn damsels. At the outset of the play, a young woman called Eva (Katharina Lorenz) is prevented by a certain Mr Adam (Michael Maertens) from taking her own life. From this point on, Eva feels obliged to support Adam in his passionate pursuit of a whimsical project: He wants to breed carp. Not exactly the beginning of a play about female empowerment as we would see it today, but this particular Adam-and-Eve-relationship will shift over the course of the story.

Director Barbara Frey’s production at the Vienna Akademietheater is as laid-back as it is sensitive and manages to avoid the genre-typical allocation of victimhood in this petit bourgeois cabinet of curiosities. The set is an eye-catcher: Martin Zehetgruber has literally hoisted an over-dimensioned automat into the theatre. It spits out sausages and beer at the drop of a coin, and stage musician Tommy Hojsa will also only play for cash.

Frey has committed her company to an artificial movement vocabulary; everything happens with deliberate slowness. It’s not the grand gesture that counts here, but an eye for detail. The director defies simple naturalism; circumstances are portrayed in all their ruthlessness and a cohesive and outstanding ensemble performance conjures them on to the stage. “Automatenbüfett” is subtle and rough-spun, deeply sad and uproariously funny. An entire world on a stage.

Artistic Team

Barbara Frey Director
Martin Zehetgruber Set design
Stephanie Wagner Set design collaboration
Esther Geremus Costume design
Tommy Hojsa, Barbara Frey Music
Friedrich Rom Lighting design
Andreas Karlaganis Dramaturgy

Michael Maertens Adam
Maria Happel Mrs Adam
Katharina Lorenz Eva
Christoph Luser Pankraz / Willibald Boxer
Dörte Lyssewski Puttgam
Annamária Láng Cäcilie / Editor Arendt
Robert Reinagl School Councillor Wittibtöter
Hans Dieter Knebel Pharmacist Hüslein
Daniel Jesch Head Forester Wutlitz
Daniel Jesch / Hans Dieter Knebel / Annamária Láng / Robert Reinagl The Women of the Members of the A.F.V.
Tommy Hojsa Piano

Programme brochure

for download PDF, 14.3 MB

First television broadcast of the 3sat-recording
on 29 May 2021 at 20:15

Inszenierung / 3sat-Aufzeichnung
10er Auswahl

Automatenbüfett

von Anna Gmeyner

Burgtheater (Wien)

Premiere 30. Oktober 2020

Barbara Frey und dem Ensemble des Burgtheaters gelingt ein wunderbar tragikomischer Theaterabend, der die selten gespielte Autorin Anna Gmeyner wieder ins Licht der Aufmerksamkeit rückt.

Automatenbüfett. Videotrailer

© Burgtheater

  • 2 h
  • In deutscher Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Untertiteln und Audiodeskription in deutscher Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Die Festivalausgabe 2021 findet digital statt.
Diese Inszenierung ist in der ZDF Mediathek vom 15. Mai bis 11. September 2021 verfügbar.

Nachgespräch und Künstler*innen-Ehrung
am 16. Mai 2021 um 22:05 Uhr

Der Provinzbürger Adam bewahrt die schöne Unbekannte Eva vor dem Freitod durch Ertrinken und bringt sie mit in das „Automatenbüfett“, die Gastwirtschaft seiner resoluten Ehefrau. Evas Ankunft ist für die männerlastige Gemeinschaft eine Attraktion, die der durchtriebene Adam für seine Pläne zu nutzen weiß. Anna Gmeyners Figuren kämpfen verzweifelt um Verbindlichkeit und offenbaren sukzessive doch nur wieder die eigene Schlechtigkeit. Der von Martin Zehetgruber entworfene titelgebende Automat bildet den drohenden Hintergrund, vor dem sich das herausragende Ensemble auf mal peinlichst-komische, mal herzzerreißend traurige Weise begegnet. Regisseurin Barbara Frey beweist einmal mehr ihr Talent für unaufgeregte, präzise Spannung – und einen klugen, zeitgemäßen Blick auf Geschlechterabhängigkeiten.

Theatertreffen-Jurorin Petra Paterno zur Inszenierung
„Automatenbüfett“ ist eine Wiederentdeckung. Die Autorin Anna Gmeyner, geboren 1902 in Wien, war zeitlebens eine literarische Außenseiterin. „Automatenbüfett“ hätte bereits in den 1930er-Jahren das Zeug dazu gehabt, Gmeyner den Durchbruch als Dramatikerin zu ermöglichen; als linke Bühnendichterin jüdischer Herkunft waren ihre Texte in Nazi-Deutschland verboten; Gmeyner gelang die Flucht ins britische Exil, nach Österreich kehrte sie nie mehr zurück.

Gern wird die Autorin mit Ödön von Horváth verglichen, häufig allerdings zu ihren Ungunsten. Dabei sind gerade Gmeyners Frauenfiguren – im Unterschied zu Horváths verlorenen Fräuleins – zähe Kämpferinnennaturen, die sich nehmen, was man ihnen nicht freiwillig geben will. „Automatenbüfett“ beginnt damit, dass eine junge Frau namens Eva (Katharina Lorenz) von einem gewissen Herrn Adam (Michael Maertens) bei ihrem Selbstmordversuch gerettet wird. Eva sieht sich fortan verpflichtet, Adam bei seinem wunderlichen Herzensprojekt – dem Aufbau einer Karpfenzucht – zu unterstützen. Nicht gerade der Auftakt für ein emanzipatorisches Stück im gegenwärtigen Sinne; das Adam-Eva-Verhältnis wird im Laufe der Handlung allerdings kippen.

Der Regisseurin Barbara Frey ist im Wiener Akademietheater eine so unaufgeregte wie leichthändige „Automatenbüfett“-Inszenierung geglückt, ohne die genretypischen Opferrollen des kleinbürgerlichen Panoptikums zu bedienen. Das Bühnenbild sticht heraus: Martin Zehetgruber hat buchstäblich einen überdimensionierten Automaten ins Theater gewuchtet, der nach Münzeinwurf rund um die Uhr Würstel und Bier ausspuckt; der Bühnenmusiker Tommy Hojsa spielt ebenfalls nur gegen Bares.

Frey hat ihr Ensemble auf ein artifizielles Bewegungsrepertoire eingeschworen; alles passiert absichtsvoll langsam, nicht die große Geste, sondern der Blick fürs Detail zählt. Die Regisseurin widersetzt sich simplem Naturalismus; die Verhältnisse werden auf der Bühne in ihrer ganzen Unbarmherzigkeit beschrieben und überzeugend durch eine geschlossene und hervorragende Ensembleleistung herbeigezaubert. „Automatenbüfett“ ist subtil und grobgewirkt, tieftraurig und zum Brüllen komisch. Eine ganze Welt auf einer Bühne.

Künstlerisches Team

Barbara Frey Regie
Martin Zehetgruber Bühne
Stephanie Wagner Mitarbeit Bühne
Esther Geremus Kostüme
Tommy Hojsa, Barbara Frey Musik
Friedrich Rom Licht
Andreas Karlaganis Dramaturgie

Mit
Michael Maertens Adam
Maria Happel Frau Adam
Katharina Lorenz Eva
Christoph Luser Pankraz / Willibald Boxer
Dörte Lyssewski Puttgam
Annamária Láng Cäcilie / Redakteur Arendt
Robert Reinagl Schulrat Wittibtöter
Hans Dieter Knebel Apotheker Hüslein
Daniel Jesch Oberförster Wutlitz
Daniel Jesch / Hans Dieter Knebel / Annamária Láng / Robert Reinagl Die Frauen der Mitglieder des A.F.V.
Tommy Hojsa Piano

Erstausstrahlung der 3sat-Aufzeichnung im TV
am 29. Mai 2021 um 20:15 Uhr