Exhibition

Takeover

Plastik hört auf Pilz (Plastic Catches Mushroom)

7 June to 26 September 2021

Seeing and understanding the world through children’s eyes – the exhibition Takeover explores this desire. It’s a collaboration between the Gropius Bau and the Stiftung Brandenburger Tor, the Cultural Foundation of Berliner Sparkasse.

Kids curate_Takeover

© very

Digital Exhibition Opening
Watch the video of the opening here

Dark spaces, the exhibition as game, interactions between light and water, movement and shadows, and the interplay of sound and nature: developing these themes, Berlin primary school students curate their own exhibitions with works by Berlin artists. This summer, students from Picasso-Grundschule primary school will start things off with Takeover. Plastik hört auf Pilz (Plastic Catches Mushroom) at the Gropius Bau’s south terrace, featuring artists Roberta Busechian and Tue Greenfort. Mushroom versus plastic or mushroom as plastic and can you actually hear nature growing?

Takeover. Plastik hört auf Pilz (Plastic Catches Mushroom)

Get Creative

Colouring page

You can get creative yourself with this colouring page: What could grow from the sculptures in the exhibition?

Download the colouring page here PDF, 281 KB

“I wish mushrooms could be used to fight pollution.”
— Alexandra, Wilma and Lilly, Picasso primary school
“I wish you could hear a tune when you see an artwork.”
— Etienne, Picasso primary school
“I am alive. I am diverse. I am a living organism.”
— Adrijan, Picasso primary school

Roberta Busechian

Biography

Roberta Busechian (*1990, Trieste, Italy) is a sound artist and researcher. Since 2014 she is based in Berlin and teaches theory, practice, and sonic activism in sound art. Her interests include the effects of listening in creating common aggregation points in physical space, especially the technological possibilities of virtually connected urban spaces through live stream and time shift. She has exhibited and performed in Europe and the USA.

Read more

Roberta Busechian

Roberta Busechian

photo: Roberta Busechian

Tue Greenfort

Biography

Tue Greenfort (*1973, Holbæk, Denmark) studied art in Odense and at the Staatliche Hochschule für Bildende Künste – Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main (with Thomas Bayrle). His works span across the triangle human – nature – environment and use various artistic media. International solo and group exhibitions made his art widely known. From 2011–2013 he was a professor at Funen Art Academy in Odense. Tue Greenfort lives and works in Denmark and Berlin.

Read more

Tue Greenfort

Tue Greenfort

photo: Annette Greenfort

Participating schools
48. Grundschule, Pankow
Carl-Humann-Grundschule, Prenzlauer Berg
Heinrich-von-Stephan-Gemeinschaftsschule, Moabit
Picasso Grundschule, Weissensee

Educators: Hans Youssuf Kiesler, Kolja Kohlhoff, Merle Richter
Curatorial management: Julia Moritz
Project lead at the Gropius Bau: Jenny Sréter
Project lead at Stiftung Brandenburger Tor: Caroline Armand
Project lead at Picasso Grundschule: Silke Kästner

Takeover is an exhibition within the framework of Kids Curate_Takeover, a project by the Stiftung Brandenburger Tor and the Gropius Bau.

Ausstellung

Takeover

Plastik hört auf Pilz

7. Juni bis 29. August 2021

Die Welt aus Kinderaugen sehen und verstehen – diesem Wunsch folgt die Ausstellung Takeover. Sie ist eine Zusammenarbeit des Gropius Bau mit der Stiftung Brandenburger Tor, der Kulturstiftung der Berliner Sparkasse.

Kinder kuratieren_Takeover

© very

Digitale Ausstellungseröffnung
Sonntag, 6. Juni 2021, 15:00
Via Zoom

Dunkle Räume, die Ausstellung als Spiel, das Zusammenwirken von Licht und Wasser, Bewegung und Schatten sowie das Zusammenspiel von Klang und Natur: Für diese Themen entschieden sich Berliner Grundschüler*innen und kuratierten ihre eigenen Ausstellungen mit Werken von Berliner Künstler*innen. Den Auftakt macht diesen Sommer die Picasso Grundschule mit Takeover. Plastik hört auf Pilz auf dem Südplatz des Gropius Bau – mit den Künstler*innen Roberta Busechian und Tue Greenfort. Pilz versus Plastik oder Pilz als Plastik und kann man Natur eigentlich wachsen hören? Das ist hier die Frage.

„Ich wünsche mir, dass Pilze als Waffe gegen die Umweltverschmutzung eingesetzt werden können.“
— Alexandra, Wilma und Lilly, Picasso Grundschule
„Ich wünsche mir, dass man zu einem Kunstwerk eine Melodie hört.“
— Etienne, Picasso Grundschule
„Ich bin lebendig. Ich bin vielfältig. Ich bin ein Lebewesen.“
— Adrijan, Picasso Grundschule

Roberta Busechian

Biografie

Roberta Busechian (*1990, Triest, Italien) ist Klangkünstlerin und Forscherin. Seit 2014 lebt sie in Berlin und lehrt Theorie, Praxis und Aktivismus in der Klangkunst. Sie interessiert sich für das Zuhören und seine Auswirkungen. Dafür schafft sie gemeinsame Sammlungspunkte im Raum. Ihre Arbeit beschäftigt sich auch mit den technologischen Möglichkeiten durch Live-Streaming und die Zeitverschiebung virtuell verbundener Stadträume. Roberta Busechians Performances und Installationen wurden in Europa und in den USA präsentiert.

Mehr erfahren

Roberta Busechian

Roberta Busechian

Foto: Roberta Busechian

Tue Greenfort

Biografie

Tue Greenfort (*1973, Holbæk, Dänemark) studierte Kunst in Odense und an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Bildende Künste – Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main (bei Thomas Bayrle). Seine Arbeiten bewegen sich in dem Dreieck Mensch – Natur – Umwelt und verwenden verschiedene künstlerische Medien. Internationale Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen machten seine Kunst bekannt. Von 2011–2013 war er Professor an der Funen Art Academy in Odense. Tue Greenfort lebt und arbeitet in Dänemark und Berlin.

Mehr erfahren

Tue Greenfort

Tue Greenfort

Foto: Annette Greenfort

Teilnehmende Berliner Schulen
48. Grundschule, Pankow
Carl-Humann-Grundschule, Prenzlauer Berg
Heinrich-von-Stephan-Gemeinschaftsschule, Moabit
Picasso Grundschule, Weißensee

Vermittler*innen: Hans Youssuf Kiesler, Kolja Kohlhoff, Merle Richter
Kuratorische Betreuung: Julia Moritz
Projektleitung Gropius Bau: Jenny Sréter
Projektleitung Stiftung Brandenburger Tor: Caroline Armand
Projektleitung Picasso Grundschule: Silke Kästner

Takeover ist eine Ausstellung im Rahmen von Kinder kuratieren_Takeover, einem Projekt der Stiftung Brandenburger Tor und des Gropius Bau