Production / Recording
The 10 Selected Productions

SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP

A project by and with Lucy Wilke and Paweł Duduś with music by Kim Twiddle

Premiere 13 February 2020 (schwere reiter, Munich)

In a tender, witty dance, Lucy Wilke and Paweł Duduś explore what is one’s own body and what is the other’s, and how we see, hear and feel it.

Lucy Wilke and Pawel Dudus in “SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP“.

SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP. Lucy Wilke, Paweł Duduś

© Martina Marini-Misterioso

  • 1 h
  • In German and English with English subitles and German audio description

Past Dates

The 2021 festival edition will be presented online.
To the stream
This production will be accessible until 25 May at 23:59.

After-show talk and reception in honour of the artists
on 24 May 2021 at 20:05

Actor and singer Lucy Wilke was born with spinal muscular atrophy. There would be no reason to mention this in any other context, but it is in fact the point of departure for this production, “SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP” from Munich. Together with dancer Paweł Duduś, Wilke developed this intimate, seemingly utopian portrait of a friendship that does away with all boundaries. In seven short chapters and accompanied with live interpreted and mixed music by e-composer Kim Twiddle, the two of them explore their bodies and their dreams through symbiotic movements, attentive speaking and synaesthetic choreography. Playfully and without any moralistic attitude of superiority, they overcome society’s norms and insecurities towards people who appear to be different from the majority.

Theatertreffen-juror Georg Kasch about the production
What does it mean to get involved with a person whose basic conditions are completely different from one’s own? In “SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP”, Lucy Wilke and Paweł Duduś measure and celebrate their friendship as a tender pas de deux of touch.

In a landscape of mattresses, they encounter each other with curiously inquisitive gestures and non-judgmental descriptions, and from this position, they fathom a field of tensions and contradictions. Over seven short chapters, they unmask society’s norm constructions and, at the same time, work on their own dissolution of physical boundaries, accompanied by Kim Ramona Ranalter’s sound track which ranges from meditation to club sounds.

Analysing attributions is an essential part of this work. Wilke was born with spinal muscular atrophy; her body is often read as a disability. Duduś is a queer dancer with gaudy, flaking nail polish. Together, they expose themselves to the public gaze and counter the audience’s voyeurism with a categorical intimacy. Playfully, they take up the alleged dichotomies of the standardised gaze that could separate them: man/woman, predator/victim, active/passive. Narratives of dependence and victimhood are treated by melting into one single being, by giving each other impulses and carefully trying out the potentials of ever new images. When things between them suddenly become filled with erotic tension, all well-meaning labels like ‘queer’ or ‘inclusive’ become blurred.

And yet, no one in this piece denies that the situation outside the protective walls of the theatre is different. At one point, Wilke talks about the standard rejection she comes across on Tinder: “You have such a beautiful face, but …” Together, Wilke and Duduś shape Wilke’s face into a nightmarish mask – not as an act of self-destruction, but rather of self-empowerment.

At the end of this liberating game, Wilke and Duduś formulate a utopian idea of fiction: Freedom is not least a question of imagination. And so this potentially irritating show proceeds to uncompromisingly do away with all categories.

Artistic Team

Lucy Wilke, Paweł Duduś Idea and concept
Lucy Wilke, Paweł Duduś, Kim Ramona Ranalter Development and performance
Kim Ramona Ranalter Electronic composition, stage music
Barbara Westernach Lighting design
Theresa Scheitzenhammer, Alexander Wilke Set design
Tamara Pietsch, David Bloom Outside Eye
Kathrin Schäfer KulturPR PR
Rat & Tat Kulturbüro Artistic production management
Maryna Mikhalchuk Assistance

Mit
Lucy Wilke, Paweł Duduś, Kim Ramona Ranalter

Funded by the Cultural Department of State Capital of Munich, Bayerischer Landesverband für zeitgenössischen Tanz (BLZT) with funds from the Bavarian State Ministry for Science and the Arts, the district of Upper Bavaria and the Cultural Foundation of Stadtsparkasse München.
This production is supported by Tanztendenz München e. V.

Inszenierung / Aufzeichnung
10er Auswahl

SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP

Ein Projekt von und mit Lucy Wilke und Paweł Duduś mit Musik von Kim Twiddle

Uraufführung 13. Februar 2020 (schwere reiter, München)

Das Performer*innen-Duo Lucy Wilke und Paweł Duduś fragt in einem zärtlichen, humorvollen Tanz danach, was der eigene und der andere Körper ist, wie wir ihn sehen, hören und fühlen.

Lucy Wilke und Pawel Dudus in der Inszenierung „SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP“.

SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP. Lucy Wilke, Paweł Duduś

© Martina Marini-Misterioso

  • 1 h
  • In deutscher und englischer Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln und Audiodeskription in deutscher Sprache

Vergangene Termine

Die Festivalausgabe 2021 findet digital statt.
Hier geht es zum Stream
Diese Inszenierung ist bis 25. Mai um 23:59 Uhr verfügbar.

Nachgespräch und Künstler*innen-Ehrung
am 24. Mai 2021 um 20:05 Uhr

Die Schauspielerin und Sängerin Lucy Wilke wurde mit spinaler Muskelatrophie geboren. In einem anderen Zusammenhang gäbe es keinen Grund, das zu erwähnen, doch für die Münchner Produktion „SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP“ bildet es den inhaltlichen Ausgangspunkt. Wilke hat gemeinsam mit dem Tänzer Paweł Duduś das intime, utopisch anmutende Porträt einer grenzensprengenden Freundschaft entwickelt. In sieben kurzen Kapiteln und zu live interpretierter und gemischter Musik der E-Komponistin Kim Twiddle erkunden die beiden durch symbiotische Bewegungen, zugewandtes Sprechen und synästhetische Choreografien ihre Körper und ihre Träume. Dabei überwinden sie spielerisch und ohne moralischen Überlegenheitsgestus gesellschaftliche Normen und Unsicherheiten gegenüber Menschen, die anders zu sein scheinen als die Mehrheit.

Theatertreffen-Juror Georg Kasch zur Inszenierung
Was bedeutet es, sich auf eine Person einzulassen, die vollkommen andere Voraussetzungen mitbringt als man selbst? In „SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP“ vermessen und feiern Lucy Wilke und Paweł Duduś ihre Freundschaft als zärtlichen Pas de deux der Berührungen.

In einer Matratzenlandschaft begegnen sie sich mit neugierig tastenden Gesten und wertfreien Beschreibungen und loten von dort aus ein Spannungsfeld von Widersprüchen aus. In sieben kurzen Kapiteln entlarven sie gesellschaftliche Norm-Konstruktionen und arbeiten zugleich an ihrer eigenen körperlichen Entgrenzung zu Kim Ramona Ranalters Soundtrack zwischen Meditation und Club.

Die Auseinandersetzung mit Zuschreibungen spielt eine große Rolle in dieser Arbeit. Wilke wurde mit spinaler Muskelatrophie geboren, ihr Körper wird oft als Behinderung gelesen. Duduś ist ein queerer Tänzer, dessen schillernder Nagellack bröckelt. Gemeinsam setzen sie sich den öffentlichen Blicken aus und diesem Publikums-Voyeurismus eine unbedingte Intimität entgegen. Spielerisch greifen sie vermeintliche Gegensätze normierter Blicke auf, die sie trennen könnten: Mann/Frau, Verfolger/Opfer, aktiv/passiv. Abhängigkeits- und Opfer-Narrativen begegnen sie, indem sie zu einem Wesen verschmelzen, einander Impulse geben, achtsam die Möglichkeiten immer neuer Bilder ausprobieren. Wenn es plötzlich erotisch knistert zwischen ihnen, verschwimmen auch wohlmeinende Label wie queer oder inklusiv.

Dennoch leugnet in dieser Arbeit niemand, dass außerhalb der schützenden Theaterwände andere Verhältnisse regieren. Einmal erzählt Wilke von der Standard-Zurückweisung auf Tinder: „Du hast ein so hübsches Gesicht, aber …“ Gemeinsam verfremden Wilke und Duduś Wilkes Züge zur Alptraummaske – nicht als Akt der Selbstzerstörung, sondern der Selbstermächtigung.

Am Ende dieses befreienden Spiels formulieren Wilke und Duduś eine Utopie der Fiktion: Freiheit ist nicht zuletzt eine Frage der Fantasie. So erweist sich dieser Abend als kompromissloser Kategoriensprenger, der durchaus Irritationen hervorrufen kann.

Künstlerisches Team

Lucy Wilke, Paweł Duduś Idee, Konzept
Lucy Wilke, Paweł Duduś, Kim Ramona Ranalter Entwicklung, Performance
Kim Ramona Ranalter E-Komposition, Bühnenmusik
Barbara Westernach Licht
Theresa Scheitzenhammer, Alexander Wilke Bühne
Tamara Pietsch, David Bloom Outside Eye
Kathrin Schäfer KulturPR PR
Rat & Tat Kulturbüro Künstlerische Produktionsleitung
Maryna Mikhalchuk Assistenz

Mit
Lucy Wilke, Paweł Duduś, Kim Ramona Ranalter

Gefördert vom Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München.
Dieses Projekt wird ermöglicht durch den Bayerischen Landesverband für zeitgenössischen Tanz (BLZT) aus Mitteln des Bayerischen Staatsministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kunst, den Bezirk Oberbayern und die Kulturstiftung der Stadtsparkasse München.
Diese Produktion wird unterstützt von Tanztendenz München e.V.