Concert

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko, conductor
Hartmann | Stravinsky

Stravinsky achieved fame virtually overnight at the age of 27 with the Paris premiere of his ballet music “The Firebird”. Around 30 years later, Karl Amadeus Hartmann composed his highly expressive “Concerto funebre”, which in turn never stood a chance of being performed during the National Socialist era.

The composer Karl Amadeus Hartmann with his wife Elisabeth Hartmann and Igor Stravinsky, 1950

The composer Karl Amadeus Hartmann with his wife Elisabeth Hartmann and Igor Stravinsky, 1950

© akg images

Past Dates

Concerts online
Live stream of the concert in the Digital Concert Hall,
available 18 September 2021, 19:00
Recording of the concert not available at Musikfest Berlin on Demand.

Stravinsky’s often overlooked late work is the focus of this year’s Musikfest Berlin. The Berliner Philharmoniker, under their principal conductor, provide a foil for comparison: the complete ballet music “The Firebird”, which made its composer famous at a young age and allowed him to remain famous. The anecdote that he was addressed as Mr. Firebird in the USA remains indelible. It was Karl Amadeus Hartmann who, in a radio contribution on Stravinsky’s 80th birthday, passionately advocated the perception and thinking of both creative periods as one. “One cannot appreciate the audacities of the young Stravinsky at all without an understanding of his late style.”

The two composers knew each other – at least since Hartmann championed the elder composer’s works as the music director of the Juryfreie Kunstausstellung in Munich in the early 1930s. In the concert series musica viva , which he founded in the autumn of 1945 and directed until his death in December 1963, the full range of Stravinsky’s oeuvre was featured, for the first time on 7th June 1946, with the “Soldier’s Tale”. He himself was a guest in Munich several times. He appreciated Hartmann’s humanity, his moral character and his music. The Munich composer was probably the only composer of note who was able to achieve the much-vaunted internal emigration: none of his works was performed in Germany during the Nazi regime. Not even the “Concerto funebre” written in 1939.

The highly expressive Trauermusik for string ensemble and concert violin contains insightful allusions: to the Hussite chorale, to Hindemith’s Trauermusik for viola and strings from 1936, to Hartmann’s own First Symphony and his first, “Jewish” string quartet, to a funeral march of the workers’ movement engaged in dialogue with inflections and ornaments familiar to Hartmann from Jewish music and theatre groups. The victims of Nazi violence are commemorated in the panorama of mourning: occupied Czechoslovakia, people in exile, the workers’ movement and the victims of the Shoah. The composer takes the demanding solo part to heights where even singing with instruments hardly seems possible any more.

Concert Programme

Karl Amadeus Hartmann (1905 – 1963)
Concerto funebre (1939)
for violin and string orchestra

Igor Stravinsky (1882 – 1971)
The Firebird (Original version of 1910)

Events of the Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Konzert

Berliner Philharmoniker

Kirill Petrenko, Leitung
Hartmann | Strawinsky

Mit der Pariser Uraufführung seiner Ballettmusik „Der Feuervogel“ wurde Strawinsky als 27-Jähriger quasi über Nacht berühmt. Rund 30 Jahre später komponierte Karl Amadeus Hartmann sein hochexpressives „Concerto funebre“, welches wiederum zur Zeit des Nationalsozialismus keine Aussicht auf Aufführung hatte.

Der Komponist Karl Amadeus Hartmann mit seiner Frau Elisabeth Hartmann und Igor Strawinsky, 1950

Der Komponist Karl Amadeus Hartmann mit seiner Frau Elisabeth Hartmann und Igor Strawinsky, 1950

© akg images

Vergangene Termine

Musikfest Berlin Digital – Konzertmitschnitte online
Livestream des Konzerts in der Digital Concert Hall,
verfügbar am 18. September 2021, 19:00
Aufzeichnung des Konzerts nicht auf Musikfest Berlin on Demand verfügbar.

Strawinskys oft übergangenes Spätwerk steht im Zentrum des diesjährigen Musikfest Berlin. Die Berliner Philharmoniker halten ihm unter ihrem Chefdirigenten die Kontrastfolie entgegen: die vollständige Ballettmusik „Der Feuervogel“, die ihren Komponisten in jungen Jahren bekannt machte und später berühmt bleiben ließ. Unverwüstlich ist die Anekdote, dass er in den USA als Mr. Firebird angesprochen worden sein soll. Es war Karl Amadeus Hartmann, der in einem Rundfunkbeitrag zu Strawinskys 80. Geburtstag leidenschaftlich für die Zusammenschau und das Zusammendenken beider Schaffensperioden plädierte: „Man vermag die Kühnheiten des jungen Strawinsky ohne Verständnis für seinen Spätstil überhaupt nicht zu würdigen.“

Die beiden Komponisten kannten sich – spätestens seit Hartmann Anfang der 1930er-Jahre als Musikverantwortlicher der Juryfreien Kunstausstellung in München für die Werke des Älteren eintrat. In der Konzertreihe musica viva, die er im Herbst 1945 ins Leben rief und bis zu seinem Tod im Dezember 1963 leitete, war Strawinsky mit der ganzen Bandbreite seines Schaffens vertreten, zum ersten Mal am 7. Juni 1946 mit der „Geschichte vom Soldaten“. Mehrfach war er selbst in München zu Gast. An Hartmann schätzte er dessen Menschlichkeit, Moral und Musik. Als wohl einziger namhafter Komponist konnte der Münchener die viel beschworene Innere Emigration für sich in Anspruch nehmen: Während der NS-Herrschaft wurde kein Werk von ihm in Deutschland aufgeführt. Auch nicht das 1939 geschriebene „Concerto funebre“.

Die höchst expressive Trauermusik für ein Streicherensemble und konzertante Violine enthält aufschlussreiche Anspielungen: an den Hussitenchoral, an Hindemiths Trauermusik für Viola und Streicher von 1936, an Hartmanns eigene Erste Symphonie und sein erstes, „jüdisches“ Streichquartett, an einen Trauermarsch der Arbeiterbewegung im Dialog mit Wendungen und Ornamenten, wie Hartmann sie von jüdischen Musik- und Theatergruppen kannte. Im Panorama der Trauer wird der Opfer der NS-Gewalt gedacht: der überfallenen Tschechoslowakei, der Exilierten, der Arbeiterbewegung und der Opfer der Schoah. Den anspruchsvollen Solopart führt der Komponist in Höhen, in denen auch instrumentales Singen kaum mehr möglich erscheint.

Konzertprogramm

Karl Amadeus Hartmann (1905 – 1963)
Concerto funebre (1939)
für Violine und Streichorchester

Igor Strawinsky (1882 – 1971)
L'Oiseau de feu (Originale Fassung von 1910)

Veranstaltungen der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin