Concert

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Vladimir Jurowski, conductor
Stravinsky | Hindemith

The Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester and Vladimir Jurowski present an unusual portrait of Stravinsky at the Musikfest Berlin: rarely performed works from the 1920s and the late period, rounded off by the Symphony “Mathis der Maler” by Paul Hindemith, who crossed paths with Stravinsky several times.

Igor Stravinsky working on a score using his “cut and paste” method of composition, California, 13.12.1966

Igor Stravinsky working on a score using his “cut and paste” method of composition, California, 13.12.1966

Photo: Arnold Newman © Getty Images

Past Dates

Concerts online
Live stream of the concert in the Digital Concert Hall,
available 4 September 2021, 19:00
Recording of the concert at Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
available 5 September 2021, 16:00 – 15 September 2021, 16:00

Igor Stravinsky and Paul Hindemith met in Berlin in the early 1930s. At that time, Hindemith allayed Stravinsky’s concerns about writing a violin concerto, him not being a violinist. This work was first performed by the RSB in Berlin in 23 October 1931, conducted by Stravinsky himself. In 1940, the two composers once again met in the United States. Stravinsky had left his adopted home of Paris shortly after the start of World War II and moved to the American West Coast; Hindemith, following the controversy surrounding his opera “Mathis der Maler”, after helping to establish a conservatory in Ankara and a stopover in Switzerland, opted for exile on the American East Coast, in Boston, in 1940.

The programme combines works of commemoration and remembrance. Stravinsky composed the short “Symphonies of wind instruments” in honour of Claude Debussy and paid tribute to the deceased by not adapting to his style, but responding to his musical personality with his incomparably edgier diction. He composed the cantata “Abraham and Isaak” for the Israel Festival in 1964, calling it a ballad, because the music was meant to resonate through its narrative style, rather than emotional suggestiveness. He insisted that only the Hebrew text be used for performances, instead of its translation. The European premiere took place a month after the Jerusalem premiere, as part of the 14th Berlin Festival. Stravinsky dedicated the “Variations”, his last purely instrumental work, to the memory of Aldous Huxley, his neighbour in Hollywood with whom he had many much-valued conversations. Huxley died in 1963, followed shortly after by Karl Amadeus Hartmann and Paul Hindemith, whom Stravinsky held in high esteem.

Hindemith wrote his “Mathis” Symphony as preparation for his opera of the same name. Controversy arose around it in 1934, which finally led the composer to leave Germany, at first temporarily, and then permanently. The opera's subject is a reflection of his own life within historical context – that of the artist in times of unrest and upheaval, raising the issue of truthfulness with particular urgency.

Concert Programme

Igor Stravinsky (1882 – 1971)
Symphonies d’instruments à vent (1920)
In honour of Claude Debussy

Igor Stravinsky
Abraham and Isaak (1962/63)
A sacred ballad for baritone and chamber orchestra
Dedicated to the people of the State of Israel

Igor Stravinsky
Concerto for piano and windinstruments (1923/24)

Igor Strawinsky
Variations Aldous Huxley in memoriam(1963/64)
for orchestra

Paul Hindemith (1895 – 1963)
Symphony Mathis der Maler (1934)

A Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin event in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Konzert

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Vladimir Jurowski, Leitung
Strawinsky | Hindemith

Ein ungewöhnliches Strawinsky-Porträt präsentieren das Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester und Vladimir Jurowski beim Musikfest Berlin: selten gespielte Werke aus den 1920er Jahren und dem Spätwerk, abgerundet durch die Symphonie „Mathis der Maler“ von Paul Hindemith, dessen Wege sich mit denen Strawinskys mehrfach kreuzten.

Igor Strawinsky bei der Arbeit an einer Partitur unter Verwendung seiner „cut and paste“-Kompositionsmethode, Kalifornien, 13.12.1966

Igor Strawinsky bei der Arbeit an einer Partitur unter Verwendung seiner „cut and paste“-Kompositionsmethode, Kalifornien, 13.12.1966

Foto: Arnold Newman © Getty Images

Strawinsky und Hindemith trafen sich Anfang der 1930er Jahre in Berlin. Hindemith zerstreute damals Strawinskys Bedenken, als Nichtgeiger ein Violinkonzert zu schreiben. Das RSB führte das Werk am 23. Oktober 1931 unter Strawinskys Leitung in Berlin erstmals auf. 1940 trafen sich beide Komponisten in den USA wieder. Strawinsky verließ seine Wahlheimat Paris kurz nach Beginn des Zweiten Weltkriegs und zog an die amerikanische Westküste; Hindemith wählte nach der Kontroverse um seine Oper „Mathis der Maler“, nach tatkräftiger Hilfe beim Aufbau eines Konservatoriums in Ankara und einer Zwischenstation in der Schweiz 1940 das Exil an der amerikanischen Ostküste, in Boston.

Das Programm vereint Werke des Gedenkens und Erinnerns. Die kurzen „Bläsersymphonien“ schrieb Strawinsky zu Ehren Claude Debussys. Er würdigte den Verstorbenen, indem er sich dessen Stil nicht anpasste, sondern mit seiner ungleich kantigeren Diktion auf dessen musikalische Persönlichkeit antwortete. Die Kantate „Abraham und Isaak“ komponierte er für das Israel-Festival 1964. Er nannte sie eine Ballade, denn die Musik sollte durch eine erzählende Haltung, nicht durch Gefühlssuggestion wirken. Er bestand darauf, dass für Aufführungen nur der hebräische Text, keine Übersetzung verwendet würde. Die europäische Premiere fand einen Monat nach der Jerusalemer Uraufführung im Rahmen der 14. Berliner Festwochen statt. Die „Variations“, sein letztes rein instrumentales Werk, widmete er dem Gedenken an Aldous Huxley, seinen Nachbarn in Hollywood und geschätzten Gesprächspartner. Huxley starb 1963, kurz vor Karl Amadeus Hartmann und Paul Hindemith, die Strawinsky hochschätzte.

Hindemiths „Mathis“-Symphonie war eine Vorarbeit zu seiner gleichnamigen Oper. Um diese entspann sich 1934 eine Kontroverse, die den Komponisten schließlich dazu bewog, Deutschland erst vorübergehend und dann ganz zu verlassen. Das Sujet der Oper ist ein in die Geschichte versetzter Spiegel seiner eigenen Existenz: der des Künstlers in Zeiten der Unruhe und des Umbruchs, in denen die Frage der Wahrhaftigkeit besonders dringlich gestellt wird.

Konzertprogramm

Igor Strawinsky (1882 – 1971)
Symphonies d’instruments à vent (1920)
Claude Debussy zu Ehren

Igor Strawinsky
Abraham und Isaak (1962/63)
Geistliche Ballade für Bariton und Kammerorchester
Dem Volk des Staates Israel gewidmet

Igor Strawinsky
Konzert für Klavier und Blasinstrumente (1923/24)

Igor Strawinsky
Variations Aldous Huxley in memoriam (1963/64)
für Orchester

Paul Hindemith (1895 – 1963)
Symphonie Mathis der Maler (1934)

Eine Veranstaltung von Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin