Concert
Silent Film & Live Music

Konzerthausorchester Berlin

Max Neufeld | Johannes Kalitzke
“The Tales of Hoffmann” (WP)

Episodes from various novellas by E.T.A. Hoffmann merge with biographical elements in the silent film classic “The Tales of Hoffmann”, told in sombre imagery by director and actor Max Neufeld. Composer Johannes Kalitzke has composed music for the digitally restored new version of the film and will also conduct the premiere of the silent film and music himself.

Max Neufeld, “The Tales of Hoffmann”, 1923. Film still

Max Neufeld, “The Tales of Hoffmann”, 1923. Film still

© Filmarchiv Austria

Past Dates

“I am tired and weary of mine journey ... even more than the drunkard is of his empty drinking cup.” Thus, the character of E.T.A. Hoffmann begins his tales in the silent film of Max Neufeld of 1923. That Neufeld himself plays this leading role would appear logical: for he too, the son of travelling actors, tired of many years of constant travel and fluctuating engagements, has finally arrived in Vienna by this time. There he is able to establish himself as an actor and director of celebrated silent films – a first major highlight of his turbulent life.

“Tales of Hoffmann” is an adaptation of the opera of the same name by Jaques Offenbach. Based on tales by E.T.A. Hoffmann, biographical and fantastic episodes merge into a dreamlike, eerie journey of adventure that Hoffmann tells his companions one evening at the inn. “I saw things so strange they might have sprung from a fool’s dream”, a caption reads. And indeed, Neufeld’s impressive imagery emphasises in particular the grotesque, ghostly elements from E.T.A. Hoffmann’s tales.

The newly discovered nitro positive made it possible to digitally restore the silent film, which was of very poor quality. The Konzerthausorchester Berlin, in co-operation with ARTE and the Filmarchiv AUSTRIA will present the premiere of this new version at the Musikfest Berlin in an evening that bridges three centuries: Hoffmann’s gothic romanticism meets a master of expressionist silent film and a world premiere by composer Johannes Kalitzke.

In his “Beethoven Variationen”, composed for this occasion, Kalitzke has also integrated several historical levels into his own musical language, thus spanning the arc from Hoffmann’s contemporary Beethoven to the present. The commission for this composition was awarded on the occasion of the anniversary of the opening of the Konzerthaus Berlin, which is celebrating its 200th anniversary this year.

Concert rogramme

Hoffmanns Erzählungen (The Tales of Hoffmann)
Silent Film by Max Neufeld (1887 – 1967) of 1923
Music by Johannes Kalitzke (*1959)

Composition commissioned by Konzerthaus Berlin

World premiere

A production for the 200th anniversary of the Konzerthaus Berlin in cooperation with ZDF/ARTE and Filmarchiv AUSTRIA

Events of Konzerthaus Berlin in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Konzert
Stummfilm & Live-Musik

Konzerthausorchester Berlin

Max Neufeld | Johannes Kalitzke
„Hoffmanns Erzählungen“ (UA)

Episoden aus verschiedenen Novellen E.T.A. Hoffmanns verschmelzen im Stummfilm-Klassiker „Hoffmanns Erzählungen“ mit biographischen Elementen, erzählt in düsterer Bildsprache von Regisseur und Schauspieler Max Neufeld. Der Komponist Johannes Kalitzke hat zu dieser digital restaurierten Neufassung des Films eine Musik komponiert und wird die Uraufführung von Stummfilm und Musik auch selbst dirigieren.

Max Neufeld, „Hoffmanns Erzählungen“, 1923. Filmstill

Max Neufeld, „Hoffmanns Erzählungen“, 1923. Filmstill

© Filmarchiv AUSTRIA

Vergangene Termine

„Ich bin meiner Reise müde und überdrüssig … mehr noch als der Trunkenbold vor seinem leeren Fasse.“ So beginnt die Figur des E.T.A. Hoffmann seine Erzählungen im Stummfilm von Max Neufeld aus dem Jahr 1923. Dass Neufeld selbst diese Hauptrolle spielt, erscheint folgerichtig: Denn auch er ist als Sohn wandernder Schauspieler, müde von vielen Jahren der ständigen Reise und wechselnder Engagements, zu dieser Zeit endlich in Wien angekommen. Dort kann er sich als Schauspieler und Regisseur gefeierter Stummfilme etablieren – ein erster großer Höhepunkt seines turbulenten Lebens.
„Hoffmanns Erzählungen“ ist eine Adaption der gleichnamigen Oper von Jaques Offenbach. Basierend auf Erzählungen E.T.A. Hoffmanns verschmelzen biographische und phantastische Episoden zu einer traumhaften, schaurigen Abenteuerreise, die Hoffmann seinen Kumpanen an einem Abend im Wirtshaus erzählt. „Ich sah Dinge, so seltsam, dass sie dem Traume eines Narren entstammen könnten“, heißt es in einem Zwischentitel. Und tatsächlich betont Neufelds eindrucksvolle Bildsprache besonders die grotesken, geisterhaften Elemente aus den Erzählungen E.T.A. Hoffmanns.

Durch ein neu entdecktes Nitropositiv konnte der bisher nur in mangelhafter Qualität erhaltene Stummfilm nun digital restauriert werden. Zu der Premiere dieser neuen Fassung präsentiert das Konzerthausorchester Berlin beim Musikfest Berlin in Kooperation mit ARTE und dem Filmarchiv AUSTRIA einen Abend, der drei Jahrhunderte verbindet: Die Schauerromantik Hoffmanns trifft auf einen Meister des expressionistischen Stummfilms und eine Uraufführung des Komponisten Johannes Kalitzke.
In seinen hierfür komponierten „Beethoven-Variationen“ hat Kalitzke ebenfalls mehrere historische Ebenen in seine eigene Musiksprache integriert und spannt so den Bogen von Hoffmanns Zeitgenossen Beethoven zur Gegenwart. Der Kompositionsauftrag hierzu wurde zum Jubiläum des Konzerthaus Berlin vergeben, dessen Eröffnung sich in diesem Jahr zum 200. Mal jährt.

Konzertprogramm

Hoffmanns Erzählungen
Stummfilm von Max Neufeld (1887 – 1967) aus dem Jahr 1923
Musik von Johannes Kalitzke (*1959)

Kompositionsauftrag des Konzerthaus Berlin

Uraufführung

Eine Produktion zum 200-jährigen Jubiläum des Konzerthaus Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit ZDF/ARTE und dem Filmarchiv AUSTRIA

Veranstaltungen des Konzerthaus Berlin in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin