Concert

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Sir George Benjamin, conductor
Benjamin | Knussen | Purcell | Stravinsky

Igor Stravinsky’s “Movements” for piano and orchestra is considered the most rigorous work in the composer’s œuvre. The idiosyncratic piano concerto, which has no actual concertante piano part, will be juxtaposed with the music of Oliver Knussen and Henry Purcell. To round off the program, the German premiere of George Benjamin's “Concerto for Orchestra”, who will also conduct the concert, will be performed.

George Benjamin

George Benjamin

© Javier del Real, Teatro Real

Past Dates

Programme booklet Mahler Chamber Orchestra 02.09.2021 PDF, 5.7 MB

Concerts online
Live stream of the concert in the Digital Concert Hall,
available 2 September 2021, 20:00
Recording of the concert at Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
available 3 September 2021, 16:00 – 13 September 2021, 16:00

Do nomads have a home? The Mahler Chamber Orchestra may not return to Berlin every year, but it does so time and again for the Musikfest Berlin. The international orchestra has established a reputation for being constantly on the move, and its motto of “live … play … dream” has elevated it to one of the world's best orchestras. This Musikfest Berlin concert season, British conductor and composer Sir George Benjamin join them during their visit to the River Spree.

In writing a new concerto for this outstanding chamber orchestra, George Benjamin pays tribute to the musicians with whom he has enjoyed an inspiring and successful collaboration that began in 2012 with the premiere of his opera “Written on Skin” in Aix-en-Provence. George Benjamin succeeds repeatedly in making an orchestra shine. He designs soundscapes imbued with a love for each individual instrument. This is the best possible prerequisite for a “Concerto for Orchestra”.

Igor Stravinsky’s “Movements” for piano and orchestra – performed here with pianist Tamara Stefanovich, who is as spirited as she is experimental – is not a classical solo concerto either. The uncompromisingly short work is by far the most radical from his late creative phase: compact, “antitonal”, often intimate in chamber music terms, and with a piano part that shrugs off all clichés of virtuosity. The Mahler Chamber Orchestra presents Benjamin’s new orchestral concerto alongside Stravinsky’s “Movements” and works by the Baroque master Henry Purcell as well as the British composer Oliver Knussen: a combination that promises unexpected contrasts.

Concert Programme

Oliver Knussen (1952 – 2018)
The Way to Castle Yonder (1990)
for orchestra

Henry Purcell (1659 – 1695)
Three Consorts (1680)
from: Consort Music for strings
transcribed for chamber orchestra by George Benjamin (2021)

Igor Strawinsky (1882 – 1971)
Movements (1958/59)
for piano and orchestra

George Benjamin (*1960)
Concerto for Orchestra (2019 - 2021)

Composition commissioned by Mahler Chamber Orchestra,
funded by Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, and BBC Radio 3.

German premiere

Igor Stravinsky
Pulcinella Suite (1922/1949)
for orchestra

With kind support of Klangwert-Ensemble-Förderung of Aventis Foundation, of Rudolf Augstein Foundation and Ilse and Dr. Horst Rusch-Foundation.


null    Logo Aventis Foundation


Logo Rudolf Augstein Stiftung    Rusch Stiftung


A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Konzert

Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Sir George Benjamin, Leitung
Benjamin | Knussen | Purcell | Strawinsky

Igor Strawinskys „Movements“ für Klavier und Orchester gilt als das dichteste und strengste Werk im œuvre des Komponisten. Das eigenwillige Klavierkonzert ohne eigentlich konzertanten Klavierpart steht der Musik Oliver Knussens und Henry Purcells gegenüber. Abgerundet wird das Programm von der Deutschen Erstaufführung des „Concerto for Orchestra“ George Benjamins, der das Konzert auch dirigieren wird.

George Benjamin

George Benjamin

© Javier del Real, Teatro Real

Vergangene Termine

Abendprogramm Mahler Chamber Orchestra 02.09.2021 PDF, 5,7 MB

Konzerte online
Livestream des Konzerts in der Digital Concert Hall,
verfügbar am 2. September 2021, 20:00
Aufzeichnung des Konzerts auf Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
verfügbar 3. September 2021, 16:00 – 13. September 2021, 16:00

Haben Nomaden eine Heimat? Das Mahler Chamber Orchestra zieht es zwar nicht jedes Jahr, aber doch immer wieder zum Musikfest nach Berlin. Das international besetzte Orchester hat das beständige Unterwegssein zu seinem Markenzeichen gemacht und ist mit seiner Devise „live … play … dream“ zu einem der weltbesten Klangkörper aufgestiegen. In dieser Musikfest Berlin-Saison kommt es mit dem britischen Dirigenten und Komponisten Sir George Benjamin an die Spree.

Dass George Benjamin ein neues Konzert für das herausragende Kammerorchester geschrieben hat, ist sein Tribut an die Musiker*innen, mit denen ihn eine fruchtbare und erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit verbindet, die 2012 mit der Uraufführung seiner Oper „Written on Skin“ in Aix-en-Provence begann. George Benjamin gelingt es immer wieder aufs Neue, ein Orchester zum Leuchten zu bringen. Er entwirft Klanglandschaften, in die sich die Liebe zu jedem einzelnen Instrument einschreibt. Für ein „Konzert für Orchester“ ist das die denkbar beste Voraussetzung.

Auch Igor Strawinskys „Movements“ für Klavier und Orchester – hier mit der ebenso temperamentvollen wie experimentierfreudigen Pianistin Tamara Stefanovich - sind kein klassisches Solokonzert. Das kompromisslos kurze Werk ist das mit Abstand radikalste aus dessen späten Schaffensphase: dicht, „antitonal“, oft kammermusikalisch intim und mit einem Klavierpart, der alle Klischees des Virtuosentums abschüttelt. Das Mahler Chamber Orchestra rückt Benjamins neues Orchesterkonzert neben Strawinskys „Movements“ und Werke des Barockmeisters Henry Purcell sowie des früh verstorbenen Briten Oliver Knussen: eine Kombination, die überraschende Konfrontationen verspricht.

Konzertprogramm

Oliver Knussen (1952 – 2018)
The Way to Castle Yonder (1990)
für Orchester

Henry Purcell (1659 – 1695)
Three Consorts (1680)
aus: Consort Music für Streicher
transkribiert für Kammerorchester von George Benjamin (2021)

Igor Strawinsky (1882 – 1971)
Movements (1958/59)
für Klavier und Orchester

George Benjamin (*1960)
Concerto for Orchestra (2019 - 2021)

Kompositionsauftrag des Mahler Chamber Orchestra,
gefördert durch die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, und BBC Radio 3

Deutsche Erstaufführung

Igor Strawinsky
Pulcinella Suite (1922/1949)
für Orchester

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Klangwert-Ensemble-Förderung der Aventis-Foundation, der Rudolf Augstein Stiftung sowie der Ilse und Dr. Horst Rusch-Stiftung


null    Logo Aventis Foundation


Logo Rudolf Augstein Stiftung    Rusch Stiftung


Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin