Concert

Opening Concert

Ensemble Modern Orchestra
Vimbayi Kaziboni, conductor
Heiner Goebbels: “A House of Call” (WP)

Once again, the innovative force of the Ensemble Modern Orchestra is united with Heiner Goebbels’ genre-crossing composition style: On the occasion of the Beethoven Year, Heiner Goebbels has written a new work to be premiered at Musikfest Berlin 2021.

Earliest version of the “Roderich O’Connor” piece from “Finnegans Wake”

Earliest version of the “Roderich O’Connor” piece from “Finnegans Wake”. In: David Hayman (ed.), “A First Draft Version of Finnegans Wake”, Austin, Texas: University of Texas Press, 1963, p. 206

Past Dates

Programme booklet Ensemble Modern Orchestra 30.08.2021 PDF, 7.6 MB

Concerts online
Live stream of the concert in the Digital Concert Hall,
available 30 August, 20:00
Recording of the concert at Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
available 31 August, 16:00 – 10 September, 16:00

“A House of Call. My Imaginary Notebook” is a four-part cycle of compositions in which the Ensemble Modern Orchestra will respond to voices that Heiner Goebbels has recorded in an imaginary notebook. Voices that he came across in projects or archives, on his travels and during encounters – sometimes coincidentally – and that now return to ‘set the tone’ with sounds and languages of their own: dialogues, invocations, prayers, evocations, appeals, speech acts or songs. These distinctive, ‘peculiar’ voices will have their say on a concert stage now – most of them for the first time. The musicians respond to them, individually or as a collective, like the choir in a responsory: they comment, interrupt, encourage and disagree.

“a prolongued visit to a house of call” – this is a line to be found on page 41 of James Joyce’s “Finnegan’s Wake”, not far from the onomatopoetic ‘roaratorio’ which was to give John Cage’s audio piece its name. This audio piece has had a lasting influence on me, because, in the midst of a stream of many voices, John Cage reads through the novel’s 628 pages, mesostic by mesostic – like a ‘sung writing of language’. This is how Roland Barthes described the grittiness (grain) of the voice, and it is this grain – le grain de la voix – that the voices gathered in my imaginary notebook have in common.
Heiner Goebbels 2020

An important feature of many of Heiner Goebbels’ works is the attraction of absent, acousmatic voices. This can be observed on his first single “Berlin Kudamm 12.4.81” (1981), in the “Chaconne / Kantorloops” from “Surrogate Cities” (1994), the performance “Stifters Dinge” (2007), the sound installation “Genko An” (2008ff.) or his audio pieces. In “A House of Call”, the voices will become the protagonists of an entire concert for the first time.

Concert Programme

Heiner Goebbels (*1952)
A House of Call. My Imaginary Notebook (2020)

Heiner Goebbels and Diego Ramos Rodríguez instrumentation

Commissioned by Ensemble Modern, Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin, Kölner Philharmonie, beuys2021, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, musica viva / Bayerischer Rundfunk, Wien Modern, and Casa da Música Porto.

World premiere

Cast

Ensemble Modern Orchestra
Vimbayi Kaziboni conductor
Heiner Goebbels and Hendrik Borowski lighting control
Norbert Ommer sound direction
Felix Dreher and Volker Bernhard sound engineering

A project within the framework of BTHVN 2020. Funded by the Minister of State for Culture and the Media.

Logo BTHVN 2020

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Konzert

Eröffnungskonzert

Ensemble Modern Orchestra
Vimbayi Kaziboni, Leitung
Heiner Goebbels: „A House of Call“ (UA)

Die innovative Kraft des Ensemble Modern Orchestra und die genreübergreifende Kompositionsweise von Heiner Goebbels treffen erneut aufeinander: Anlässlich des Beethoven-Jahres hat Heiner Goebbels ein neues Werk geschrieben, dessen Uraufführung beim Musikfest Berlin 2021 stattfindet.

Früheste Version des „Roderich O’Connor”-Stücks aus „Finnegans Wake“

Früheste Version des „Roderich O’Connor”-Stücks aus „Finnegans Wake“. In: David Hayman (Hrsg.), „A First Draft Version of Finnegans Wake“, Austin, Texas: University of Texas Press, 1963, p. 206

Vergangene Termine

Abendprogramm Ensemble Modern Orchestra 30.08.2021 PDF, 7,6 MB

Konzerte online
Livestream des Konzerts in der Digital Concert Hall,
verfügbar am 30. August 2021, 20:00
Aufzeichnung des Konzerts auf Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
verfügbar 31. August 2021, 16:00 – 10. September 2021, 16:00

„A House of Call. My Imaginary Notebook“ ist ein vierteiliger Zyklus mit Kompositionen, in denen das Ensemble Modern Orchestra auf Stimmen reagieren wird, die Heiner Goebbels in einem imaginären Notizbuch bewahrt hat; Stimmen, auf die er bei Projekten, Reisen, Begegnungen oder in Archiven – manchmal auch zufällig – gestoßen ist und die jetzt mit ihren eigenen Klängen und Sprachen wiederkehren und ‚den Ton angeben‘: Dialoge, Beschwörungen, Gebete, Anrufungen, Aufrufe, Sprechakte oder Lieder. Es sind unverwechselbare, ‚eigentümliche‘ Stimmen, die jetzt, meist zum ersten Mal, auf einer Konzertbühne zu Wort kommen. Die Musiker*innen des Orchesters antworten darauf, individuell oder kollektiv, wie der Chor in einem Responsorium: sie kommentieren, unterbrechen, unterstützen und widersprechen.

„a prolonged visit to a house of call“ – die Zeile findet sich bei James Joyce in „Finnegans Wake“, auf Seite 41, unweit des onomatopoetischen „roaratorio“, das dem Hörstück von John Cage den Namen geben sollte. Ein Hörstück, das mich nachhaltig geprägt hat, weil sich John Cage inmitten eines Stroms vieler Stimmen, Mesostichon für Mesostichon, durch die 628 Seiten des Romans liest – wie ein ‚gesungenes Schreiben der Sprache‘. So hat Roland Barthes die Rauheit (Körnung) der Stimme beschrieben, und diese Rauheit – le grain de la voix – macht das Gemeinsame der Stimmen aus, die sich in meinem imaginären Notizbuch eingefunden haben.
Heiner Goebbels 2020

In vielen der Arbeiten von Heiner Goebbels spielt die Anziehung abwesender, akusmatischer Stimmen eine wichtige Rolle; ob 1981 auf seiner ersten Single „Berlin Kudamm 12.4.81“ (1981), in der „Chaconne / Kantorloops“ aus „Surrogate Cities“ (1994), in der Performance „Stifters Dinge“ (2007), der Klanginstallation „Genko An“ (2008ff.) oder in seinen Hörstücken. In „A House of Call“ werden die Stimmen zum ersten Mal zu Protagonisten eines ganzen Konzerts.

Konzertprogramm

Heiner Goebbels (*1952)
A House of Call. My Imaginary Notebook (2020)

Heiner Goebbels und Diego Ramos Rodríguez Instrumentation

Kompositionsauftrag von Ensemble Modern, Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin, Kölner Philharmonie, beuys2021, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, musica viva / Bayerischer Rundfunk, Wien Modern und Casa da Música Porto.

Uraufführung

Besetzung

Ensemble Modern Orchestra
Vimbayi Kaziboni Leitung
Heiner Goebbels und Hendrik Borowski Lichtregie
Norbert Ommer Klangregie
Felix Dreher und Volker Bernhard Tontechnik

Ein Projekt im Rahmen von BTHVN 2020. Gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.

Logo BTHVN 2020

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin