Installation

Emeka Ogboh. Ámà: The Gathering Place

A Village Square in the Gropius Bau’s Atrium

20 October 2021 to 3 July 2022

Since October 2021, a site-specific installation by artist Emeka Ogboh has been occupying the Gropius Bau’s vast atrium, which is freely accessible without an entry price, welcoming all visitors to the very center of the building.

Emeka Ogboh, Ámà: The Gathering Place, 2021, installation view, Gropius Bau, Berlin

Emeka Ogboh, Ámà: The Gathering Place, 2021, installation view, Gropius Bau, Berlin

photo: Luca Girardini

Titled Ámà: The Gathering Place (2019/2021), Ogboh’s intervention takes the form of a tree, over 9 metres high, and includes an accompanying 12-channel sound installation as well as textile elements. The work takes as a point of departure the “ámà”, or “village square” in Igbo. These sites are the physical and symbolic centres of life in Igbo society, spaces for gathering where ceremonies, entertainment, trade and everyday social exchange occur. Ámà: The Gathering Place takes inspiration from these sites and transforms the atrium into a space for respite and ritual, all amid the backdrop of recordings of an ensemble singing traditional Igbo folk songs addressing universal human concerns such as relationships, hope and mythical worldviews. In addition to sculptural and sound elements, viewers will be invited to spend time in this multisensory installation on traditional Akwétè cloths, designed by contemporary Nigerian graphic designers and traditional weavers, which will also cover the work’s central sculpture. The work is a demonstration of how semi-public spaces, from village squares to institutional open spaces, can be recuperated as sites of conviviality, care, celebration, reflection and exchange.

As part of the installation, together with the Berlin-based brewery BRLO, Emeka Ogboh has developed the conceptual craft beer Ámà, which includes local ingredients and herbs. The beer will be available from this autumn at the Beba Restaurant and the bookshop at the Gropius Bau.

To the Turkish translation of the introductory text.

About Emeka Ogboh

Emeka Ogboh is an artist whose practice engages with space, and public and private memory, through varying media including sound, sculpture and gastronomy. His interests lie in the interlinkage between communal, private and public culture and their reification through sound and food. He has recently presented works at Friche la Belle de Mai Marseille (2021), the Dresden’s Museum für Völkerkunde (2020), Kunstmuseum Ravensburg (2020), Museum Tinguely, Basel (2019) and Cleveland Museum of Art (2019), among others.

Choir: J Clef Choral with Danlami Baba, Chinecherem Ezeonyenche, Uche Iwuala, Vivian Nwachukwu, Evangeline Nwankwo, Nnaemeka Nwokocha, Ugonna Okonkwo, Ezinne Okoye, Chukwuebuka Ozioko, Blaise Uwagu, Ifeanyi Uzoigwe, Michael Uzomah
Production: Uche Agbamegbue, Austinmary Ifunanya Eze, Kelechi Eze, Uchechukwu Eze, Justin Geller, Fernandez Muogbo, Jude Nwankwo (lead arranger), Nse Ukpe Udo, Michael Uzomah
Tree design: Agence Clémence Farrell
Tree production: Taylor Studios
Akwétè weavers: Rodah Ajiere, Leticia Akara, Chisom Amaechi, Eziuche Benson, Nne Brown, Comfort Chuta, Edna Chuta, Gladys Chuta, Ruth Chuta, Odinakachi Edward, Monica Ejioffor, Nwanyikanalu George, Nwobiara George, Chijindu Ibeh, Harriate Maduawuchi, Chimezie Ndubuisi, Ngozi Dan Nkwonta (Koordinatorin), Nkechi Nwankwo, Ezinne Nwulu, Chinasa Obi, Ihuoma Obiakwa, Nwanyinna Okerenta, Ibiere Opiah, Chinyere Sopuruchi, Nwamara Ugochukwu
Sound engineer: Julian Grefe

Funded by

Logo Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien null

Installation

Emeka Ogboh. Ámà: The Gathering Place

Ein Dorfplatz im Lichthof des Gropius Bau

20. Oktober 2021 bis 16. Januar 2022

Ab Oktober 2021 ist im frei zugänglichen Lichthof des Gropius Bau eine ortsspezifische Installation des Künstlers Emeka Ogboh zu sehen, die mit skulpturalen und klanglichen Elementen alle Besucher*innen zum Verweilen einlädt.

Akwétè cubes

Akwétè cubes

© Emeka Ogboh

Zur türkischen Übersetzung des Einführungstextes.

Unter dem Titel Ámà: The Gathering Place (2019/2021) nimmt Ogbohs Intervention die Form eines über 9 Meter hohen Baumes an und beinhaltet eine begleitende 12-Kanal-Soundinstallation sowie textile Elemente. Ausgangspunkt der Arbeit ist der „ámà“ – „Dorfplatz“ in Igbo. Diese Plätze sind das physische und symbolische Zentrum des Lebens in der Igbo-Gesellschaft; Orte, an denen Zeremonien, Unterhaltung, Handel und alltäglicher Austausch stattfinden. Ámà: The Gathering Place lässt sich von diesen Orten inspirieren und verwandelt den Lichthof des Gropius Bau in einen Raum der Ruhe und des sozialen Austauschs, untermalt von Aufnahmen eines Chors, der traditionelle Igbo-Volkslieder singt. Zusätzlich zu den skulpturalen und klanglichen Elementen werden die Betrachter*innen eingeladen, auf traditionellen Akwétè-Tüchern zu sitzen, die von zeitgenössischen nigerianischen Grafikdesigner*innen und Weber*innen entworfen wurden und die auch die zentrale Skulptur des Werks bedecken. Die Arbeit zeigt, wie halböffentliche Räume, von Dorfplätzen bis zu institutionellen Freiflächen, als Orte der Geselligkeit, des Feierns, der Reflexion und des Austauschs zurückgewonnen werden können.

Im Rahmen der Installation entwickelt Emeka Ogboh zusammen mit der Berliner Brauerei BRLO das konzeptuelle Craft Beer Ámà, für welches er mit Gewürzen und lokalen Zutaten arbeitet. Es wird ab Herbst im Restaurant Beba und im Buchladen erhältlich sein.

Über Emeka Ogboh

Emeka Ogboh ist ein Künstler, der sich in seiner Praxis mit dem Raum und dem öffentlichen und privaten Gedächtnis auseinandersetzt und dabei verschiedene Medien wie Klang, Skulptur und Gastronomie einsetzt. Sein Interesse gilt der Verknüpfung von kommunaler, privater und öffentlicher Kultur und deren Verdinglichung durch Klang und Speisen. In jüngster Zeit hat er Arbeiten unter anderem im Friche la Belle de Mai Marseille (2021), im Dresdner Museum für Völkerkunde (2020), Kunstmuseum Ravensburg (2020), Museum Tinguely, Basel (2019) und Cleveland Museum of Art (2019) präsentiert.

Chor: J Clef Choral mit Danlami Baba, Chinecherem Ezeonyenche, Uche Iwuala, Vivian Nwachukwu, Evangeline Nwankwo, Nnaemeka Nwokocha, Ugonna Okonkwo, Ezinne Okoye, Chukwuebuka Ozioko, Blaise Uwagu, Ifeanyi Uzoigwe, Michael Uzomah
Produktion: Uche Agbamegbue, Austinmary Ifunanya Eze, Kelechi Eze, Uchechukwu Eze, Justin Geller, Fernandez Muogbo, Jude Nwankwo (Arragement), Nse Ukpe Udo, Michael Uzomah
Design Baum: Agence Clémence Farrell
Produktion Baum: Taylor Studios
Akwétè-Weber*innen: Rodah Ajiere, Leticia Akara, Chisom Amaechi, Eziuche Benson, Nne Brown, Comfort Chuta, Edna Chuta, Gladys Chuta, Ruth Chuta, Odinakachi Edward, Monica Ejioffor, Nwanyikanalu George, Nwobiara George, Chijindu Ibeh, Harriate Maduawuchi, Chimezie Ndubuisi, Ngozi Dan Nkwonta (Koordinatorin), Nkechi Nwankwo, Ezinne Nwulu, Chinasa Obi, Ihuoma Obiakwa, Nwanyinna Okerenta, Ibiere Opiah, Chinyere Sopuruchi, Nwamara Ugochukwu
Soundtechnik: Julian Grefe

Gefördert von

Logo Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien null