Concert

Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker

Matthias Pintscher, conductor
Iannotta | Pintscher | Streich | Schönberg

At the conclusion of Musikfest Berlin 2021, Matthias Pintscher and the Karajan Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker are virtually reaching for the stars. Whether in Pintscher’s “celestial object I”, Clara Iannotta’s “Intent on Resurrection” or Lisa Streich’s “HIMMEL” – the “"air from another planet” that Schönberg once sensed is evoked once again with this programme.

Coloured kites at the New Year flying in Tornesch, Fotograf: Frank Schwichtenberg

Coloured kites at the New Year flying in Tornesch. Photographer: Frank Schwichtenberg

© Huhu Uet, Bunte Drachen 01, CC BY 3.0

Past Dates

Concerts online
Live stream of the concert in the Digital Concert Hall,
available 20 September 2021, 20:00

Anyone interested in finding out what the Berliner Philharmoniker will sound like tomorrow and in the future should hear and experience the Karajan Academy. Around a third of today’s Philharmoniker musicians have emerged from the Academy, which Herbert von Karajan founded in the early 1970s. The extraterrestrial program of the scholarship recipients, however, already suggests a flight of fancy. Under the direction of the conductor and composer Matthias Pintscher, their eyes are set on the heavens. The Italian composer Clara Iannotta, who was awarded the Ernst von Siemens Composers’ Prize, makes her debut at the Musikfest Berlin and invites the ensemble to dream of resurrection with “Intent on Resurrection – Spring or Some Suich Thing”.

The 26-year-old Simon Höfele is the shooting star of the trumpet scene, leading the critic Eleonore Büning to marvel: “Such a firework of the unheard-of! Such a wealth of rhythms, timbres, voices, vocals!” At the Musikfest Berlin, he is a guest soloist launching Matthias Pintscher’s “celestial object” into orbit at the Berlin Philharmonie.

The dream of celestial music fires the imagination and is probably as old as the art of sound itself. “I feel air from another planet” – this line of poetry guided Arnold Schoenberg as he liberated himself and his music from the pathos of rigid conventions. His “First Chamber Symphony” symbolizes this new beginning and, at the same time, the dream of transcending earthly gravity.

Concert Programme

Clara Iannotta (*1983)
Intent on Resurrection – Spring or Some Such Thing (2014)
for 17 musicians

Matthias Pintscher (*1971)
celestial object I (2009)
from: sonic eclipse part one
for solo trumpet and ensemble

Lisa Streich (*1985)
HIMMEL (2021)
for ensemble

German premiere

Arnold Schönberg (1874 – 1951)
Chamber Symphony No. 1 (version 1907)
for 15 solo instruments

A Berliner Philharmoniker Foundation event in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Konzert

Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker

Matthias Pintscher, Leitung
Iannotta | Pintscher | Streich | Schönberg

Zum Abschluss des Musikfest Berlin 2021 greifen Matthias Pintscher und die Karajan-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker buchstäblich nach den Sternen. Ob in Pintschers „celestial object I“, Clara Iannottas „Intent on Resurrection“ oder Lisa Streichs „HIMMEL“ – die „Luft von anderem Planeten“, die Schönberg einst verspürte, wird mit diesem Programm wieder heraufbeschworen.

Bunte Drachen beim Neujahrsfliegen in Tornesch, Fotograf: Frank Schwichtenberg

Bunte Drachen beim Neujahrsfliegen in Tornesch. Fotograf: Frank Schwichtenberg

© Huhu Uet, Bunte Drachen 01, CC BY 3.0

Wer wissen will, wie die Berliner Philharmoniker morgen und übermorgen klingen, sollte die Karajan-Akademie hören und erleben. Rund ein Drittel der heutigen Philharmoniker*innen sind aus der Akademie hervorgegangen, die Herbert von Karajan Anfang der 1970er Jahre gegründet hat. Auf einen Höhenflug deutet aber bereits das extraterrestrische Programm der Stipendiat*innen hin. Unter der Leitung des Dirigenten und Komponisten Matthias Pintscher richten sich die Blicke gen Himmel. Die mit dem Ernst von Siemens Komponist*innenpreis ausgezeichnete Italienerin Clara Iannotta gibt ihr Debüt beim Musikfest Berlin und lässt das Ensemble in „Intent on Resurrection – Spring or Some Such Thing“ von der Auferstehung träumen.

Der 26-jährige Simon Höfele ist der Shooting-Star der Trompetenszene, über den die Kritikerin Eleonore Büning staunt: „Welche ein Feuerwerk an Unerhörtem! Welche Fülle an Rhythmen, Klangfarben, Stimmen, Gesängen!“ Beim Musikfest Berlin ist er als Solist zu Gast in der Berliner Philharmonie und lässt Matthias Pintschers „celestial object“ in den Orbit steigen.

Der Traum von einer Himmelsmusik beflügelt die Phantasie und ist wahrscheinlich so alt wie die Klangkunst selbst. „Ich fühle Luft von anderem Planeten“ – diese Gedichtzeile begleitete Arnold Schönberg, als er sich und seine Musik vom Pathos erstarrter Konventionen befreite. Seine „Erste Kammersymphonie“ steht für diesen Aufbruch und damit zugleich für den Traum von der Überwindung der irdischen Schwerkraft.

Konzertprogramm

Clara Iannotta (*1983)
Intent on Resurrection – Spring or Some Such Thing (2014)
für 17 Musiker*innen

Matthias Pintscher (*1971)
celestial object I
aus: sonic eclipse part one (2009)
für Trompete solo und Ensemble

Lisa Streich (*1985)
HIMMEL (2021)
für Ensemble

Deutsche Erstaufführung

Arnold Schönberg (1874 – 1951)
Kammersymphonie Nr. 1 (Fassung von 1907)
für 15 Soloinstrumente

Eine Veranstaltung der Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker in Kooperation mit Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin