Exhibition

Everything Is Just for a While

70 years of Berliner Festspiele revisited

28 May to 17 October 2021

Approximately 1,000 hours of film footage from public and private archives have been viewed for this exhibition. From this, the sound and pictures have been restored on over 5 hours of film and edited into three video installations that present news, discourse and art spanning 70 years. The-3 channel video installation dedicated to artistic positions from all areas of the festival (260 minutes) moves chronologically through Berliner Festpsiele’s history and is presented twice daily.

Previously little-known video footage from our own, public and private collections are boldly edited together in ‘Everything Is Just for a While’ to mark the Berliner Festspiele’s 70th birthday and offer a new perspective on artistic positions from around the world that continue to amaze us today.

A laboratory and an experiment, a seismograph of the zeitgeist, an exhibition space and a debating society, radical art and workshops for young people, fireworks and sporting events, weeks of African art, urban planning and new writing, an Institute of Advanced Studies and a celebratory water-borne procession and a recurrent platform for the international art scene – over the last 70 years the Berliner Festspiele have been all of these things. In their birthday year, ‘Everything Is Just for a While’ presents a compilation of previously little-known film footage, a hall of mirrors of memories. These video installations will be framed by infographics that give the history and identity of the Berliner Festpiele visual form.

The video installations are testimony to the fissures and ricochets, the extremes and the experiments in the Festspiele’s history, and prompt us to explore the question of what these past orchestral and jazz concerts, pioneering electronic works, theatre productions, city-wide actions, exhibitions, discussion series, circus performances, rituals, dance productions, youth contests, cinema projects, films for planetariums, artist talks and opening speeches have to say to us today. In our research we looked for daring, for out-of-the-box thinking, for the ambition and patience to see what was coming and what it would become. And certainly, the way we have chosen to look at and think about our history reveals something about how we want to shape the future.

In this way the contours emerge of a biography that can never fully be told of an institution that has been and continues to be shaped by countless members of staff and their particular abilities. The stream of events in this narrative allows us to discern some recurring threads – an interest in artists and developments in Eastern Europe, Africa, America and South East Asia, along with the history of the artistic avant-garde and political turning points mark the Festspiele’s work both past and present. In retrospect, thirty years after the opening of the Berlin Wall, their political opposition to the situation in the GDR is evident. Their original role as “show-window for the West” as well as their steadily growing curiosity regarding the different perspectives of many non-Western and indigenous cultures and strategies for sustainable change and environmental protection are reflected in the festivals and programmes.

Berliner Festspiele 70

Everything Is Just for a While – Booklet

Read the exhibition booklet here.

To the booklet PDF, 3.8 MB

Concept and dramaturgy
Thomas Oberender, Jeroen Versteele

Video installations
Thilo Fischer, David von der Stein

Partner institutions

null     Logo 3 sat     Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur

Media partners
Exberliner, Monopol, Wall, York Kinogruppe

Partners
Akademie der Künste, Arsenal - Institut für Film und Medienkunst e.V., Associazione Grupporiani, Berlin Art Link, Boosey & Hawkes, Bundesarchiv, Transit Film, EAI Electronic Arts Intermix, Edition Peters Group C.F. Peters Ltd & Co, Felix Bloch Erben, Filmgalerie 451, Japan Actors Association, Kobalt Productions GmbH, MONA productions, Sammlung Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstverein e.V. (n.b.k.), Phenomen Berlin Filmproduktion GmbH, Progress Film GmbH, Suhrkamp Theater Verlag, Shochiku Co. Ltd. Tokyo, Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Südwestrundfunk (SWR), Telewizja Polska S.A., ZDF / Arte, ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe

Special thanks to
Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in Bujumbura (Burundi), Embassy of the People's Republic of China in the Federal Republic of Germany, Bunraku Kyokai, Osaka (Japan), German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), German Broadcasting Archive, Galerie Hauser & Wirth (Zurich), Goethe-Institut Tokyo and Kyoto (Japan), Goethe-Institut Kigali (Rwanda), Japanese-German Centre Berlin, Japan Foundation in Berlin, The Living Theatre, La MaMa Archive, Landesarchiv Berlin, National Ballet of China, Neue Nationalgalerie (SMB), Nohgaku-Kyokai (Association of Noh Actors), Rowohlt Verlag GmbH, Wolf Vostell Estate as well as
René Block, Maksym Demydenko, Guido Diekmann, Ulrich Eckhardt, Helfrid Foron, Petra and Erhard Grosskopf, Felix Gruntz, Werner Heegewaldt, Nathalie Huck, Mona Intemann, Peter Konopatsch, Thorsten Maß, Udo Lindenberg, Ida Müller, Heinz-Dieter Reese, Frieder Schlaich, Julia Schmejkal and Martina Seidel.

Ausstellung

Everything Is Just for a While

70 Jahre Festspielgeschichte neu betrachtet

28. Mai bis 17. Oktober 2021

Für diese Ausstellung wurden ca. 1000 Stunden Filmmaterial aus öffentlichen und privaten Archiven gesichtet. Daraus wurden über 5 Stunden in Bild und Ton restauriert und zu drei Videoinstallationen montiert, die sowohl Nachrichten, Diskurs und Kunst aus 70 Jahren zeigen. Die 3-Kanal-Videoinstallation, die sich Kunstpositionen aus allen Festivalbereichen widmet (260'), reist chronologisch durch die Berliner Festspielgeschichte und wird zweimal täglich gezeigt.

Motiv „Everything Is Just for a While“

Bislang kaum bekannte historische Videoaufnahmen aus eigenen, öffentlich-rechtlichen und privaten Archiven werden in „Everything Is Just for a While” anlässlich des 70. Geburtstags der Berliner Festspiele als kühner Zusammenschnitt präsentiert und laden zu einem neuen Blick auf heute immer noch verblüffende Kunstpositionen aus der ganzen Welt ein.

Labor und Experiment, Seismograf des Zeitgeists, Ausstellungsort und Debattierklub, Radical Art und Workshops für Jugendliche, Feuerwerk und Sport, wochenlang afrikanische Kunst, Städteplanung und Autor*innenförderung, Wissenschaftskolleg und Festumzug mit Wasserkorso und immer wieder Plattform der internationalen Kunstszene – all das waren die Berliner Festspiele in den vergangenen 70 Jahren. Im Geburtstagsjahr zeigt „Everything Is Just for a While” einen Zusammenschnitt aus bislang kaum bekannten Bewegtbildern, ein Spiegelkabinett der Erinnerungen. Die Videoinstallationen werden von einer Infowand gerahmt, die die Identität und die Geschichte der Berliner Festspiele veranschaulichen.

Die Videoinstallationen und Filme begutachten die Risse und Querschläger, die Extreme und Experimente der Festspielgeschichte und laden zur Erforschung der Frage ein, was diese vergangenen Orchester- und Jazzkonzerte, elektronischen Pionierarbeiten, Theateraufführungen, Stadtraumaktionen, Ausstellungen, Diskursreihen, Zirkusvorstellungen, Rituale, Tanzproduktionen, Jugendwettbewerbe, Kinoprojekte, Planetarienfilme, Künstler*innengespräche und Eröffnungsreden uns heute noch zu sagen haben. Das Wagemutige, das Out-of-the-box-Denken, die Bestrebung und Geduld zu sehen, was kommt und was wird, war unsere Ausrichtung bei der Recherche. Und sicher verrät die Art, wie wir unsere Geschichte betrachten und reflektieren, einiges darüber, wie wir unsere Zukunft gestalten wollen.

So entstehen die Konturen einer niemals zu Ende erzählten Biografie einer Institution, die von zahllosen Mitarbeiter*innen und ihren höchst spezifischen Kompetenzen und Interessen geprägt wurde und wird. Der Strom an Ereignissen in dieser Erzählung erlaubt, einige Leitlinien im Engagement zu erkennen – die Beschäftigung mit Künstler*innen und Tendenzen in Osteuropa, Afrika, Amerika und Südostasien, mit der Geschichte der künstlerischen Avantgarden oder mit politischen Zäsuren prägen damals und heute die Festspielarbeit. Dreißig Jahre nach der Öffnung der Berliner Mauer ist rückblickend zudem der politische Gegensinn zur Situation in der DDR erkennbar. Die ursprüngliche Rolle als „Schaufenster des Westens“, aber auch die ständig wachsende Neugier auf andere Blickwinkel vieler nicht westlicher und indigener Kulturen und auf Strategien des nachhaltigen Wandels und des Umweltschutzes spiegeln sich in den Festivals und Programmen.

Ausstellungsraum „Everything Is Just for a While“
Booklet „Everything Is Just for a While“

Berliner Festspiele 70

Everything Is Just for a While – Broschüre

Lesen Sie hier die Broschüre zur Ausstellung.

Zur Broschüre PDF, 3,8 MB

Konzept und Dramaturgie
Thomas Oberender, Jeroen Versteele

Videoinstallationen
Thilo Fischer, David von der Stein

Kooperationspartner

null     Logo 3 sat     Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur

Medienpartner
Exberliner, Monopol, Wall, York Kinogruppe

Partner
Akademie der Künste, Arsenal - Institut für Film und Medienkunst e.V., Associazione Grupporiani, Berlin Art Link, Boosey & Hawkes, Bundesarchiv, Transit Film, EAI Electronic Arts Intermix, Edition Peters Group C.F. Peters Ltd & Co, Felix Bloch Erben, Filmgalerie 451, Japan Actors Association, Kobalt Productions GmbH, MONA productions, Sammlung Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstverein e.V. (n.b.k.), Phenomen Berlin Filmproduktion GmbH, Progress Film GmbH, Suhrkamp Theater Verlag, Shochiku Co. Ltd. Tokyo, Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Südwestrundfunk (SWR), Telewizja Polska S.A., ZDF / Arte, ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe

Ein besonderer Dank an
Botschaft der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Bujumbura (Burundi), Botschaft der Volksrepublik China in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Bunraku Kyokai, Osaka (Japan), Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD), Deutsches Rundfunkarchiv, Galerie Hauser & Wirth (Zürich), Goethe-Institut Tokyo und Kyoto (Japan), Goethe-Institut Kigali (Rwanda), Japanisch-Deutsches Zentrum Berlin, Japan Foundation in Berlin, The Living Theatre, La MaMa Archive, Landesarchiv Berlin, National Ballet of China, Neue Nationalgalerie (SMB), Nohgaku-Kyokai (Association of Noh Actors), Rowohlt Verlag GmbH, Wolf Vostell Estate sowie
René Block, Maksym Demydenko, Guido Diekmann, Ulrich Eckhardt, Helfrid Foron, Petra und Erhard Grosskopf, Felix Gruntz, Werner Heegewaldt, Nathalie Huck, Mona Intemann, Peter Konopatsch, Thorsten Maß, Udo Lindenberg, Ida Müller, Heinz-Dieter Reese, Frieder Schlaich, Julia Schmejkal und Martina Seidel