Concert

Inaugural Concert Bundesjugendchor

Anne Kohler, conductor
Brahms | Schumann | di Lasso
Harvey | Rihm | Hofmeyr | Denner (WP) | MacMillan

The Bundesjugendchor’s founding concert gives the young singers the opportunity to present a high level of stylistic diversity: the programme includes song cycles by Schumann and Brahms as well as works by the Renaissance composer Orlando di Lasso and numerous contemporary works.

Singing monks, France 14th century

Singing monks, France 14th century

Scheduled to take place last year, the premiere had to be postponed due to the pandemic. Singing had been transformed from one of the most beautiful to a dangerous form of human expression. Early last year, thanks to thorough planning, the German Music Council launched the Bundesjugendchor as a vocal counterpart to the Bundesjugendorchester and the Bundesjugendjazzorchester. Young vocal artists, selected at various auditions, are given the opportunity to prepare for a career as professional choristers. The choir meets in project-related sessions and develops programmes, which are then presented in concert. Anne Kohler, a committed, experienced choral conductor and professor, has taken on the musical and conceptual supervision. She teaches at the Detmold University of Music, where the practice of choral singing has always been given special attention.

For its first public performance, the choir has prepared a programme that highlights prominent facets of the immensely rich art of choral singing. Two demanding cycles for double choir, which develop their very own musical language based on the traditional motets (Johannes Brahms) and on the romantic songs for chorus (Robert Schumann), are followed by a discourse across the musical epochs: contemporary works counter motets by Orlando di Lasso. Together they explore the spirituality inherent in good choral singing.

Concert Programme

Alpha & Omega

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)
Fest- und Gedenksprüche op. 109 (1888)
for mixed choir a cappella

Robert Schumann (1810 – 1856)
Vier doppelchörige Gesänge op. 141 (1849)
for mixed choir a cappella

Orlando di Lasso (1532 – 1594)
Timor et Tremor (1564)
Motet for mixed choir

Jonathan Harvey (1939 – 2012)
Plainsongs for Peace and Light (2012)
for mixed choir or 16 solo voices

Orlando di Lasso
In hora ultima (1604)
Motet for mixed choir

Hendrik Hofmeyr (*1957)
In tempore belli (2016)
for mixed choir, soprano and alto solo

Wolfgang Rihm (*1952)
Mit geschlossenem Mund (1982)
for mixed choir

Orlando di Lasso
In religione homo vivit (1585)
Motet for mixed choir

Kathrin Denner (*1986)
New Work

Commission of Deutscher Musikrat, funded by Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung.

World premiere

Orlando di Lasso
Homo cum in honore esset (1566)
Motet for mixed choir

James MacMillan (*1959)
Alpha & Omega (2011)
for mixed choir a cappella

Cast

Bundesjugendchor
Anne Kohler conductor

An event by the Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin in cooperation with the Bundesjugendchor of the Deutscher Musikrat.

Konzert

Gründungskonzert Bundesjugendchor

Anne Kohler, Leitung
Brahms | Denner (UA) | Harvey | Hofmeyr |
di Lasso | MacMillan
Rihm | Schumann

Zum Gründungskonzert des Bundesjugendchors stellen die jungen Sänger*innen ein Höchstmaß an stilistischer Vielfalt unter Beweis: Neben Liederzyklen von Schumann und Brahms stehen Werke des Renaissance-Komponisten Orlando di Lasso sowie zahlreiche Werke der Gegenwart auf dem Programm.

Singende Mönche, Frankreich 14. Jahrhundert

Singende Mönche, Frankreich 14. Jahrhundert

Die Premiere sollte im vergangenen Jahr stattfinden; die Pandemie verhinderte sie. Singen hatte sich von einer der schönsten zu einer gefährlichen menschlichen Äußerung gewandelt. Anfang vergangenen Jahres hatte der Deutsche Musikrat nach gründlichen Vorbereitungen den Bundesjugendchor als vokales Pendant zum Bundesjugend- und Bundesjugendjazz-orchester ins Leben gerufen. Junge Stimmkünstler*innen, die bei verschiedenen Vorsingen ausgewählt werden, erhalten die Möglichkeit, sich auf eine Laufbahn als professionelle Chorist*innen vorzubereiten. Sie treffen sich projektbezogen in Arbeitsperioden, erarbeiten Programme und stellen sie in Konzerten vor. Die musikalische und konzeptionelle Verantwortung übernahm mit Anne Kohler eine engagierte, erfahrene Chordirigentin und Pädagogin. Sie lehrt an der Hochschule für Musik Detmold, an der die Kultivierung des Chorgesangs seit jeher mit besonderer Intensität gepflegt wird.

Für seinen öffentlichen Einstand hat der Chor ein Programm vorbereitet, das exponierte Seiten der ungemein reichen chorischen Gesangskunst beleuchtet. Zwei anspruchsvollen doppelchörigen Zyklen, die teils von der traditionsreichen Motettenkunst (Johannes Brahms), teils vom romantischen Chorlied (Robert Schumann) aus eine ganz eigene Klangsprache entwickeln, folgt ein Dialog über die Epochen hinweg. Auf Motetten von Orlando di Lasso antworten zeitgenössische Werke. Sie setzen sich mit der Spiritualität auseinander, die gutem Chorgesang innewohnt.

Konzertprogramm

Alpha & Omega

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)
Fest- und Gedenksprüche op. 109 (1888)
für gemischten Chor a cappella

Robert Schumann (1810 – 1856)
Vier doppelchörige Gesänge op. 141 (1849)
für gemischten Chor a cappella

Orlando di Lasso (1532 – 1594)
Timor et Tremor (1564)
Motette für gemischten Chor

Jonathan Harvey (1939 – 2012)
Plainsongs for Peace and Light (2012)
für gemischten Chor oder 16 Solostimmen

Orlando di Lasso
In hora ultima (1604)
Motette für gemischten Chor

Hendrik Hofmeyr (*1957)
In tempore belli (2016)
für gemischten Chor, Sopran- und Alt-Solo

Wolfgang Rihm (*1952)
Mit geschlossenem Mund (1982)
für gemischten Chor

Orlando di Lasso
In religione homo vivit (1585)
Motette für gemischten Chor

Kathrin Denner (*1986)
Innen
für gemischten Chor

Kompositionsaufrag des Deutschen Musikrats, gefördert von der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung.

Uraufführung

Orlando di Lasso
Homo cum in honore esset (1566)
Motette für gemischten Chor

James MacMillan (*1959)
Alpha & Omega (2011)
für gemischten Chor a cappella

Besetzung

Bundesjugendchor
Anne Kohler Leitung

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin in Kooperation mit dem Bundesjugendchor des Deutschen Musikrats.