Production / Live stream
The 10 Selected Productions

Der Zauberberg

based on Thomas Mann

Deutsches Theater Berlin

Live stream premiere 20 November 2020

Once again, Sebastian Hartmann takes on a monumental novel; he leaves characters and linear narration behind and explores time and dreaming together with his high-energy cast.

Der Zauberberg. Video trailer

© Tilo Baumgärtel

  • 2 h
  • In German with English subtitles

Past Dates

The 2021 festival edition will be presented online.
To the stream
This production is only available as a live stream.

Please note that the subtitles for this production will be produced live.

After-show talk and reception in honour of the artists
on 22 May at 22:10

This is the third time that Sebastian Hartmann brings an epochal work of world literature to the Theatertreffen-stage. He dissolves all of the formally rigorous plotlines in Thomas Mann’s “Der Zauberberg (The Magic Mountain)” about Hans Castorp’s seven-year sojourn in a sanatorium on the eve of the First World War and transfers them into an intense rush of images. Seven actors wander through an incessant snow-storm, circling a recurring question in manifold, disturbing monologues: What is the body in the course of time? Originally planned for a physically present audience, the production was radically adjusted for live streaming by Hartmann’s team. This new set-up shows video artist Tilo Baumgärtel’s worlds of images and Samuel Wiese’s music to even greater advantage.

Theatertreffen-juror Franz Wille about the production
In this production, the text material remaining from Thomas Mann’s coming-of-age novel set in the high mountains are the “Snow”-chapter and the final chapter with its brutal battle scenes from the First World War. “Snow” is the tale of a gradual loss of control during a skiing tour, almost to the point of freezing to death, shot through again and again with the violent excesses of trench warfare.

Director Sebastian Hartmann shows these spheres of experience – loss of control, helplessness and violence – as an increasingly expressive performance by an anonymous cast in white make-up and shapeless padding. There is no trace of the novel’s highly-controlled narrative structures which he still adhered to ten years ago, in his first “Zauberberg”-production in Leipzig. The storyline has been scattered to the four winds, identifiable characters have been lost and even Hans Castorp would be hard to find.

Deutsches Theater Berlin, of course, was closed on opening night. Instead, the piece was streamed live on a single date, 20 November 2020, recorded from various camera angles in front of an empty auditorium: theatre for a pandemic. The stream was a flow of images showing dissociation and dissolution. The succession of texts used is a wild scrap collection where space and time dissect themselves. Dream sequences in which Castorp believes himself to be wandering Arcadian landscapes alternate with murder and fantasies of witchcraft, with descriptions of nature and ponderings on the difference between dead and living matter, essential questions of life such as – “What is the body?” – and impressions from the lung sanatorium’s radiology lab. All this is interposed with Markwart Müller-Elmau’s shivering and feverish invocations of increasingly bloody World War-scenarios. The actors operate on a high level of energy throughout: faces twisted with pain, panicked entrances, desperate whispers or hyper-mechanic movement frenzy.

“I am lost to the world” – the leitmotif-quote by Castorp, a fugitive of time, suspended from everything that happens in the world of the valley during his seven-year rest cure, suddenly resounds through the storm of text and images and is a rather sobering and accurate description of the situation. The time portrait presented in “Zauberberg” may not help to clarify the current condition, but it presents a pretty good likeness.

Artistic Team

Sebastian Hartmann Director and set designer
Adriana Braga Peretzki Costume design
Samuel Wiese Music
Tilo Baumgärtel Video animation
Lothar Baumgarte Lighting design
Claus Caesar Dramaturgy
Jan Speckenbach Live stream image control
Marlene Blumert, Max Hohendahl, Dorian Sorg Live stream cameras
Lennart Löttker Scenic video
Peter Stoltz Head of stream
Marcel Braun, Björn Mauder Transmission audio
Marcel Braun, Eric Markert Sound

With
Elias Arens, Manuel Harder, Markwart Müller-Elmau, Linda Pöppel, Birgit Unterweger, Cordelia Wege, Niklas Wetzel
Samuel Wiese
Live music

Bonus material on the production

is available on the website of Deutsches Theater Berlin (in German only).

Inszenierung / Livestream
10er Auswahl

Der Zauberberg

nach Thomas Mann

Deutsches Theater Berlin

Livestream-Premiere 20. November 2020

Sebastian Hartmann nimmt sich erneut einen Jahrhundertroman vor, lässt Figuren und lineare Narration hinter sich und befragt mit einem hochenergetischen Ensemble Traum und Zeit.

Der Zauberberg. Videotrailer

© Tilo Baumgärtel

  • 2 h
  • In deutscher Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln

Die Festivalausgabe 2021 findet digital statt.
Hier geht es zum Stream
Diese Inszenierung ist nur im Livestream verfügbar.

Künstler*innen-Ehrung und Nachgespräch
am 22. Mai 2021 um 22:10 Uhr

Zum dritten Mal ist Sebastian Hartmann mit einem epochalen Roman der Weltliteratur beim Theatertreffen vertreten. Alle Handlungsstränge, die in Thomas Manns „Der Zauberberg“ formstreng von Hans Castorps siebenjährigem Sanatoriumsaufenthalt am Vorabend des Ersten Weltkriegs erzählen, löst er auf und überführt sie in einen intensiven Bilderrausch. Sieben Schauspieler*innen irren durch einen nicht enden wollenden Schneesturm und kreisen in vielfältigen, verstörenden Monologen um die wiederkehrende Frage: Was ist der Körper im Lauf der Zeit? Ursprünglich für ein Publikum vor Ort geplant, hat das Team um Hartmann die Inszenierung für einen Livestream grundlegend überarbeitet. In diesem neuen Setup kommen die Bildwelten des Videokünstlers Tilo Baumgärtel und die Musik von Samuel Wiese umso kraftvoller zur Geltung.

Theatertreffen-Juror Franz Wille zur Inszenierung
Was hier von Thomas Manns Hochgebirgs-Bildungsroman an Textmaterial bleibt, sind im Wesentlichen das „Schnee“-Kapitel und das allerletzte Kapitel mit den brutalen Schlachtenszenen des Ersten Weltkriegs. „Schnee“ ist eine Erzählung des langsamen Orientierungsverlusts während einer Skitour bis kurz vorm Erfrieren, immer durchschossen mit den Gewaltexzessen des Frontkriegs.

Regisseur Sebastian Hartmann zeigt diese Erfahrungsräume von Kontrollverlust, Ohnmacht und Gewalt als zunehmend expressive Performance eines anonymen, weißgeschminkten, unförmig wattierten Ensembles. Keine Spur mehr von den hochkontrollierten narrativen Strukturen des Romans, denen er in seiner ersten „Zauberberg“-Inszenierung vor zehn Jahren in Leipzig noch gefolgt war. Der Erzählfaden ist mittlerweile in alle Winde verstreut, identifizierbare Figuren sind abhandengekommen, selbst nach Hans Castorp kann man vergeblich suchen.

Auch das Deutsche Theater Berlin war zur Premiere geschlossen. Stattdessen wurde die Arbeit an einem einzigen Datum, dem 20. November, als Livestream gezeigt, aufgezeichnet aus unterschiedlichsten Kameraperspektiven vor einem leeren Zuschauerraum: Pandemietheater. Zu sehen war ein Bilder-Flow aus Dissoziation und Auflösung. Das Nacheinander der verwendeten Texte ist ein wildes Schnipselwerk, in dem sich Raum und Zeit zergliedern. Traumsequenzen, in denen sich Castorp in arkadischen Landschaften wähnt, wechseln mit Mord- und Hexenfantasien, mit Naturbeschreibungen und Reflexionen über den Unterschied von toter und lebendiger Materie zu Fragen des Lebens schlechthin – „Was ist der Körper?“ – und Impressionen aus dem Röntgenlabor des Lungensanatoriums. Dazwischen erscheint immer wieder Markwart Müller-Elmau mit zittrig-fiebernden Beschwörungen der immer blutigeren Weltkriegsszenerien. Die Schauspieler*innen agieren durchweg auf hohem Energieniveau: schmerzverzerrte Gesichter, panische Auftritte, Verzweiflungsflüstern oder hypermechanischer Bewegungsirrsinn.

„Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen“ – dieses leitmotivische Castorp-Zitat des in siebenjähriger Liegekur allen talweltlichen Dingen enthobenen Zeitflüchtlings klingt plötzlich durch den Bilder- und Textsturm und beschreibt recht nüchtern und zutreffend die Situation. Dieses „Zauberberg“-Zeitbild trägt zwar nicht unbedingt zur Klärung der gegenwärtigen Verhältnisse bei, hat sie dabei aber ziemlich gut getroffen.

Künstlerisches Team

Sebastian Hartmann Regie und Bühne
Adriana Braga Peretzki Kostüme
Samuel Wiese Musik
Tilo Baumgärtel Videoanimation
Lothar Baumgarte Licht
Claus Caesar Dramaturgie
Jan Speckenbach Livestream Bildregie
Marlene Blumert, Max Hohendahl, Dorian Sorg Livestream Kamera
Lennart Löttker Szenisches Video
Peter Stoltz Head of Stream
Marcel Braun, Björn Mauder Sendeton
Marcel Braun, Eric Markert Ton

Mit
Elias Arens, Manuel Harder, Markwart Müller-Elmau, Linda Pöppel, Birgit Unterweger, Cordelia Wege, Niklas Wetzel
Samuel Wiese
Live-Musik

Bonusmaterial zur Inszenierung

finden Sie auf der Website des Deutschen Theater Berlin.