Concert

Berliner Philharmoniker

Jakub Hrůša, conductor
Neuwirth (WP) | Bruckner

Musical calligram is what Olga Neuwirth has called her work “Keyframes for a Hippogriff”, presented for the first time by the Berliner Philharmoniker under the direction of Jakub Hrůša. A play of ambiguity rich in allusions, which also characterises the numerous versions of Bruckner’s symphonies.

Olga Neuwirth

Olga Neuwirth

© Harald Hoffmann

Past Dates

Concerts online
Live stream of the concert in the Digital Concert Hall,
available 11 September 2021, 19:00
Recording of the concert not available at Musikfest Berlin on Demand.

Innovation is more than just a prologue to convention. It opens up new perspectives. In Olga Neuwirth’s compositions they originate from and invariably point in several directions. Unambiguity is not in the nature of art. Neuwirth “creates a multisensorial web of references by incorporating not only musical elements, but also elements from daily life, literature, science and film. Her works are journeys in time and space. Sometimes they cite the past (she calls this ‘spaces of memory’) and mean the present. Using snippets of various genres, she creates a web that draws listeners into a maelstrom of sensations” – thanks to the immediate impact of her music.

Art is unpredictable, its unambiguity often merely a combination of desire and appearance. Take Anton Bruckner, for example: there are several versions, and not only of his Fourth Symphony. The question as to which version is the accepted one had long been met with a reference to the “final” version. But often, others aside from Bruckner were at work here. For this reason, among others, the approach of viewing the various versions as different takes on a single creative concept became more and more prevalent. In the Fourth Symphony, the commemorative spaces that Bruckner hints at in its subtitle “Romantic” are also explored differently in each case. It is not so much the work’s beginning with its summoning horn, as the approach to its finale that is different. The cheerful character of the first two versions recedes and darkens in the third, the grand final gesture stretches into the twilight.

Concert Programme

Olga Neuwirth (*1968)
Keyframes for a Hippogriff
Musical Calligrams in memoriam Hester Diamond
for Countertenor, Children’s Choir and Orchestra (2019)

Commissioned by the Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker together with the New York Philharmonic and the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
World premiere

Anton Bruckner (1824 – 1896)
Symphoniy No. 4 in E flat major WAB 104 (version 1878/1880)

Cast

Andrew Watts countertenor

Tölzer Knabenchor
Michael Hofstetter coach
Berliner Philharmoniker
Jakub Hrůša conductor

Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker events in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Konzert

Berliner Philharmoniker

Jakub Hrůša, Leitung
Neuwirth (UA) | Bruckner

Ein musikalisches Kalligramm hat Olga Neuwirth ihr Werk „Keyframes for a Hippogriff“ genannt, das die Berliner Philharmoniker unter Jakub Hrůša erstmals aufführen. Ein bezugsreiches Spiel der Vieldeutigkeit, welches auch die verschiedenen Fassungen der Brucknersinfonien kennzeichnet.

Olga Neuwirth

Olga Neuwirth

© Harald Hoffmann

Vergangene Termine

Musikfest Berlin Digital – Konzertmitschnitte online
Livestream des Konzerts in der Digital Concert Hall,
verfügbar am 11. September 2021, 19:00
Aufzeichnung des Konzerts nicht auf Musikfest Berlin on Demand verfügbar.

Das Neue ist mehr als ein Vorspruch zum Tradierten. Es setzt die Perspektiven. In Olga Neuwirths Kompositionen kommen sie aus und weisen sie stets in mehrere Richtungen. Eindeutigkeit entspricht nicht dem Wesen der Kunst. Neuwirth „schafft ein vielsinniges Beziehungsnetz, indem sie nicht nur musikalische, sondern auch Elemente aus dem täglichen Leben, aus Literatur, Wissenschaft und Film einbezieht. Ihre Werke sind Reisen in Zeit und Raum. Manchmal zitieren sie Vergangenes (sie nennt dies ‚Räume der Erinnerung‘) und meinen die Gegenwart. Aus Schnipseln unterschiedlichster Art entsteht ein Geflecht, das die Hörer in einen Mahlstrom der Empfindungen zieht“ – durch die unmittelbare Wirkung ihrer Musik.

Kunst ist unberechenbar, ihre Eindeutigkeit oft nur eine Mischung aus Wunsch und Anschein. Beispiel Anton Bruckner: Nicht nur von seiner Vierten Symphonie existieren mehrere Fassungen. Welche die gültige sei, wurde lange mit dem Hinweis auf die Version „letzter Hand“ beantwortet. Doch bei ihr waren oft noch andere Hände als Bruckners eigene am Werk. Unter anderem deshalb setzte sich mehr und mehr die Haltung durch, die verschiedenen Fassungen als unterschiedliche Ansichten einer Werkidee zu betrachten. Bei der Vierten werden auch die Erinnerungsräume, die Bruckner im Untertitel „Die Romantische“ andeutet, jeweils anders ausgeleuchtet. Unterschiedlich gerät weniger der Aufbruch des Werkes mit seinen auffordernden Hornrufen, sondern vor allem die Ankunft im Finale. Der heitere Charakter der ersten beiden Versionen erscheint in der dritten zurückgenommen und eingedunkelt, die große Schlussgeste reckt sich ins Zwielicht.

Konzertprogramm

Olga Neuwirth (*1968)
Keyframes for a Hippogriff
Musical Calligrams in memoriam Hester Diamond
für Countertenor, Kinderchor und Orchester (2019)

Auftragswerk der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker gemeinsam mit dem New York Philharmonic und dem Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
Uraufführung

Anton Bruckner (1824 – 1896)
Symphonie Nr. 4 Es-Dur WAB 104 (Fassung 1878/1880)

Besetzung

Andrew Watts Countertenor

Tölzer Knabenchor
Michael Hofstetter Einstudierung
Berliner Philharmoniker
Jakub Hrůša Leitung

Veranstaltungen der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin