Production / 3sat-recording
The 10 Selected Productions

Graf Öderland

A street ballad in twelve scenes by Max Frisch

A co-production of Theater Basel (artistic directorship of Andreas Beck, proxy Almut Wagner) and Bayerisches Staatsschauspiel/Residenztheater (Munich)

Premiere 14 February 2020 (Basel)

Stefan Bachmann stages Frisch’s drama as a highly musical horror trip with powerful imagery, giving full scope to the suggestive power of the theatre.

Graf Öderland. Video trailer

© Residenztheater

  • 1 h 40 min
  • In German with English subtitles

Past Dates

The 2021 festival edition will be presented online.
This production will be accessible via the ZDF Mediathek from 15 May to 11 September.

After-show talk and reception in honour of the artists
on 17 May 2021 at 21:35

A bank clerk bludgeons a janitor to death: with no reason, no motive, just like that. This murderer and his “senseless” deed totally derail the general prosecutor whose job it is to bring the charge. In a mad rush, he leaves his well-ordered existence and becomes an axe-wielding murderer, initiating a bloody movement against the socio-political status quo. Stefan Bachmann takes the subtitle of this “street ballad” at face value. The multifaceted live music, a cast who are clearly going all out and Olaf Altmann’s congenial spatial positing create a nightmarish maelstrom that sees the story of “Count Oederland with the axe in his hand” as timeless while at the same time evoking countless highly topical associations.

Theatertreffen-juror Sabine Leucht about the production
A general prosecutor is catapulted from his bourgeois existence by an unfathomable case: An upright bank clerk has committed murder with no other motive than an internal feeling of unrest, which will go on to have ever more turbulent repercussions in Max Frisch’s “Graf Öderland (Count Oederland)”. Among Frisch’s oeuvre, this “street ballad in twelve scenes” is the play most open to interpretation. Fragmented and full of abrupt twists, it was quickly rejected by the theatres and loved by its author like a problem child.

Stefan Bachmann has now turned prosecutor Martin’s rampage into an enthralling piece of theatre of images, where all the play’s riddles and fragments find their natural place in a nightmarish dramaturgy. While Frisch still took a petit bourgeois milieu as his starting point and outlined settings including a prison cell and a governmental palace, Bachmann’s narrowing of dream, reality and subconscious is given a stage that is as abstract as it is expressive. In Olaf Altmann’s gigantic vertical funnel, the characters are trying in vain to find a foothold and crash again and again. This also goes for prosecutor Martin, played by Thiemo Strutzenberger as an annoyingly cheerful murderer-saint who will destroy everything that gets in the way of his infantile crusade for self-realisation – be it the institution of marriage, the law or morality. He becomes both the myth of “Count Oederland wielding an axe” and the leader of an illustrious freedom movement. Finally, however, he realises that this makes him all the more qualified for the very system driven by functionality and efficiency that he had tried to escape.

How splendidly this parable from the 1950s suits our present times, where countries are ruled by Borderline-patients and confused conspiracy-windbags have chosen “freedom” as their battle-cry (which, admittedly, had not yet happened at the time of the premiere) is pretty much self-explanatory in this production, which harvests its images and distorted physiognomies chiefly from the history of film. Between expressionist silent-film-quotes à la Nosferatu, Tim Burton’s spookiness and Tarantino’s splatter, the show finds its own language for the monstrous that is only concealed by the thin varnish of civilisation. Thanks to its splendid live music and increasingly ballad-like spoken song, this precisely choreographed production develops a strong maelstrom and shows how quickly alienation and a weariness of civil society can shift into aggression. Not only at the fringes of society but also at its centre.

Artistic Team

Stefan Bachmann Director
Olaf Altmann Set design
Esther Geremus Costume design
Sven Kaiser Composition
Roland Edrich Lighting design
Sabina Perry Body work
Barbara Sommer Dramaturgy

With
Thiemo Strutzenberger The Prosecutor
Barbara Horvath Elsa / A Gendarme / The Aged State President
Simon Zagermann Dr Hahn / A Convict
Linda Blümchen Hilde / Inge / Coco
Steffen Höld The Murderer
Klaus Brömmelmeier Mario / A Gendarme / The General / Mrs Hofmeier
Moritz von Treuenfels A Guard / A Concierge / The Commissioner / A Student
Mario Fuchs The Father / A Boy / The Minister of the Interior
Julius Schröder The Mother / The Driver / The Director

Sven Kaiser Musical director
Tobias Weber Electric guitar
Cornelius Borgolte Bass clarinet / Clarinet
Julia Bassler Violin / Electric violin

Performing rights: Suhrkamp Verlag, Berlin

Programme brochure

for download PDF, 576 KB

First television broadcast of the 3sat-recording
on 22 May 2021 at 20:15

Inszenierung / 3sat-Aufzeichnung
10er Auswahl

Graf Öderland

Eine Moritat in zwölf Bildern von Max Frisch

Eine Koproduktion von Theater Basel (Intendanz Andreas Beck, vertreten durch Almut Wagner) und Bayerisches Staatsschauspiel/Residenztheater (München)

Premiere 14. Februar 2020 (Basel)

Stefan Bachmann erzählt Frischs Drama als hochmusikalischen, bildgewaltigen Horror-Trip, in dem er die suggestive Kraft des Theaters zur vollen Entfaltung bringt.

Graf Öderland. Videotrailer

© Residenztheater

  • 1 h 40 min
  • In deutscher Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln

Vergangene Termine

Die Festivalausgabe 2021 findet digital statt.
Diese Inszenierung ist in der ZDF Mediathek vom 15. Mai bis 11. September 2021 verfügbar.

Künstler*innen-Ehrung und Nachgespräch
am 17. Mai 2021 um 21:35 Uhr

Ein Bankangestellter erschlägt einen Hausmeister: ohne Grund, ohne Motiv, einfach so. Der Mörder und dessen „sinnlose“ Tat werfen den Staatsanwalt, der die Anklage führen soll, völlig aus der Bahn. Hals über Kopf verlässt dieser sein geordnetes Dasein und initiiert als Mörder mit der Axt in der Hand eine blutige Bewegung gegen den gesellschaftspolitischen Status quo. Regisseur Stefan Bachmann nimmt den Untertitel „Moritat“ beim Wort. Dank der facettenreichen Live-Musik, einem spielwütigen Ensemble und einer kongenialen Raumsetzung von Olaf Altmann entsteht ein albtraumhafter Sog, der die Geschichte von „Graf Öderland mit der Axt in der Hand“ als zeitlos begreift und doch unzählige hochaktuelle Assoziationen provoziert.

Theatertreffen-Jurorin Sabine Leucht zur Inszenierung
Ein Staatsanwalt wird von einem unerklärlichen Fall aus seiner bürgerlichen Existenz geschleudert: Ein braver Bankangestellter hat einen Mord begangen; aus keinem anderen Motiv als aus einer inneren Unruhe heraus, die in Max Frischs „Graf Öderland“ immer turbulentere Kreise zieht. Diese „Moritat in zwölf Bildern“ ist Frischs deutungsoffenstes Stück. Fragmentarisch und voller abrupter Wendungen, wurde es von den Bühnen früh verstoßen und von seinem Autor wie ein Problemkind geliebt.

Nun hat Stefan Bachmann den Amoklauf des Staatsanwalts Martin in mitreißendes Bildertheater verwandelt, in dem alle Rätsel und Fragmente des Stücks in einer albtraumhaften Dramaturgie ihren natürlichen Platz finden. Während Frisch noch vom kleinbürgerlichen Milieu ausgeht und Settings von der Gefängniszelle bis zum Regierungspalast skizziert, steht für Bachmanns Engführung von Traum, Realität und Unbewusstem ein so abstraktes wie sprechendes Bühnenbild bereit. In Olaf Altmanns gigantischem vertikalen Trichter suchen die Menschen Halt und stürzen immer wieder ab. Auch der Staatsanwalt Martin, den Thiemo Strutzenberger als irritierend fröhlichen Mörderheiligen spielt, der alles vernichtet, was sich seinem infantilen Selbstverwirklichungskreuzzug in den Weg stellt: sei es die Institution der Ehe, das Recht oder die Moral. Er wird sowohl zum Mythos des „Grafen Öderland mit der Axt in der Hand“ als auch zum Anführer einer illustren Befreiungsbewegung und muss zuletzt erkennen, dass ihn all das nur noch besser für das auf Funktionseffizienz gebürstete System qualifiziert, dem er entkommen wollte.

Wie trefflich diese Parabel aus den 1950er-Jahren in unsere Zeit passt, in der Borderliner Länder regieren und Verschwörungsschwurbler*innen sich die „Freiheit“ auf die Fahnen schreiben (wovon man bei der Premiere freilich noch nichts wusste), erzählt sich wie von selbst an diesem Abend, der seine Bilder und verkrümmten Physiognomien vornehmlich aus der Filmgeschichte pflückt. Zwischen expressionistischen Stummfilm-Zitaten à la Nosferatu, Tim Burton-Unheimlichkeit und Tarantino-Splatter findet er eine eigene Sprache für das Monströse, das der Firnis der Zivilisation nur verdeckt. Der exakt durchchoreografierte und dank famoser Live-Musik und immer moritatenhafter werdendem (Sprech-)Gesang soghaft wirkende Abend macht als geschlossene Ensembleleistung Spaß und zeigt, wie schnell Entfremdung und zivilgesellschaftlicher Überdruss in Aggression umschlagen können. Nicht nur an den Rändern der Gesellschaft, sondern auch in ihrer sozialen Mitte.

Künstlerisches Team

Stefan Bachmann Inszenierung
Olaf Altmann Bühne
Esther Geremus Kostüme
Sven Kaiser Komposition
Roland Edrich Licht
Sabina Perry Körperarbeit
Barbara Sommer Dramaturgie

Mit
Thiemo Strutzenberger Der Staatsanwalt
Barbara Horvath Elsa/ Ein Gendarm / Der greise Staatspräsident
Simon Zagermann Dr. Hahn / Ein Sträfling
Linda Blümchen Hilde / Inge / Coco
Steffen Höld Der Mörder
Klaus Brömmelmeier Mario / Ein Gendarm / Der General / Frau Hofmeier
Moritz von Treuenfels Ein Wärter / Ein Concierge / Der Kommissar / Ein Student
Mario Fuchs Der Vater / Ein Boy / Der Innenminister
Julius Schröder Die Mutter / Der Fahrer / Der Direktor

Sven Kaiser Musikalische Leitung
Tobias Weber E-Gitarre
Cornelius Borgolte Bassklarinette / Klarinette
Julia Bassler Geige / E-Geige

Aufführungsrechte: Suhrkamp Verlag, Berlin

Erstausstrahlung der 3sat-Aufzeichnung im TV
am 22. Mai 2021 um 20:15 Uhr