Production / Recording
The 10 Selected Productions

NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+

by Marie Schleef

Premiere 25 September 2020 (Ballhaus Ost, Berlin)
Austrian premiere 2 October 2020 (Kosmos Theater, Vienna)

In a marathon-length lecture performance, Marie Schleef, Anne Tismer and Jule Saworski present women whose achievements are neglected by history books.

Performer Anne Tismer in a scene from “NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+“, directed by Marie Schleef

NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+. Anne Tismer

© Hendrik Lietmann

  • 6 h
  • In German with English subtitles

Past Dates

The 2021 festival edition will be presented online.
Link to the live streamTo the stream
This production is only available as a live stream.

After-show talk and reception in honour of the artists
on 24 May 2021 at 18:00

There are not enough female role models? Director Marie Schleef would disagree vehemently. For her long durational performance “NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+ (NAME HER. In Search of Women+)”, she and her creative team have unearthed countless inspiring female biographies with meticulous archaeological care. In front of a gameshow triptych designed by Jule Saworski, the tireless expert and entertainer Anne Tismer guides us through the A to Z of great destinies and small anecdotes of women from several centuries – so versatile, impressive and inspiring that seven hours just fly by.

Theatertreffen-juror Petra Paterno about the production
Does the name Francesca Caccini ring a bell? Nearly all the works of this Early Baroque Italian composer are believed to have been lost. Who was the French-Peruvian socialist Flora Tristan, who is at least known to have sometimes met up with writer Victor Hugo? And how about Rosalind Franklin? The British researcher’s work was a major contribution to the decoding of the structure of DNA. Watson and Crick are well-known, Franklin’s name has been forgotten.

We could continue this list at will. And that is why for more than seven hours, the lecture performance “NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+ (NAME HER. In Search of Women+)” itemises an alphabet of forgotten women’s names. In four units of 90 minutes each, performer Anne Tismer resurrects an impressive series of artists, scientists, philosophers and politicians who have vanished into the underworld of a male dominated society and history. A phenomenal feat, which Tismer accomplishes largely single-handedly. Centre-stage, there is a triptych whose screen serves as a projection surface for video inserts. In front of this image board, Tismer narrates, dances and mimes the miniature biographies like a kind of confériencière.

“NAME HER. In Search of Women+” stands in the tradition of feminist women’s history, which aims to reinterpret a narrative that has been historically shaped by men. Tismer proves to be a charismatic performer and the performance series is brought to life by her equally empathetic and authentic portrayals. In a kind of ping-pong-game, she gives flashlight-like impressions of very different female lives, jumping between eras and continents; the delightful and the deeply sad are separated only by the sound of a gong. Monumental events are given the equal standing as wonderfully absurd irrelevancies. “NAME HER. In Search of Women+” is an unparalleled endeavour, with Tismer, director Marie Schleef and set designer Jule Saworski erecting an extraordinary theatrical memorial to women.

Cast

Marie Schleef Concept, text, surtitles and staging
Anne Tismer Performance and text
Jule Saworski Set and costume design, video and image installation
Laura Andreß Dramaturgy, text and surtitles
Wiebke Jahns Communication and network
Ruben Müller Video operator, sound design and stage management
Michiko Günther Creative collaboration
Fabian Eichner Lighting design

With
Anne Tismer

A production by Marie Schleef in co-operation with Ballhaus Ost (Berlin), Münchner Kammerspiele (Munich) and Kosmos Theater (Vienna).
Funded with the support of Hauptstadtkulturfonds and the district of Pankow (Berlin), office of further education, arts and culture – funding for arts and culture.

Programme brochure

for download PDF, 679 KB

Director Marie Schleef in conversation

on the website of Ballhaus Ost.

Inszenierung / Aufzeichnung
10er Auswahl

NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+

von Marie Schleef

Premiere 25. September 2020 (Ballhaus Ost, Berlin)
Österreich-Premiere 2. Oktober 2020 (Kosmos Theater, Wien)

Marie Schleef, Anne Tismer und Jule Saworski erwecken in einer Marathon Lecture Performance Frauen zum Leben, deren Leistungen in den Geschichtsbüchern zu wenig vorkommen.

Die Performerin Anne Tismer in einer Szene aus „NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+“ in der Regie von Marie Schlee

NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+. Anne Tismer

© Hendrik Lietmann

  • 6 h
  • In deutscher Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln

Vergangene Termine

Die Festivalausgabe 2021 findet digital statt.
Hier geht es zum Stream
Diese Inszenierung ist nur im Livestream verfügbar.

Nachgespräch und Künstler*innen-Ehrung
am 24. Mai 2021 um 18:00 Uhr

Es gibt nicht genug weibliche Vorbilder? Da würde die Regisseurin Marie Schleef vehement widersprechen. Gemeinsam mit ihrem künstlerischen Team hat sie für die Long Durational Performance „NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+“ in archäologischer Akribie unzählige inspirierende weibliche Biografien zutage gefördert. Vor einem Gameshow-Triptychon der Bühnenbildnerin Jule Saworski führt die Performerin Anne Tismer als ausdauernde Expertin und Entertainerin von A bis Z durch große Schicksale und kleine Anekdoten von Frauen aus mehreren Jahrhunderten – so vielfältig, beeindruckend und inspirierend, dass sieben Stunden wie im Flug vergehen.

Theatertreffen-Jurorin Petra Paterno zur Inszenierung
Wem sagt der Name Francesca Caccini etwas? Nahezu alle Werke der italienischen Komponistin des Frühbarocks gelten als verschollen. Wer war die französisch-peruanische Sozialistin Flora Tristan, von der immerhin bekannt ist, dass sie sich zuweilen mit dem Literaten Victor Hugo traf? Und was ist mit Rosalind Franklin? Die Forschungen der Britin trugen wesentlich zur Entschlüsselung der Struktur der DNA bei. Man kennt Watson und Crick, Franklins Name wurde vergessen.

Diese Liste ließe sich beliebig verlängern. Die Lecture Performance „NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+“ dekliniert deshalb gut sieben Stunden lang ein Alphabet vergessener Frauennamen durch. In vier je 90-minütigen Einheiten lässt die Performerin Anne Tismer eine beeindruckende Reihe an Künstlerinnen, Wissenschaftlerinnen, Philosophinnen und Politikerinnen wiederauferstehen, die im Orkus einer männlich dominierten Gesellschaft und Historie verschwunden sind. Ein phänomenaler Kraftakt, den Tismer die meiste Zeit über im Alleingang stemmt. In der Bühnenmitte steht ein Triptychon, die Leinwand dient als Projektionsfläche für Videoeinspielungen. Vor dieser Bildertafel führt Tismer als eine Art Conférencière erzählend, tanzend, pantomimisch-darstellend durch die Miniaturbiografien.

„NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+“ steht in der Tradition feministischer Frauengeschichtsschreibung, die ein historisches männlich geprägtes Narrativ neu deuten möchte. Tismer erweist sich als charismatische Performerin, die Aufführungsserie lebt von ihrer so empathischen wie authentischen Darstellung. In einer Art Pingpong-Spiel gewährt sie blitzlichtartige Einblicke in unterschiedliche Frauenleben, springt zwischen Zeiten und Kontinenten; Erfreuliches und Tieftrauriges trennt nur der Gongschlag, große Ereignisse finden sich gleichberechtigt neben herrlich absurden Nebensächlichkeiten. „NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+“ ist ein beispielloses Unternehmen, bei dem Tismer, die Regisseurin Marie Schleef und die Bühnenbildnerin Jule Saworski Frauen ein außergewöhnliches szenisches Denkmal setzen.

Besetzung

Marie Schleef Idee, Konzept, Text, Inszenierung
Anne Tismer Performance, Text
Jule Saworski Bühne, Video- und Bildinstallation, Kostüm
Laura Andreß Dramaturgie, Text, Übertitel
Wiebke Jahns Kommunikation, Netzwerk
Ruben Müller Video-Operator, Sounddesign, Inspizienz
Michiko Günther Künstlerische Mitarbeit
Fabian Eichner Lichtdesign

Mit
Anne Tismer

Eine Produktion von Marie Schleef in Kooperation mit dem Ballhaus Ost (Berlin), den Münchner Kammerspielen und dem Kosmos Theater (Wien).
Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds und das Bezirksamt Pankow von Berlin, Amt für Weiterbildung und Kultur – Fachbereich Kunst und Kultur.

Die Regisseurin Marie Schleef im Gespräch

erleben Sie auf der Website des Ballhaus Ost.