Concert

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Sweelinck | Kurtág | Andre

Two solo concerts provide deep insights into the work of the composer Mark Andre. In the first concert, Pierre-Laurent Aimard presents Andre's soundscapes against a backdrop of historical and geographical contrasts with new works by the Hungarian György Kurtág and the "Fantasia Chromatica" by Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck.

Dutch Ruff, 17th century, detail

Dutch Ruff, 17th century, detail

© Author unknown, Plooikraag, fraise à la confusion, CC0 1.0

The New York times hailed Pierre-Laurent Aimard as “a brilliant musician and extraordinary visionary". Which raises the question of how exactly the pianist is able to look further or deeper than other interpreters. Perhaps it is his ability to shed new light on the old and to contemplate the new in light of the old? In this programme, Pierre-Laurent Aimard builds a bridge that spans almost 400 years of music history. From the Dutch organ master Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck to the Hungarian György Kurtág to the fragile sound fabrics of the Berliner-by-choice Mark Andre.
In doing so, it becomes apparent that proximity and distance can be measured neither by temporal nor geographical boundaries. Mark Andre, who presents the confined interior of the piano as though it were an infinite landscape, has studied the Dutch composers' music intensively and thus laid the foundation for his own creative work. Traces of the past are also omnipresent in György Kurtág’s piano cosmos. In his miniatures, music history is unleashed, every impression leaving traces. If you like, you can discover an entire web of references in them – or abandon yourself to the enchanting poetry of these enigmatic "games", an ever-growing body of piano pieces.

Concert Programme

Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck (1562 – 1621)
Fantasia Cromatica
and other works

György Kurtág (*1926)
New and previously unpublished
compositions from the last few years

Mark Andre (*1964)
Contrapunctus (1998/99)
for piano

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event

Konzert

Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Sweelinck | Kurtág | Andre

Zwei Solokonzerte geben tiefe Einblicke in das Werk des Komponisten Mark Andre. Pierre-Laurent Aimard stellt im ersten Konzert Andres Klangwelten vor eine historische und geographische Kontrastfolie mit neuen Werken des Ungarn György Kurtág und der „Fantasia Chromatica“ von Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck.

Niederländische Halskrause aus dem 17. Jahrhundert, Ausschnitt

Niederländische Halskrause aus dem 17. Jahrhundert, Ausschnitt

© Autor unbekannt, Plooikraag, fraise à la confusion, CC0 1.0

„Ein brillanter Musiker und außergewöhnlicher Visionär“, so feiert die New York Times den Pianisten Pierre-Laurent Aimard. Womit die Frage im Raum steht, wo genau der Pianist weiter oder tiefer blickt als andere Interpreten. Vielleicht ist es seine Gabe, Altes in neues Licht zu setzen und Neues im Licht des Alten zu betrachten? In diesem Programm schlägt Pierre-Laurent Aimard eine Brücke, die fast 400 Jahre Musikgeschichte überspannt. Vom niederländischen Orgelmeister Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck über den Ungarn György Kurtág zu den fragilen Klanggeweben des Wahlberliners Mark Andre.
Dabei zeigt sich, dass sich Nähe und Ferne weder an zeitlichen noch an geographischen Abständen messen lassen. Mark Andre, der den begrenzten Innenraum des Klaviers wie eine unendliche Landschaft inszeniert, hat die Musik der alten Niederländer intensiv studiert und damit das Fundament seines eigenen Schaffens gelegt. Auch im Klavierkosmos von György Kurtág sind die Spuren der Vergangenheit allgegenwärtig. In seinen Miniaturen entlädt sich die Musikgeschichte, jeder Eindruck hinterlässt Spuren. Wer will, entdeckt darin ganze Netzwerke von Bezügen – oder überlässt sich der berückenden Poesie dieser rätselhaften „Spiele“, einer unablässig wachsenden Sammlung von Klavierstücken.

Konzertprogramm

Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck (1562 – 1621)
Fantasia Cromatica
und weitere Werke

György Kurtág (*1926)
Neue und bislang nicht publizierte
Kompositionen aus den letzten Jahren

Mark Andre (*1964)
Contrapunctus (1998/99)
für Klavier

Besetzung

Pierre-Laurent Aimard Klavier

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin