Staged reading / Live stream
Stückemarkt

Coop (German: Zaun)

by Sam Max
German translation by Robin Detje

In “Coop”, Sam Max develops an intense, rhythmical and disturbing web of a text. It leads us deep into the world of a girl who lives on a remote farm, isolated from the outside world, and becomes the reflection of an isolated society.

Sam Max

Sam Max

© Anton Novoselov

  • 1 h
  • In German with English subtitles

Past Dates

The 2021 festival edition will be presented online.
To the stream
This production will be accessible until 23 May at 23:59.

Audio descriptive introduction
This scenic reading is preceded by an audio-descriptive introduction, which is integrated in the stream of the event. Simply start the video player to hear the introduction. The scenic reading will follow immediately afterwards.

In “Coop”, Sam Max creates the story of a girl who lives on a farm, trapped in ritualised acts and isolated from the outside world. The absorption by her parents, the strict rhythm of everyday life and the extreme constriction and loneliness result in a murderous pact that frees the protagonist from her prison. “Coop” asks questions about the viability of coexistence, about a decline in values and the price of emancipation in an America where isolation has long since become a reality, even before the pandemic.

Stückemarkt-juror Linda Pöppel about the text
“This is a finger painting of my family” are the first words spoken. But by that time, we have already entered deep into this world and this atmosphere, described only by a few stage directions. With their help, Sam Max invites us – or rather, draws us in – with equal measures of familiarity and abstractness, disturbing and with powerful images. Highly musical, a delicate rhythmical web, a cyclical series of rituals, prayers, memories. A world that creeps into the spectator. Full of pain, darkness, fear, oppression, violence, desire and longing. A nightmare. The absence of love, empathy, touch. An external and, above all, internal captivity. With the power of destruction and, at the same time, a quiet call for intimacy and freedom, “Coop” is merciless in its coldness, its loneliness, its forsakenness and – most of all – in its imagery. A deep gaze into the soul – the soul of a child, a girl, a family, a society. And not least into our own.

Artistic Team

Charlotte Sprenger Scenic arrangement
Kundry Reif Dramaturgy
Anne Laure Jullian de la Fuente Design
Philipp Plessmann Music

With
Johannes Benecke, Oska Melina Borcherding, Philipp Plessmann, Kara Schröder, Wolf-Dietrich Sprenger, Sabine Waibel

Szenische Lesung / Livestream
Stückemarkt

Coop (deutsch: Zaun)

von Sam Max
in der Übersetzung von Robin Detje

In „Coop (deutsch: Zaun)“ entwickelt Sam Max ein intensives, rhythmisch-verstörendes Textgeflecht, das tief in die Welt eines Mädchens führt, das abgeschottet von der Außenwelt auf einer entlegenen Farm lebt und darin zum Spiegel einer isolierten Gesellschaft wird.

Sam Max

Sam Max

© Anton Novoselov

  • 1 h
  • In deutscher Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln

Vergangene Termine

Die Festivalausgabe 2021 findet digital statt.
Hier geht es zum Stream
Diese Produktion ist bis 23. Mai um 23:59 Uhr verfügbar.

Audiodeskriptive Einführung
Der szenischen Lesung vorangestellt ist eine audiodeskriptive Einführung. Diese ist in den Stream der Veranstaltung integriert. Um die Einführung zu hören, starten Sie einfach den Video-Player. Direkt im Anschluss folgt die szenische Lesung.

In „Coop (deutsch: Zaun)“ entwirft Sam Max die Geschichte eines Mädchens, das auf einer Farm gefangen in ritualisierten Handlungen und in Abschottung von der Außenwelt lebt. Die Vereinnahmung durch die Eltern, der strenge Takt des Alltags und die extreme Enge und Einsamkeit haben einen mörderischen Pakt zur Folge, der die Protagonistin aus ihrem Gefängnis befreit. „Coop“ stellt Fragen nach einem möglichen Zusammenleben, nach dem Verfall der Werte und dem Preis der Emanzipation in einem Amerika, in dem Isolation bereits vor der Pandemie längst Wirklichkeit geworden ist.

Stückemarkt-Jurorin Linda Pöppel zum Text
„This is a finger painting of my family“ sind die ersten Worte, die gesprochen werden. Doch da ist man schon tief drin in dieser Welt und Atmosphäre, beschrieben allein durch ein paar Regieanweisungen, mit denen Sam Max so vertraut und gleichzeitig abstrakt, bildgewaltig und verstörend einlädt oder vielmehr: uns hinabzieht. Hochgradig musikalisch, ein feines rhythmisches Geflecht, eine zyklische Abfolge von Ritualen, Gebeten, Erinnerungen. Eine Welt, die in einen hineinkriecht. Voller Schmerz, Dunkelheit, Angst, Unterdrückung, Gewalt, Verlangen und Sehnsucht. Ein Albtraum. Das Abhandensein von Liebe, Empathie, Berührung. Eine äußere und vor allem innere Gefangenschaft. Mit der Kraft der Zerstörung und gleichzeitig dem stillen Ruf nach Nähe und Freiheit ist „Coop (deutsch: Zaun)“ schonungslos in seiner Kälte, in seiner Einsamkeit, in seiner Verlorenheit und vor allem in seinen Bildern. Ein tiefer Blick in die Seele – die Seele eines Kindes, eines Mädchens, einer Familie, einer Gesellschaft. Und nicht zuletzt in die eigene.

Künstlerisches Team

Charlotte Sprenger Szenische Einrichtung
Kundry Reif Dramaturgie
Anne Laure Jullian de la Fuente Ausstattung
Philipp Plessmann Musik

Mit
Johannes Benecke, Oska Melina Borcherding, Philipp Plessmann, Kara Schröder, Wolf-Dietrich Sprenger, Sabine Waibel