Concert

Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam

Renée Fleming, soprano
Daniel Harding, conductor
Stravinsky | Messiaen | Debussy

The Concertgebouworkest kicks off the series of concerts dedicated to Igor Stravinsky at the Musikfest Berlin with his 1957 ballet “Agon”. In this late work, one can hear distinct traces of all of Stravinsky’s creative phases. It is complemented by works composed by his contemporaries Olivier Messiaen and Claude Debussy – major influences and at the same time the greatest possible stylistic contrasts.

Igor Stravinsky playing lyre on a removed Citroën radiator grille, c. 1933

Igor Stravinsky playing lyre on a removed Citroën radiator grille, c. 1933

Photo: André Schaeffner © Paul Sacher Foundation, Basel: Igor Stravinsky Collection

Past Dates

Programme booklet Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam 31.08.2021 PDF, 2.9 MB

Concerts online
Recording of the concert in the Digital Concert Hall,
available 1 September 2021, 20:00
Recording of the concert at Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
available 2 September 2021, 16:00 – 12 September 2021, 16:00

A decades-long collaboration between the Musikfest Berlin and the Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam has brought many highlights to the city's musical life. The Amsterdam orchestra will open the concert series devoted to the festival's main focus: Igor Stravinsky, and in particular his neglected late work. “Agon”, written for the New York City Ballet, marks this Russian cosmopolitan´s transition into his final creative period. During five years of its creation, from the first draft to the completion of the work, the composer accomplished the metamorphosis to serial composition as a method of particular transparency and clarity. The ballet does not tell a story; it was conceived as a series of dance movements, which Stravinsky borrowed from a 17th-century French textbook. The musical form therefore resembles a suite, framed and structured by preludes and interludes; it is therefore well suited for use in concert.

“Agon” – competition, confrontation – may be seen as a central theme for this programme. Stravinsky, for whom France was the most important and most influential stage since emigrating from Russia, is confronted with composers whom he respected and who respected him, and who nevertheless insisted on decisively different aesthetics. This divergence may be found in the approach to expressivity and rhythm. In Olivier Messiaen's “Poèmes pour Mi” (the pet name for his first wife, the composer and violinist Claire Delbos) one can already find the mixture of spirituality and eroticism that later determined such large-scale works as the “Turangalîla Symphony”. The flow of time in the nine songs is organised by rhythmic patterns that are intended, as it were, to force the moment to linger. Debussy’s Symphonic Sketches, however, are the precedent of a rhythmic style that Messiaen described thus: “By contemplating nature, Debussy grasped the moveable quality, the ceaseless undulation, which he transferred to his music, and for this reason he was one of the greatest rhythmicians of all time.”

Concert Programme

Igor Stravinsky (1882 – 1971)
Agon (1957)
for orchestra
Dedicated to Lincoln Kirstein and George Balanchine

Olivier Messiaen (1908 – 1992)
Poèmes pour Mi (1937)
for soprano and orchestra

Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918)
La Mer - three symphonic sketches (1903 – 1905)
for orchestra

The concerts dedicated to Igor Stravinsky and Carlo Gesualdo on 31 August, 6, 8, 13 and 15 September are funded by means of the Capital City Cultural Fund and the Aventis Foundation.


Logo Hauptstadtkulturfonds     Logo Aventis Foundation

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Konzert

Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam

Renée Fleming, Sopran
Daniel Harding, Leitung
Strawinsky | Messiaen | Debussy

Das Concertgebouworkest eröffnet die Reihe der Igor Strawinsky gewidmeten Konzerte beim Musikfest Berlin mit dem Ballett „Agon“ von 1957. In dem späten Werk sind deutliche Spuren aller Schaffensphasen Strawinskys herauszuhören. Ihm zur Seite stehen Werke seiner Zeitgenossen Olivier Messiaen und Claude Debussy – wichtige Einflüsse und zugleich größtmögliche stilistische Kontraste.

Igor Strawinsky spielt Lyra auf einem abgenommenen Citroën-Kühlergrill, um 1933

Igor Strawinsky spielt Lyra auf einem abgenommenen Citroën-Kühlergrill, um 1933

Foto: André Schaeffner © Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel: Sammlung Igor Strawinsky

Vergangene Termine

Abendprogramm Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam 31.08.2021 PDF, 2,9 MB

Konzerte online
Aufzeichnung des Konzerts in der Digital Concert Hall,
verfügbar am 1. September 2021, 20:00
Aufzeichnung des Konzerts auf Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
verfügbar 2. September 2021, 16:00 – 12. September 2021, 16:00

Mit dem Concertgebouworkest aus Amsterdam verbindet das Musikfest Berlin eine jahrzehntelange Zusammenarbeit, der das Musikleben der Stadt viele Glanzlichter verdankt. Die Amsterdamer eröffnen die Konzertreihe zum Festivalschwerpunkt: Igor Strawinsky, vor allem dessen wenig beachtetes Spätwerk. „Agon“, geschrieben für das New York City Ballett, steht am Übergang in diese letzte Schaffensphase des Weltbürgers aus Russland. In den fünf Jahren ihrer Entstehung, vom ersten Entwurf bis zum Abschluss des Werks, vollzog der Komponist die Metamorphose zur Reihenkomposition als einer Methode besonderer Transparenz und Klarheit. Das Ballett hat keine Handlung, es ist als Revue von Tänzen konzipiert, die Strawinsky einem französischen Lehrbuch aus dem 17. Jahrhundert entnahm. Die musikalische Form gleicht daher einer Suite, die durch Vor- und Zwischenspiele gerahmt und gegliedert ist. Sie eignet sich umstandslos für den Konzertgebrauch.

„Agon“ – Wettstreit, Auseinandersetzung – kann als Leitgedanke über diesem Programm stehen. Strawinsky, für den Frankreich die wichtigste und einflussstärkste Station seit seiner Emigration aus Russland war, wird Komponisten gegenübergestellt, die er und die ihn schätzten, und die gleichwohl auf entschiedener ästhetischer Differenz zu ihm bestanden. Diese liegt in der Einstellung zu Expressivität und Rhythmus. In Olivier Messiaens „Poèmes pour Mi“ (so der Kosename seiner ersten Frau, der Komponistin und Geigerin Claire Delbos) findet sich bereits die Mischung aus Spiritualität und Erotik, die später so großformatige Werke wie die „Turangalîla-Symphonie“ bestimmte. Der Zeitfluss der neun Lieder ist durch rhythmische Muster organisiert, die gleichsam den Augenblick zum Verweilen zwingen sollen. Debussys Symphonische Skizzen aber sind der Präzedenzfall einer Rhythmik, die Messiaen so beschrieb: „Indem er die Natur betrachtete, hat Debussy den beweglichen Charakter, die unaufhörliche Wellenbewegung begriffen, die er in seine Musik übertrug, und deshalb war er einer der größten Rhythmiker aller Zeiten.“

Konzertprogramm

Igor Strawinsky (1882 – 1971)
Agon (1957)
für Orchester
Lincoln Kirstein und George Balanchine gewidmet

Olivier Messiaen (1908 – 1992)
Poèmes pour Mi (1937)
für Sopran und Orchester

Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918)
La Mer – drei symphonische Skizzen (1903 – 1905)
für Orchester

Die Igor Strawinsky und Carlo Gesualdo gewidmeten Gastspielkonzerte am 31. August, 6., 8., 13. und 15. September werden gefördert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds und der Aventis Foundation.

Logo Hauptstadtkulturfonds     Logo Aventis Foundation

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin