Concert

Ensemble Mini

Joolz Gale, conductor
Bartók | Stravinsky

Large orchestral works arranged for a small ensemble – with Ensemble Mini, it’s all in the name. In keeping with the festival's central theme, the ensemble will perform two of Stravinsky’s symphonic works, composed under difficult conditions during the Second World War.

Joolz Gale

Joolz Gale

© Gavin Evans

Past Dates

Programme booklet Ensemble Mini 12.09.2021 PDF, 2.4 MB

Concerts online
Live stream of the concert in the Digital Concert Hall,
available 12 September 2021, 11:00
Recording of the concert at Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
available 13 September 2021, 16:00 – 23 September 2021, 16:00

When he founded the Ensemble Mini in 2010, conductor Joolz Gale set out to bring large scores to life with small ensembles. He wanted to perform with fewer than 20 musicians what would otherwise require 60, 80 or even more musicians. For his venture, he enlisted leading members of the best orchestras. While many were sceptical about his plans, audiences were amazed by the results. The arrangements of massive works such as Mahler's Tenth not only sounded more transparent, allowing many a detail to appear vividly that might have been lost amidst the large sound; they also captured the play of colour that contributed to the original's effect, and they captured its atmosphere. These transcriptions have nothing pedagogical about them, but rather verve, knowledge, and intellectual enjoyment. The musicians hold the original form in their mind's ear and they know how to apply the art on which the effect of music is essentially based: that of suggestion.

After Mahler, Strauss, Prokofiev, Shostakovich, Bruckner and Bartók, the ensemble now turns its attention to the final two of Stravinsky's five symphonies. Both were written during critical times. The Symphony in C in four movements was begun in Paris after his sister-in-law, daughter, wife and mother had died within the space of eight months; it was continued in an Alpine lung sanatorium and completed in the USA. Stravinsky later said that he still remembered in which phase of World War II each respective movement was composed. The power of art is proven in its independence from the disastrous course of history: encouraging those who arrange the music to highlight its poignancy, a quality close to Stravinsky's heart in any case.

Concert Programme

Igor Stravinsky (1882 – 1971)
Symphony in C (1938 – 1940)
arranged for chamber orchestra by Joolz Gale based on the original version for orchestra (2020),
commissioned by Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.

Béla Bartók (1881 – 1945)
Violin Concerto No. 1 Sz 36 (1907/08)
arranged for chamber orchestra by Joolz Gale based on the original version for orchestra (2021),
commissioned by Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.

Igor Stravinsky
Symphony in Three Movements (1946)
arranged for chamber orchestra by Joolz Gale based on the original version for orchestra (2021),
commissioned by Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin.

A Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin event.

Konzert

Ensemble Mini

Joolz Gale, Leitung
Bartók | Strawinsky

Große Orchesterwerke arrangiert für kleine Ensemblebesetzung – beim Ensemble Mini ist der Name Programm. Passend zum Festivalschwerpunkt ist das Ensemble mit zwei symphonischen Werken Strawinskys zu Gast, die während des Zweiten Weltkriegs unter schwierigen Verhältnissen komponiert wurden.

Joolz Gale

Joolz Gale

© Gavin Evans

Vergangene Termine

Abendprogramm Ensemble Mini 12.09.2021 PDF, 2,4 MB

Konzerte online
Livestream des Konzerts in der Digital Concert Hall,
verfügbar am 12. September 2021, 11:00
Aufzeichnung des Konzerts auf Musikfest Berlin on Demand,
verfügbar 13. September 2021, 16:00 – 23. September 2021, 16:00

Große Partituren mit kleinen Ensembles zum Klingen zu bringen, nahm sich der Dirigent Joolz Gale vor, als er 2010 das Ensemble Mini gründete. Wofür sonst 60, 80 oder noch mehr Musiker*innen auf dem Podium sitzen, das wollte er mit weniger als 20 verwirklichen. Für sein Vorhaben gewann er führende Mitglieder der besten Orchester. Die skeptische Neugier, mit der viele seinem Vorhaben begegneten, wandelte sich bei den Auditorien in begeistertes Erstaunen. Die Bearbeitungen von Riesenwerken wie Mahlers Zehnter klangen nicht nur transparenter, ließen manches Detail plastisch erscheinen, das im großen Klang unterzugehen drohte; sie trafen auch das Spiel der Farben, das die Wirkung des Originals mit ausmachte, und sie fingen dessen Atmosphäre ein. Nichts Pädagogisches wirkt in diesen Transkriptionen, sondern Elan, Kenntnis und geistiges Vergnügen. Die Musiker*innen haben die Ursprungsgestalt im Ohr und sie verstehen sich auf die Kunst, auf der die Wirkung der Musik wesentlich beruht: die Suggestion.

Nach Mahler, Strauss, Prokofjew, Schostakowitsch, Bruckner und Bartók nimmt sich das Ensemble nun die letzten beiden der fünf Strawinsky-Symphonien vor. Beide wurden in kritischer Zeit geschrieben. Die viersätzige in C wurde in Paris begonnen, nachdem innerhalb von acht Monaten Schwägerin, Tochter, Frau und Mutter gestorben waren, fortgesetzt im alpinen Lungensanatorium, vollendet in den USA. Von der dreisätzigen letzten meinte Strawinsky später, er habe noch für jede Passage das Stadium des Zweiten Weltkriegs in Erinnerung, in dem sie komponiert wurde. Bei beiden wurde das existenzielle Erleben nicht zum inneren Programm. Die Kunst bewährt ihre Kraft in der Eigenständigkeit gegenüber dem Katastrophengang der Geschichte: eine Ermunterung für die Bearbeiter, die Scharfzeichnung der Musik, die Strawinsky ohnehin am Herzen lag, zu betonen.

Konzertprogramm

Igor Strawinsky (1882 – 1971)
Symphonie in C (1938 – 1940)
bearbeitet von Joolz Gale für Kammerensemble, basierend auf der Originalfassung für Orchester (2020), im Auftrag der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Béla Bartók (1881 – 1945)
Violinkonzert Nr. 1 Sz 36 (1907/08)
bearbeitet von Joolz Gale für Kammerensemble, basierend auf der Originalfassung für Orchester (2021), im Auftrag der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Igor Strawinsky
Symphony in 3 Sätzen (1946)
bearbeitet von Joolz Gale für Kammerensemble, basierend auf der Originalfassung für Orchester (2021), im Auftrag der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Eine Veranstaltung der Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin