Concert

Ensemble Musikfabrik I

Portrait Ann Cleare
Enno Poppe, conductor

The Ensemble Musikfabrik under the direction of Enno Poppe dedicates the first of its two concerts at the Musikfest Berlin entirely to the Irish composer Ann Cleare. A unique opportunity to immerse yourself in the young artist’s highly energetic and nuanced world of sound!

Ann Cleare

Ann Cleare

© Amelie Kahn-Ackermann

In this first of two guest performances at this year’s Musikfest Berlin, the Musikfabrik under the direction of Enno Poppe takes us on an expedition into the world of the young Irish composer Ann Cleare. Born in 1983 in the islands’ Midlands, the composer is an explorer. Her music thrives on touching and being touched, such as when she wanders through old sheds and abandoned warehouses in search of new sources of sound, eventually releasing rusty machine parts from their long state of silence.

“Perhaps my works seem abstract”, says Ann Cleare, “but to me they are choreographies in space, populated and animated by sound figures”. The composer transforms stages into landscapes. Here, musicians or ensemble groups are like actors in a drama. It is not only exciting to discover what can be heard, but also who is lifting their voice at any given moment and from which location. Everything is in constant motion in Ann Cleare’s soundscapes. Winner of the 2019 Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation Composer Award, the artist does not create monocultures. She designs environments, which can be explored from various perspectives and speaks of the “poetry of perception”. Early on, the Ensemble Musikfabrik discovered Ann Cleare’s music for itself. This dedicated team of idiosyncratic personalities, who do not consider it a contradiction to pursue their own, often very different paths, finds an ideal terrain in her music. In Ann Cleare’s landscapes, the collective is no less important than the individual is.

Concert Programme

Ann Cleare (*1983)
mire|...|veins (2013)
for brass quintett

Ann Cleare
ore (2016)
for one high reed wind instrument and string trio

Ann Cleare
on magnetic fields (2011 – 12)
for a large ensemble divided into three chamber groups

Ann Cleare
New Work
for clarinet, violin, violoncello, piano

Composition commissioned by National Concert Hall, Dublin and The Office for Public Work, Ireland
World premiere

Ann Cleare
the physics of fog, swirling (2018/19)
for large ensemble

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Konzert

Ensemble Musikfabrik I

Porträt Ann Cleare
Enno Poppe, Leitung

Das erste seiner zwei Konzerte beim Musikfest Berlin widmet das Ensemble Musikfabrik unter der Leitung von Enno Poppe ganz der irischen Komponistin Ann Cleare. Eine einmalige Gelegenheit, in die hochenergetische und nuancenreiche Klangwelt der jungen Künstlerin einzutauchen!

Ann Cleare

Ann Cleare

© Amelie Kahn-Ackermann

In diesem ersten von zwei Gastspielen beim diesjährigen Musikfest Berlin lädt die Musikfabrik unter der Leitung von Enno Poppe zur Expedition in die Welt der jungen Irin Ann Cleare ein. Die 1983 in den Midlands der Insel geborene Komponistin ist eine Forscherin. Ihre Musik lebt von Berührungen und vom Berühren, wenn sie etwa auf der Suche nach neuen Klangerzeugern durch alte Schuppen und verlassene Lagerhallen streift und schließlich rostige Maschinenteile von ihrem langen Schweigen erlöst.

„Vielleicht wirken meine Werke abstrakt“, so Ann Cleare, „für mich sind sie Choreografien im Raum, bevölkert und belebt von Klangfiguren.“ Die Komponistin verwandelt Bühnen in Landschaften. Darin kommunizieren Musiker*innen oder Ensemblegruppen wie Akteur*innen eines Dramas. Es ist nicht nur spannend zu verfolgen, was zu hören ist, sondern auch, wer gerade die Stimme erhebt und von welchem Ort aus. In Ann Cleares Klanglandschaften ist alles in ständiger Bewegung. Die 2019 mit dem Komponistenpreis der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung ausgezeichnete Künstlerin schafft keine Monokulturen. Sie entwirft Environments, die sich aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven erschließen und spricht von der „Poesie der Wahrnehmung“. Schon früh hat das Ensemble Musikfabrik Ann Cleares Musik für sich entdeckt. Das eingeschworene Team aus eigenwilligen Persönlichkeiten, für die es kein Widerspruch ist, auch eigene, oft sehr unterschiedliche Wege zu verfolgen, findet in ihrer Musik ein ideales Terrain. In Ann Cleares Landschaften ist das Kollektiv nicht weniger wichtig als das Individuum.



Konzertprogramm

Ann Cleare (*1983)
mire|...|veins (2013)
für Bläserquintet

Ann Cleare
ore (2016)
für hohes Rohrblattinstrument und Streichtrio

Ann Cleare
on magnetic fields (2011/12)
für Ensemble

Ann Cleare
Neues Werk
für Klarinette, Violine, Violincello und Klavier

Kompositionsauftrag der National Concert Hall, Dublin und The Office for Public Work, Irland
Uraufführung

Ann Cleare
the physics of fog, swirling (2018/19)
für großes Ensemble

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin