Concert

Orchestre des Champs-Élysées, Collegium Vocale Gent

Philippe Herreweghe, conductor
Fauré | Brahms | Stravinsky

Philippe Herreweghe has selected sacred music by three composers whose works are rarely performed together. Richly orchestrated highlights such as Stravinsky’s “Symphony of Psalms” and Fauré’s “Requiem” are flanked by by Brahms' early "Begräbnisgesang" for mixed choir and wind instruments.

Bell tower of the village of Graun, Italy, submerged in Lake Reschen

Bell tower of the village of Graun, Italy, submerged in Lake Reschen

© Charles01, Drowned Village Curon Venosta with Graveyard in, CC BY-SA 3.0

Past Dates

Programme booklet Orchestre des Champs-Élysée 06.09.2021 PDF, 2.6 MB

Concerts online
Live stream of the concert in the Digital Concert Hall,
available 6 September 2021, 20:00
Recording of the concert at Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
available 7 September 2021, 16:00 – 8 September 2021, 16:00

Stravinsky’s decision to compose a vocal symphony based on Latin psalm verses commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Boston Symphony Orchestra irritated audiences in 1930. How did the bon vivant of objectivity and religion fit together? Russian composers up to Shostakovich referred more often, more or less openly, to old biblical poems, poetic musings on transcendence. In his choice of texts and the style of setting them to music, Stravinsky was entering a dimension beyond the religious: The psalms predate the first schism of the scriptural religions (the separation of Christianity from Judaism), while he referenced orthodox modes in the two outer movements and Western church traditions in the fugal second movement.

Brahms composed this choral work at the age of 25, during his stay in Detmold, where he worked from 1857 to 1859 not only as a pianist and piano teacher, but also as a choir director and conductor. During this time, he was intensively involved with early music and an echo of his preoccupation with Bach can still be heard.

Gabriel Fauré did not choose to write a work of horror with his Requiem, but of hope for a transformation. He thus placed himself in a discussion in which Brahms also participated with his Requiem and Mahler with his “Resurrection Symphony”. The spiritual nerve points resemble those in Stravinsky’s “Symphony of Psalms”: lamentation, supplication, praise of God, salvation.

In ecclesiastical practice, requiems were celebrated not only for funerals but also for commemoration. Seen in this light, this concert is a requiem for Stravinsky, with larger pieces serving as the framework to Brahms "Bgräbnisgesang" as the middle. In "Begräbnisgesang" Brahms does refer to this tradition of funeral music and deleted the strings from the score. Nevertheless this choral work is not exclusively tied to church practice. He wrote to his publisher: "We sing not merely at the grave and not from the grave, but for the funeral and in memory of the funeral." Robert Schumann died in 1856 and the choral work is to be understood as a commemoration of his friend and patron.

Philippe Herreweghe, the artist well versed in history, juxtaposes Stravinsky in constellations rarely considered.

Concert Programme

Gabriel Fauré (1845 – 1924)
Requiem op. 48 (Original Version from 1893)
for soprano, baritone, choir and orchestra

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)
Begräbnisgesang op. 13 (1858)
for mixed choir and wind instruments

Igor Stravinsky (1882 – 1971)
Symphony of Psalms (1930, rev. 1948)
for choir and orchestra

The concerts dedicated to Igor Stravinsky and Carlo Gesualdo on 31 August, 6, 8, 13 and 15 September are funded by means of the Capital City Cultural Fund and the Aventis Foundation


Logo Hauptstadtkulturfonds     Logo Aventis Foundation

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Konzert

Orchestre des Champs-Élysées, Collegium Vocale Gent

Philippe Herreweghe, Leitung
Fauré | Brahms | Strawinsky

Geistliche Musik von drei Komponisten, deren Werke selten zusammen erklingen, hat Philippe Herreweghe hier zusammengestellt. Strawinskys „Psalmensinfonie“ und Faurés „Requiem“ als großbesetzte Rahmenpunkte werden flankiert von Brahms' frühen Werk „Begräbnisgesang" für gemischten Chor und Blasinstrumente..

Glockenturm der im Reschensee versunkenen Ortschaft Graun, Italien

Glockenturm der im Reschensee versunkenen Ortschaft Graun, Italien

© Charles01, Drowned Village Curon Venosta with Graveyard in, CC BY-SA 3.0

Vergangene Termine

Abendprogramm Orchestre des Champs-Élysée 06.09.2021 PDF, 2,6 MB

Konzerte online
Livestream des Konzerts in der Digital Concert Hall,
verfügbar am 6. September 2021, 20:00
Aufzeichnung des Konzerts auf Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
verfügbar 7. September 2021, 16:00 – 8. September 2021, 16:00

Strawinskys Entscheidung, zum 50-jährigen Bestehen des Boston Symphony Orchestra ein vokalsymphonisches Werk um lateinische Psalmverse zu komponieren, irritierte 1930. Der Bonvivant der Sachlichkeit und die Religion – wie passte das zusammen? Auf alte biblische Dichtungen, poetische Übungen über die Transzendenz, bezogen sich russische Komponist*innen bis hin zu Schostakowitsch häufiger, mehr oder weniger offen. Mit der Wahl der Texte und der Art, wie er sie komponierte, steuerte Strawinsky eine Dimension jenseits der Religionen an: Die Psalmen stammen aus einer Zeit vor dem ersten Schisma der Schriftreligionen (der Lösung der Christen vom Judentum), in den Rahmenteilen nahm er auf musikalische Modelle aus der orthodoxen, im fugierten Mittelteil auf Traditionen in den Westkirchen Bezug.

Brahms komponierte dieses Chorwerk als 25-Jähriger, während seines Aufenthaltes in Detmold, wo er von 1857 bis 1859 nicht nur als Pianist und Klavierlehrer, sondern auch als Chorleiter und Dirigent wirkte. Während dieser Zeit beschäftigte er sich intensiv mit Alter Musik und ein Nachhall seiner Beschäftigung mit Bach ist noch zu hören.

Mit seinem Requiem schrieb Gabriel Fauré kein Werk des Schreckens, sondern der Hoffnung auf eine Transformation. Damit stellte er sich in eine Diskussion, an der auch Brahms mit seinem Requiem und Mahler mit seiner „Auferstehungssymphonie“ teilhatten. Die spirituellen Nervenpunkte gleichen denen in Strawinskys „Psalmensymphonie“: Klagen, Bitten, Gotteslob, Errettung.

In der kirchlichen Praxis wurden Requien nicht nur zum Begräbnis, sondern auch zum Gedenken zelebriert. So betrachtet, ist dieses Konzert ein Requiem für Strawinsky mit größeren Stücken als Rahmen und Brahms' frühen Chorwerk als Mitte. Brahms bezieht sich im „Begräbnisgesang“ auf die Tradition der Begräbnismusik und strich die Streicher aus der Partitur. Dennoch ist das Werk nicht ausschließlich an die kirchliche Praxis gebunden. So schreibt er an seinen Verleger: „Wir singen nicht bloß am Grab und nicht vom Grab, sondern zum Begräbnis und zum Andenken an das Begräbnis.“ 1856 verstarb Robert Schumann und das Chorwerk ist auch als ein Andenken an seinen Freund und Förderer zu verstehen.

Philippe Herreweghe, der geschichtskundige Künstler, stellt Strawinsky in Konstellationen, in denen er selten betrachtet wird.

Konzertprogramm

Gabriel Fauré (1845 – 1924)
Requiem op. 48 (Originalfassung von 1893)
für Sopran, Bariton, Chor und Orchester

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)
Begräbnisgesang op. 13 (1858)
für gemischten Chor und Blasinstrumente

Igor Strawinsky (1882 – 1971)
Psalmensinfonie (1930, rev. 1948)
für Chor und Orchester
dem Boston Symphony Orchestra gewidmet

Die Igor Strawinsky und Carlo Gesualdo gewidmeten Gastspielkonzerte am 31. August, 6., 8., 13. und 15. September werden gefördert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds und der Aventis Foundation.

Logo Hauptstadtkulturfonds     Logo Aventis Foundation

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin