Fulldome

TNI Opening Marathon

Agnieszka Polska, Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez, Theo Triantafyllidis & Sun Araw, David OReilly, John Whitney, Bill Ham & Kara-Lis Coverdale, Leif Randt

With seven fulldome works, we will turn the planetarium into a gallery of the future on the opening night.

Theo Triantafyllidis & Sun Araw & Tomo Jacobson: VHW7

VHW7

© Theo Triantafyllidis & Sun Araw & Tomo Jacobson

  • 120 min

Past Dates

Agnieszka Polska: The Happiest Thought

More than 250 million years ago, the largest known mass extinction in the Earth’s history occurred and up to 90 percent of the planet’s life was annihilated. “The Happiest Thought” is the first fulldome piece of visual artist Agnieszka Polska and revives the Earth’s destroyed biosphere in the most poetic of ways. Her point of departure is the “happiest thought” of the physicist Albert Einstein that inspired him to formulate his general theory of relativity in 1915. Einstein’s text is sung by the US-American performance artist Geo Wyeth and thus becomes part of a hypnotically enchanting séance.

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-Face

“Fake-objects” are items that may look realistic, but can in fact not exist in the physical world such as the Penrose triangle: Its three beams appear to be positioned at right angles to each other, and yet they are connected to form a triangle. For their first joint fulldome piece, sound artist Robert Lippok and digital artist Lucas Gutierrez developed fantastic objects of different dimensionalities as well as new sonic spaces.

Theo Triantafyllidis & Sun Araw: VHW7

The fulldome work “VHW7” explores the eponymous planetoid like a galactic sculpture. An experimental soundtrack guides through morphed imagery that shows the stellar object and its alien ecosystems: levitating ionic bubbles and ore deposits, phosphorescent anomalies, and biological phenomena. Given the complexity of this dwarf planetoid, one question inevitably arises: Which forces and agents have created it?

David OReilly: The End of Stories

“The End of Stories” is a collage of 37 stories of people from around the world coping with the turbulence of pandemic life. The anonymous callers express their personal thoughts and feelings, sharing an inability to imagine the future. Each perspective is represented visually with cascades of choreographed space-debris, animated by the voice of each speaker. “The End of Stories” ties in with David OReilly’s “Corona Voicemails” trilogy and expands it into an immersive fulldome experience.

John Whitney: Homage to Rameau

Computer graphics pioneer John Whitney (born in Altadena, California; 1917-1995) is considered one of the first who realized the dream of creating an art that looks like music sounds. Among his achievements is the invention of a handmade mechanical apparatus that enabled him to choreograph abstract forms in a visual medium. In so doing, Whitney was able to render visible in his films the laws and fundamentals of music and discover complementary interactions between sound and image. “Homage to Rameau” is a previously unreleased work by the artist dating back to 1967 and has only been screened privately in 16mm so far. Now, it has been transferred to a digital format and will celebrate its public world premiere. The location of this digital premiere of the remastered and restored film at the Zeiss-Großplanetarium is significant as it echoes the renowned Vortex concerts in San Francisco’s Morrison Planetarium, where his brother James Whitney’s films were projected. The Vortex concerts are credited as planting the seeds of what became one of the greatest cultural shifts in Western History in the late 1960s, eventually culminating in a movement that wove John Whitney’s influences into the cultural canon. “Homage to Rameau” is based on Jean-Philippe Rameau’s composition “La Timide et Tambourin”.

Bill Ham & Kara-Lis Coverdale & Emi Ito: Light Painting #2

To Bill Ham, spontaneous projection painting and “light shows” represent a continuation of abstract expressionism. In the very early 1960s, he discovered that working directly with overhead projectors provided a continuum of images; where composition, execution and presentation occur simultaneously. In all previous live performances this present tense art was shared by the viewer and the artist in real time. For these new compositions, his studio sessions were digitally recorded, newly arranged and adapted for projection in the Zeiss-Großplanetarium dome.

Leif Randt: Fokus Color Italia

in German

In his utopian novels “Shimmering Haze over CobyCounty” and “Planet Magnon”, Leif Randt already set out in search of new worlds beyond hard feelings. Now, the author celebrates his planetarium debut with the associative audio collage “Fokus Color Italia”, in which the audience follows critical entrepreneur Joelle from the Mosel and young app genius Sina from Chiemsee on a late summer holiday trip.

Agnieszka Polska: The Happiest Thought (2019, 21 min)
Animation: Agnieszka Polska, Nathan Gray
Voice Artist: Geo Wyeth
Sound Design: Agnieszka Polska, Igor Kłaczyński
Sound Recording: Ronald van der Spek
Sound Mixing: Igor Kłaczyński
Production assistant: Irma Blumstock
A coproduction of the Berliner Festspiele / Immersion / The New Infinity and Planetarium Hamburg

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-Face (2019, 15 min)
Video: Lucas Gutierrez
Music: Robert Lippok
Cello: Elif Dimli, Anil Eraslan
Curatorial consulting: Natalie Keppler
A coproduction of the Berliner Festspiele / Immersion / The New Infinity and Planetarium Hamburg

Theo Triantafyllidis & Sun Araw: VHW7 (2021, 18 min)
Theo Triantafyllidis & Sun Araw & Tomo Jacobson: VHW7
Audio: Sun Araw and Tomo Jacobson
Visuals: Theo Triantafyllidis
Production supervisor: Georgios Mavrikos
Postproduction video: Florian Meyer
Spatial sound mixing: Timo Bittner
A coproduction of Berliner Festspiele / The New Infinity & Stiftung Planetarium Berlin

David OReilly: The End of Stories (2020, 15 min)
Written / Directed / Edited / Sound: David OReilly
Music: Stéphane Pigeon
Producer: Yael Greenberg
A coproduction of the Berliner Festspiele / Immersion and Stiftung Planetarium Berlin

John Whitney: Homage to Rameau (1967, 3 min)
Score: Jean-Philippe Rameau „La timide et Tambourin“
Unpublished work copyright 1967, John Whitney
Unpublished digital transfer and restauration copyright 2021, Whitney Editions, LLC

Bill Ham & Kara-Lis Coverdale & Emi Ito: Light Painting #2 (2021, 10 min)
Bill Ham and Emi Ito (Assisting Artist)
Light Painting #2
Score by Kara-Lis Coverdale
Light Music #2
A coproduction of Berliner Festspiele / The New Infinity and Zeiss-Großplanetarium Berlin

Leif Randt: Fokus Color Italia (2021, 30 min)
Text & Concept: Leif Randt
Video dramaturgy, using the video archive of the Stiftung Planetarium Berlin: Adam Kaplan
Voice Sina: Lara Scherrieble
Voice Joelle: Juno Meinecke & Lotta Beckers
English translation: Nicholas Mockridge
Recording: StudioXBerlin
Postproduction: Florian Meyer & Timo Bittner
Supervision: Georgios Mavrikos

Fulldome

TNI Opening Marathon

Agnieszka Polska, Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez, Theo Triantafyllidis & Sun Araw, David OReilly, John Whitney, Bill Ham & Kara-Lis Coverdale, Leif Randt

Am Eröffnungsabend bespielen wir mit sieben Fulldome-Arbeiten das Planetarium als Galerie der Zukunft.

Theo Triantafyllidis & Sun Araw & Tomo Jacobson: VHW7

VHW7

© Theo Triantafyllidis & Sun Araw & Tomo Jacobson

  • 120 min

Vergangene Termine

Agnieszka Polska: The Happiest Thought

Vor über 250 Millionen Jahren ereignete sich das größte Artensterben der Erdgeschichte, in dessen Verlauf bis zu 90 Prozent der Vegetation ausgelöscht wurde. „The Happiest Thought“ ist die erste Fulldome-Arbeit der bildenden Künstlerin Agnieszka Polska und erweckt die damals zerstörte Biosphäre der Erde auf poetische Weise erneut zum Leben. Ihr Ausgangspunkt ist der „glücklichste Gedanke“ des Physikers Albert Einstein, der ihn 1915 zur Formulierung seiner Allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie inspirierte. Einsteins Text wird durch den US-amerikanischen Performancekünstler Geo Wyeth gesungen und auf diese Weise Teil einer hypnotisch-betörenden Séance.

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-Face

„Fake-Objekte“ sind Gegenstände, die zwar realistisch aussehen, aber in der physischen Welt unmöglich existieren können: so wie das Penrose-Dreieck, dessen drei Balken jeweils im rechten Winkel zueinander zu stehen scheinen und dennoch zu einem Dreieck verbunden sind. Für ihre erste gemeinsame Fulldome-Arbeit entwickelten der Klangkünstler Robert Lippok und der Digitalkünstler Lucas Gutierrez fantastische Objekte andersartiger Dimensionen – und damit verbunden neue klangliche Räume.

Theo Triantafyllidis & Sun Araw: VHW7

Die Fulldome-Arbeit „VHW7“, die wir in Kooperation mit der Athens Biennale präsentieren, erkundet den gleichnamigen Planetoiden als galaktische Skulptur. Ein experimenteller Soundtrack führt durch gemorphte Bildwelten, die das stellare Objekt und seine fremdartigen Ökosysteme zeigen: schwebende Ionenblasen und Erzlagerstätten, phosphoreszierende Anomalien und biologische Phänomene. Angesichts der Komplexität dieses Zwergplanetoiden drängt sich die Frage auf, welche Kräfte und Akteur*innen sie hervorgebracht haben.

David OReilly: The End of Stories

„The End of Stories“ ist eine Collage aus 37 Geschichten von Menschen aus aller Welt, die versuchen, die Turbulenzen des Lebens mit der Pandemie zu meistern. Die anonymen Anrufer*innen bringen ihre privaten Gedanken und Gefühle zum Ausdruck, und keine*r von ihnen ist in der Lage, sich die Zukunft vorzustellen. Jeder Bericht wird visuell durch Kaskaden aus choreografiertem Weltraumschrott dargestellt, die durch die Stimmen der jeweilig Sprechenden animiert werden. „The End of Stories“ schließt an David OReillys „Corona Voicemails“-Trilogie an und erweitert sie in eine immersive Fulldome-Erfahrung.

John Whitney: Homage to Rameau

Der Computergrafik-Pionier John Whitney (geboren in Altadena, Kalifornien; 1917-1995) gilt als einer der ersten Verwirklicher des Traums, eine Kunst zu schaffen, die so aussieht, wie Musik klingt. Zu seinen Errungenschaften gehört die Erfindung eines mechanischen Apparats, der ihm ermöglichte, abstrakte Formen im visuellen Medium zu choreografieren. Auf diese Weise war Whitney im Stande, in seinen Filmen die Gesetze und Grundlagen der Musik sichtbar zu machen und komplementäre Wechselwirkungen von Klang und Bild zu entdecken. „Homage to Rameau“ ist eine bisher unveröffentlichte Arbeit des Künstlers aus dem Jahr 1967, die im privaten Rahmen in 16mm vorgeführt und für die 2021er-Uraufführung in ein digitales Format übertragen wurde. Mit dem Zeiss-Großplanetarium als Aufführungsort dieser digitalen Premiere des neu gemasterten und restaurierten Films wird an die berühmten Vortex-Konzerte im Morrison Planetarium von San Francisco erinnert, wo die Filme von Whitneys Bruder James gezeigt wurden. Die Vortex-Konzerte gelten als Keimzelle des kulturellen Umbruchs, der Ende der 1960er-Jahre in einer Bewegung gipfelte, die John Whitneys Werk schließlich im kulturellen Kanon verankerte. „Homage to Rameau“ basiert auf der Komposition „La Timide et Tambourin“ von Jean-Philippe Rameau.

Bill Ham & Kara-Lis Coverdale & Emi Ito: Light Painting #2

Für Bill Ham stellen spontane Projektionsmalerei und „Lichtshows“ eine Fortsetzung des abstrakten Expressionismus dar. Schon in den frühen 1960er-Jahren entdeckte er, dass die Arbeit mit Overhead-Projektoren ein Kontinuum von Bildern ermöglicht, bei dem Komposition, Ausführung und Präsentation gleichzeitig stattfinden. In Hams früheren Live-Performances wurde diese „Gegenwartskunst“ vom Künstler und von den Betrachtenden in Echtzeit geteilt. Und für die neuen Kompositionen wurden seine Studio-Sessions digital aufgezeichnet, neu arrangiert und für die Projektion in die Kuppel des Zeiss-Großplanetariums adaptiert.

Leif Randt: Fokus Color Italia

In deutscher Sprache

Bereits mit seinen utopischen Romanen „Schimmernder Dunst über CobyCounty“ und „Planet Magnon“ begab sich Leif Randt auf die Suche nach anderen Welten jenseits der hard feelings. Sein Planetariums-Debüt feiert der Autor mit der assoziativen Audiocollage „Fokus Color Italia“, in der wir die kritische Unternehmerin Joelle von der Mosel und das junge App-Genie Sina vom Chiemsee auf eine spätsommerliche Urlaubsfahrt begleiten.

Agnieszka Polska: The Happiest Thought (2019, 21 min)
Animation: Agnieszka Polska, Nathan Gray
Sprecher: Geo Wyeth
Sound Design: Agnieszka Polska, Igor Kłaczyński
Aufnahme: Ronald van der Spek
Sound Mixing: Igor Kłaczyński
Produktionsassistenz: Irma Blumstock
Eine Koproduktion der Berliner Festspiele / Immersion / The New Infinity mit dem Planetarium Hamburg

Robert Lippok & Lucas Gutierrez: Non-Face (2019, 15 min)
Video: Lucas Gutierrez
Musik: Robert Lippok
Cello: Elif Dimli, Anil Eraslan
Kuratorische Beratung: Natalie Keppler
Eine Koproduktion der Berliner Festspiele / Immersion / The New Infinity mit dem Planetarium Hamburg

Theo Triantafyllidis & Sun Araw: VHW7 (2021, 18 min)
Audio: Sun Araw und Tomo Jacobson
Visuals: Theo Triantafyllidis
Supervisor Produktion: Georgios Mavrikos
Postproduktion Video: Florian Meyer
Spatial Sound Mixing: Timo Bittner
Eine Koproduktion der Berliner Festspiele / The New Infinity mit dem Zeiss-Großplanetarium Berlin

David OReilly: The End of Stories (2020, 15 min)
Text / Regie / Bearbeitung & Schnitt / Sound: David OReilly
Musik: Stéphane Pigeon
Produktion: Yael Greenberg
Eine Koproduktion von Berliner Festspiele / Immersion und Stiftung Planetarium Berlin

John Whitney: Homage to Rameau (1967, 3 min)
Partitur: Jean-Philippe Rameau „La timide et Tambourin“
Unveröffentlichtes Werk, Copyright 1967, John Whitney
Unveröffentlichte digitale Adaption und Restaurierung, Copyright 2021, Whitney Editions, LLC

Bill Ham & Kara-Lis Coverdale & Emi Ito: Light Painting #2 (2021, 10 min)
Bill Ham und Emi Ito (Künstlerische Assistenz)
Light Painting #2
Komposition: Kara-Lis Coverdale
Light Music #2
Eine Koproduktion der Berliner Festspiele / The New Infinity mit dem Zeiss-Großplanetarium Berlin

Leif Randt: Fokus Color Italia (2021, 30 min)
Text & Idee: Leif Randt
Video-Dramaturgie, unter Verwendung des Video-Archivs der Stiftung Planetarium Berlin: Adam Kaplan
Stimme Sina: Lara Scherrieble
Stimme Joelle: Juno Meinecke & Lotta Beckers
Übersetzung ins Englische: Nicholas Mockridge
Aufnahme: StudioXBerlin
Postproduktion: Florian Meyer & Timo Bittner
Supervision: Georgios Mavrikos