Production / Live stream
The 10 Selected Productions

Reich des Todes

by Rainald Goetz

Deutsches SchauSpielHaus Hamburg

Premiere 11 September 2020

The Hamburg production of Rainald Goetz’ new play turns into a four-hour foray into the American nightmare of 9/11 and global states of emergency.

Reich des Todes. Video trailer

© Deutsches SchauSpielHaus Hamburg

  • 4 h 15 min, one interval
  • In German with English subtitles

Past Dates

The 2021 festival edition will be presented online.
To the stream
This production is only available as a live stream.

After-show talk and reception in honour of the artists
on 21 May at 22:55

Over a distance of nearly twenty years, Rainald Goetz looks back at 11 September 2001 and its aftermath, at the “War on Terror” and the barbarity of Guantanamo. Goetz is not interested in a documentary reconstruction of events. Instead, he sketches an iridescent genre picture of politics in a state of emergency, rich in references and invitations to association, looking far back and far ahead into history, right up to our immediate, crisis-ridden present day. In Karin Beier’s staging, the world premiere at Hamburg’s SchauSpielHaus becomes a frenzied theatre experience. Jörg Gollasch’s sinister and threatening sound world complements Goetz’s agitated language.

Please take note:
The world premiere production of “Reich des Todes (Empire of Death)” deals with topics including the abuse and torture of Iraqi prisoners at Abu Ghraib. In this context, the production features scenes, projected images and photos of the affected persons, showing mental, physical and sexualised violence and nudity.

Theatertreffen-juror Wolfgang Höbel about the production
Dramatist Rainald Goetz proclaims a world order fuelled by mania and panic, and director Karin Beier is his willing executor. In “Reich des Todes (Empire of Death)”, the theatre sits in judgment over the moral degeneracy of the US-American government in the aftermath of the attacks of 9/11/2001 – and attempts nothing less than a historical classification of events of global politics.

That this production doesn’t waver from this very hubris for the entire duration of the performance is a considerable feat. Both author and director claim that a fall from grace of our epoch was caused by and is epitomised by characters like Donald Rumsfeld or George W. Bush. Goetz gives these men German names and Beier sends them onstage as very “German” characters, and through this device they announce our complicity in the crimes committed by the US. What we see on this dungeon-like stage, designed by Johannes Schütz, is a frenzy of video images, dance scenes and impersonated politicians, an almost Brechtian theatre of enlightenment and memory. The moment the World Trade Center was hit by planes and collapsed marks the beginning of the demolition of American democracy and humanity in general. Through devices including a Hitler-parody, the actors demonstrate the kinship between fascist brutalisation and the cynicism of 21st century power politics. The fascination of crime and the archaic scandal of violence are depicted in grotesquely aestheticised scenes of war and torture. Skirting the borderlines of bad taste, the pain of a mistreated, blood-covered individual is expressed in dance, showing the horrors of the Abu Ghuraib prison camp. Over the course of the performance, however, the realistic horrors turn more and more into abstract monstrosity. Whenever the intensity of the images on stage abates, an orchestra of voices invokes the thunderstorm of thoughts inside the poet’s head and the mortal fear in all of us. At one point, a jubilant voice seems to come straight from the mouth of playwright Goetz: “How crazy, how messed-up!” Staying largely close to the text, this production is both highly neurotic, polemic, political contemporary theatre and an immoderate, splendidly gloomy, disturbing description of our present times.

Artistic Team

Karin Beier Director
Johannes Schütz Set design
Eva Dessecker, Wicke Naujoks Costume design
Jörg Gollasch Composer and musical director /
Composer and musical supervisor for “Beschluss”, Act V

Voxi Bärenklau Video design
Rita Thiele, Ralf Fiedler Dramaturgy
Annette ter Meulen Lighting design
Christine Groß Supervision of spoken chorus “Desastres de la Guerra”, Act IV
Valentí Rocamora i Torà Physical training and choreographic collaboration
Vanessa Christoffers-Trinks Collaboration video research
Anna Werner Production management

Sebastian Blomberg Selch, Vice President
Maximilian Scheidt Pinsk, Private Secretary / Braum, Lance Corporal / Trenck, Corporal
Holger Stockhaus Dr Banzhaf, Chief Legal Officer
Lars Rudolph Thurgau, Director of Intelligence
Sandra Gerling Ms von Ade, Security Advisor
Wolfgang Pregler Grotten, President
Burghart Klaußner Roon, Minister of War
Anja Laïs Mrs Grotten, Wife / Darkova, Brigadier General
Daniel Hoevels Dr Schill, Judicial Councillor / Braum, Lance Corporal
Markus John Dr Kelsen, Chief Justice / Braum, Lance Corporal
Michael Weber Sebald, Minister of Justice / Braum, Lance Corporal
Tilman Strauß Braum, Lance Corporal / Trenck, Corporal / Atta, Prisoner
Eva Bühnen Cindy, Security Guard
Josefine Israel Eve, Soldier / Trenck, Corporal

Musicians
Fanis Gioles, Yuko Suzuki Percussion
Wassim Mukdad Oud
Michael Heupel Cello
Anna Lindenbaum Viola
Camilla Busemann Violin

Dancers
Samuli Emery, João Pedro de Paula, Sayouba Sigué, Valentí Rocamora i Torà

We are showing the production “Reich des Todes” in cooperation with the 46th Mühlheimer Theatertage “Stücke”.

Performing rights: Suhrkamp Theater Verlag, Berlin

Programme Brochure

for download PDF, 711 KB

Inszenierung / Livestream
10er Auswahl

Reich des Todes

von Rainald Goetz

Deutsches SchauSpielHaus Hamburg

Uraufführung 11. September 2020

Das neue Stück von Rainald Goetz wird in Hamburg zu einem vierstündigen Trip über den amerikanischen Albtraum 9/11 und globale Ausnahmezustände.

Reich des Todes. Videotrailer

© Deutsches SchauSpielHaus Hamburg

  • 4 h 15 min, eine Pause
  • In deutscher Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln

Vergangene Termine

Die Festivalausgabe 2021 findet digital statt.
Hier geht es zum Stream
Diese Inszenierung ist nur im Livestream verfügbar.

Nachgespräch und Künstler*innen-Ehrung
am 21. Mai 2021 um 22:55 Uhr

Mit einem Abstand von knapp zwanzig Jahren blickt Rainald Goetz zurück auf den 11. September 2001 und seine Folgen, auf den „Krieg gegen den Terror“ und die Grausamkeiten von Guantanamo. Goetz geht es nicht um eine dokumentarische Rekonstruktion der Ereignisse. Er entwirft vielmehr ein schillerndes Sittenbild der Politik im Ausnahmezustand, das reich an Verweisen und Assoziationsangeboten historisch weit zurück und nach vorne bis in die unmittelbare, krisenhafte Gegenwart weist. In der Regie von Karin Beier wird die Uraufführung am Deutschen SchauSpielHaus Hamburg zu einem rauschhaften Theaterereignis. Dazu gehört unter anderem die düster-dräuende Klangwelt, mit der Jörg Gollasch Goetz’ rastlose Sprache ergänzt.

Hinweis:
Die Uraufführung „Reich des Todes“ thematisiert u. a. die Misshandlung und Folter irakischer Gefangener in Abu Ghraib. In diesem Zusammenhang gibt es in der Inszenierung Szenen, projizierte Bilder und Fotos der Betroffenen, die psychische, physische und sexualisierte Gewalt und Nacktheit zeigen.

Theatertreffen-Juror Wolfgang Höbel zur Inszenierung
Der Dramatiker Rainald Goetz ist ein manischer und panischer Weltordner, die Regisseurin Karin Beier ist ihm eine geneigte Vollstreckerin. In „Reich des Todes“ hält das Theater Gericht über die moralische Verkommenheit der US-amerikanischen Regierung nach den Anschlägen vom 11. September 2001 – und versucht tatsächlich eine historische Einordnung von weltpolitischen Ereignissen.

Dass sie diese Hybris einen Theaterabend lang konsequent durchexerziert, ist das erhebliche Kunststück der Aufführung. Der Autor und die Regisseurin behaupten, dass ein Sündenfall unserer Epoche durch Figuren wie Donald Rumsfeld oder George W. Bush begangen wurde und verkörpert wird. Indem Goetz diesen Männern deutsche Namen gibt und Beier sie als sehr „deutsche“ Figuren auf die Bühne schickt, plakatieren sie unsere Mitschuld an den US-Verbrechen. Es ist ein nahezu Brechtsches Aufklärungs- und Erinnerungstheater, das hier in einem Rausch aus Videobildern, Tanzszenen und Politiker*innenparodien auf der Kerkerbühne von Johannes Schütz zu betrachten ist. Mit dem Einsturz des von Flugzeugen getroffenen World Trade Centers beginnt die Demontage der amerikanischen Demokratie und der Humanität an sich. Unter anderem durch eine Hitler-Parodie führen die Schauspieler*innen die Verwandtschaft von faschistischer Verrohung und zynischer Machtpolitik im 21. Jahrhundert vor. Die Faszination des Verbrechens, der archaische Skandal der Gewalt sind in grotesk ästhetisierten Folter- und Kriegsszenen abgebildet. An der Borderline zur Geschmacklosigkeit lässt die Regisseurin die Pein eines Malträtierten und Blutüberströmten tanzen, um das Grauen im Gefangenenlager Abu Ghuraib vorzuführen. Im Lauf des Theaterabends aber verwandelt sich der realistische Schrecken mehr und mehr in abstrakten Horror. Wenn die Intensität der Bilder nachlässt, beschwört ein Stimmen-Orchester das Gedankengewitter im Kopf des Dichters und die Todesangst in uns allen. Einmal hört man einen Jubelschrei, der direkt aus dem Mund des Dramatikers Goetz zu kommen scheint: „Wie crazy, wie kaputt!“ Durchaus nah am Text gelingt der Aufführung hochneurotisches, polemisches, politisches Gegenwartstheater – und eine maßlose, finstere, verstörende Gegenwartsbeschreibung.

Künstlerisches Team

Karin Beier Regie
Johannes Schütz Bühne
Eva Dessecker, Wicke Naujoks Kostüme
Jörg Gollasch Komposition und musikalische Leitung /
Komposition und Einstudierung „Beschluss“, V. Akt

Voxi Bärenklau Videodesign
Rita Thiele, Ralf Fiedler Dramaturgie
Annette ter Meulen Licht
Christine Groß Einstudierung Sprechchor „Desastres de la Guerra“, IV. Akt
Valentí Rocamora i Torà Körpertraining und choreografische Mitarbeit
Vanessa Christoffers-Trinks Mitarbeit Videorecherche
Anna Werner Produktionsleitung

Mit
Sebastian Blomberg Selch, Vizepräsident
Maximilian Scheidt Pinsk, Privatsekretär / Braum, Obergefreiter / Trenck, Gefreiter
Holger Stockhaus Dr. Banzhaf, Chefjustiziar
Lars Rudolph Thurgau, Geheimdienstdirektor
Sandra Gerling Fr. von Ade, Sicherheitsberaterin
Wolfgang Pregler Grotten, Präsident
Burghart Klaußner Roon, Kriegsminister
Anja Laïs Mrs. Grotten, Ehefrau / Darkova, Brigadegeneral
Daniel Hoevels Dr. Schill, Justizrat / Braum, Obergefreiter
Markus John Dr. Kelsen, Oberjustizrat / Braum, Obergefreiter
Michael Weber Sebald, Justizminister / Braum, Obergefreiter
Tilman Strauß Braum, Obergefreiter / Trenck, Gefreiter / Atta, Gefangener
Eva Bühnen Cindy, Wachsoldat
Josefine Israel Eve, Soldat / Trenck, Gefreiter

Musiker*innen
Fanis Gioles, Yuko Suzuki Perkussion
Wassim Mukdad Oud
Michael Heupel Cello
Anna Lindenbaum Bratsche
Camilla Busemann Violine

Tänzer
Samuli Emery, João Pedro de Paula, Sayouba Sigué, Valentí Rocamora i Torà

Die Produktion „Reich des Todes“ zeigen wir in Zusammenarbeit mit den 46. Mühlheimer Theatertagen „Stücke“.

Aufführungsrechte: Suhrkamp Theater Verlag, Berlin