Fulldome

TNI Experience II

Fatima Al Qadiri & Transforma, Jan Kounen, David OReilly, Bill Ham & Kara-Lis Coverdale

Join us for Fatima Al Qadiri & Transforma’s exploration of the “Extraordinary Alien”, the psychedelic visions by Jan Kounen, David OReilly’s touching Corona collage as well as a light painting by light artist Bill Ham.

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey

Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey

© Jan Kounen, photo: Mathias Völzke

  • 60 min

Past Dates

Fatima Al Qadiri & Transforma: Extraordinary Alien

“Extraordinary Alien” is based on the US artist visa classification: “alien with extraordinary ability”. It plays with the double meaning of the word “alien” and the notion that all outer space aliens are inherently extraordinary, from the perspective of lowly earthlings. In this work, the artists explore the push and pull of tension, repetition and expectation. Using a collection of simple materials, a range of textures is generated to appear as planetary surfaces, galaxies and alien skins. The use of these materials is deliberate, aiming to highlight the sci-fi qualities of earthly objects.

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey

“Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey” is the attempt to transfer experiences based on the physical and hallucinatory effects of ayahuasca, a natural remedy used by the indigenous peoples of the Amazon region, into the medium of 360°-film. Director Jan Kounen explores the questions of whether an immersive technology can simulate psychedelic experiences resembling those made under the influence of ayahuasca and whether this media experience changes our sense of reality.

David OReilly: The End of Stories

“The End of Stories” is a collage of 37 stories of people from around the world coping with the turbulence of pandemic life. The anonymous callers express their personal thoughts and feelings, sharing an inability to imagine the future. Each perspective is represented visually with cascades of choreographed space-debris, animated by the voice of each speaker. “The End of Stories” ties in with David OReilly’s “Corona Voicemails” trilogy and expands it into an immersive fulldome experience.

Bill Ham & Kara-Lis Coverdale & Emi Ito: Light Painting #1

To Bill Ham, spontaneous projection painting and “light shows” represent a continuation of abstract expressionism. In the very early 1960s, he discovered that working directly with overhead projectors provided a continuum of images; where composition, execution and presentation occur simultaneously. In all previous live performances this present tense art was shared by the viewer and the artist in real time. For these new compositions, his studio sessions were digitally recorded, newly arranged and adapted for projection in the Zeiss-Großplanetarium dome.

Fatima Al Qadiri & Transforma: Extraordinary Alien (2018, 16 min)
Music: Fatima Al Qadiri
Video: Transforma (Luke Bennett, Baris Hasselbach, Simon Krahl)
Mixing: James Kelly
Spatialization: Koenraad Ecker
A coproduction of the Berliner Festspiele / Immersion / The New Infinity and Planetarium Hamburg

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey (2019, 18 min)
Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey
World premiere at the 2019 Tribeca Film Festival
Created by Jan Kounen
Produced by AtlasV, A_Bahn and Small studios
Distributed by Diversion Cinema

David OReilly: The End of Stories (2020, 15 min)
David OReilly: The End of Stories
Written / Directed / Edited / Sound: David OReilly
Music: Stéphane Pigeon
Producer: Yael Greenberg
A coproduction of the Berliner Festspiele / Immersion and Stiftung Planetarium Berlin

Bill Ham & Kara-Lis Coverdale & Emi Ito: Light Painting #1 (2021, 10 min)
Bill Ham and Emi Ito (Assisting Artist)
Light Painting #1
Score by Kara-Lis Coverdale
Light Music #1
A coproduction of Berliner Festspiele / The New Infinity and Zeiss-Großplanetarium Berlin

Fulldome

TNI Experience II

Fatima Al Qadiri & Transforma, Jan Kounen, David OReilly, Bill Ham & Kara-Lis Coverdale

Erleben Sie Fatima Al Qadiris & Transformas Untersuchung des „Extraordinary Alien“, Jan Kounens psychedelische Visionen, David OReillys berührende Corona-Collage sowie ein Light-Painting des Lichtkünstlers Bill Ham.

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey

Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey

© Jan Kounen, Foto: Mathias Völzke

  • 60 min

Vergangene Termine

Fatima Al Qadiri & Transforma: Extraordinary Alien

Der Titel „Extraordinary Alien“ bezieht sich auf eine Bezeichnung in der Klassifizierung von US-Künstler*innenvisa: „Alien with extraordinary ability“. Er spielt mit der Doppelbedeutung von „Alien“ und der Vorstellung, dass alle Außerirdischen aus unserer unbedeutenden Erdlingsperspektive schon von vornherein außergewöhnlich scheinen. Die Arbeit zeigt unterschiedliche, aus einfachen Materialien hergestellte Strukturen, die Planetenoberflächen, Galaxien und Alien-Haut darstellen, um die Sci-Fi-Eigenschaften irdischer Gegenstände zu unterstreichen.

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey

„Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey“ ist der Versuch, die Erfahrungen, die auf der körperlichen und halluzinatorischen Wirkung von Ayahuasca – einem Heilmittel der Indigenen des Amazonasgebietes – beruhen, in das Medium eines 360-Grad-Films zu übertragen. Der Regisseur Jan Kounen geht dabei den Fragen nach, inwiefern eine immersive Technologie psychedelische Erfahrungen wie die von Ayahuasca simulieren kann und ob diese mediale Erfahrung unseren Realitätssinn verändert.

David OReilly: The End of Stories

„The End of Stories“ ist eine Collage aus 37 Geschichten von Menschen aus aller Welt, die versuchen, die Turbulenzen des Lebens mit der Pandemie zu meistern. Die anonymen Anrufer*innen bringen ihre privaten Gedanken und Gefühle zum Ausdruck, und keine*r von ihnen ist in der Lage, sich die Zukunft vorzustellen. Jeder Bericht wird visuell durch Kaskaden aus choreografiertem Weltraumschrott dargestellt, die durch die Stimmen der jeweilig Sprechenden animiert werden. „The End of Stories“ schließt an David OReillys „Corona Voicemails“-Trilogie an und erweitert sie in eine immersive Fulldome-Erfahrung.

Bill Ham & Kara-Lis Coverdale & Emi Ito: Light Painting #1

Für Bill Ham stellen spontane Projektionsmalerei und „Lichtshows“ eine Fortsetzung des abstrakten Expressionismus dar. Schon in den frühen 1960er-Jahren entdeckte er, dass die Arbeit mit Overhead-Projektoren ein Kontinuum von Bildern ermöglicht, bei dem Komposition, Ausführung und Präsentation gleichzeitig stattfinden. In Hams früheren Live-Performances wurde diese „Gegenwartskunst“ vom Künstler und von den Betrachtenden in Echtzeit geteilt. Und für die neuen Kompositionen wurden seine Studio-Sessions digital aufgezeichnet, neu arrangiert und für die Projektion in die Kuppel des Zeiss-Großplanetariums adaptiert.

Fatima Al Qadiri & Transforma: Extraordinary Alien (2018, 16 min)
Musik: Fatima Al Qadiri
Video: Transforma (Luke Bennett, Baris Hasselbach, Simon Krahl)
Mixing: James Kelly
Raumklang / Spatialization: Koenraad Ecker
Eine Koproduktion der Berliner Festspiele / Immersion / The New Infinity mit dem Planetarium Hamburg

Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey (2019, 18 min)
Jan Kounen: Ayahuasca – A Kosmik Journey
Weltpremiere beim Tribeca Film Festival 2019
Kreation: Jan Kounen
Produktion: AtlasV, A_Bahn und Small studios
Vertrieb: Diversion Cinema

David OReilly: The End of Stories (2020, 15 min)
David OReilly: The End of Stories
Text / Regie / Bearbeitung & Schnitt / Sound: David OReilly
Musik: Stéphane Pigeon
Produktion: Yael Greenberg
Eine Koproduktion von Berliner Festspiele / Immersion und Stiftung Planetarium Berlin

Bill Ham & Kara-Lis Coverdale & Emi Ito: Light Painting #1 (2021, 10 min)
Bill Ham und Emi Ito (Künstlerische Assistenz)
Light Painting #1
Komposition: Kara-Lis Coverdale
Light Music #1
Eine Koproduktion der Berliner Festspiele / The New Infinity mit dem Zeiss-Großplanetarium Berlin