Reading Group

Bodies, Spaces, Archives

Connected within that Light: Reading/Theory Group Series with Kathy-Ann Tan

This reading group series is entitled Bodies, Spaces, Archives. In this first session we will collaboratively read and discuss texts by Amber Jamilla Musser and Alexis Pauline Gumbs.

Wu Tsang, Untitled (Library Studies), 2013–2014/2019

Wu Tsang, Untitled (Library Studies), 2013–2014/2019. Photograph, digital C print on aluminium, 20 x 30 cm

Courtesy: the artist, Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi, Cabinet and Antenna Space

Past Dates

Registration is no longer possible as the event has reached its limited capacity.

This session kicks off the first of three wherein we will focus on readings that engage with how different bodies and subjectivities take up, navigate, are interpellated, welcome in or excluded from various spaces – from the intimate to the institutional. Departing from the notion that our bodies are our first archives, we will discuss how the corporeal archive can be a primary site for for self-representation, empowerment, healing and transformation. In this session we will read excerpts from Amber Jamilla Musser’s Sensual Excess: Queer Femininity and Brown Jouissance (2018) and Alexis Pauline Gumbs’ M Archive: After the End of the World (2018), dwelling upon notions of fleshiness, intimacy, resistance and the body as a site of knowledge-making in relation to works of photography by Lyle Ashton Harris and others.

Texts
Alexis Pauline Gumbs, M Archive: After the End of the World, 2018
Amber Jamilla Musser, Sensual Excess: Queer Femininity and Brown Jouissance, 2018

The sessions will be led in English but discussion in German is welcomed. Texts will be circulated in advance after registration closes.

These three sessions continue the Connected within that Light: Reading/Theory Group Series at the Gropius Bau that loosely complements the institution’s exhibition programme in 2020/21. Sessions are facilitated by Berlin-based independent curator, writer and scholar Kathy-Ann Tan. The sessions will take place in person at the Gropius Bau.

To participate in the sessions, proof of full vaccination, a negative COVID-19 test result (rapid antigen PoC test or PCR test) not older than 24 hours or a certificate of a prior COVID-19 infection is required. Wearing a mask is also compulsory during the sessions.

Reading Group

Bodies, Spaces, Archives

Connected within that Light: Reading/Theory Group Series mit Kathy-Ann Tan

Der Lesekreis Bodies, Spaces, Archives lädt zur gemeinsamen Lektüre und Diskussion von Texten ein. In der ersten Sitzung werden wir Texte von Amber Jamilla Musser und Alexis Pauline Gumbs lesen.

Wu Tsang, Untitled (Library Studies), 2013–2014/2019

Wu Tsang, Untitled (Library Studies), 2013–2014/2019. Fotografien, digitale C-Prints auf Alu-Dibond, je 20 x 30 cm

Courtesy: die Künstlerin, Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi, Cabinet und Antenna Space

Eine Registrierung ist nicht mehr möglich, da das Event bereits vollständig ausgebucht ist.

Diese Sitzung bildet den Auftakt zu einer Reihe von drei Lesungen, in denen wir uns mit der Frage beschäftigen, wie unterschiedliche Körper und Subjektivitäten verschiedene Räume einnehmen, durch sie navigieren, von ihnen befragt werden, in ihnen willkommen sind oder von ihnen ausgeschlossen werden – von intimen bis hin zu institutionellen Räumen. Ausgehend von der Vorstellung, dass unsere Körper unsere ersten Archive sind, werden wir diskutieren, wie das körperliche Archiv ein primärer Ort der Selbstdarstellung, Ermächtigung, Heilung und Transformation sein kann. In dieser Sitzung werden wir Auszüge aus den Büchern Sensual Excess: Queer Femininity and Brown Jouissance (2018) von Amber Jamilla Musser und M Archive: After the End of the World (2018) von Alexis Pauline Gumbs lesen. Dabei werden wir uns – in Bezug auf die Fotografien von Lyle Ashton Harris und anderen – mit Begriffen wie Fleischlichkeit, Intimität, Widerstand und dem Körper als Ort der Wissensproduktion auseinandersetzen.

Texte
Alexis Pauline Gumbs, M Archive: After the End of the World, 2018
Amber Jamilla Musser, Sensual Excess: Queer Femininity and Brown Jouissance, 2018

Die Sitzungen werden in englischer Sprache abgehalten, Diskussionen in deutscher Sprache sind jedoch willkommen. Die Texte werden im Vorfeld nach Ablauf der Anmeldefrist an alle Teilnehmenden verschickt.

Die drei Sitzungen sind eine Fortsetzung von Connected within that Light: Eine Reihe von Lese-/Theoriegruppen im Gropius Bau, die das Ausstellungsprogramm der Institution in den Jahren 2020/21 lose begleitet und ergänzt. Sie wird von der in Berlin lebenden unabhängigen Kuratorin, Schriftstellerin und Wissenschaftlerin Kathy-Ann Tan konzipiert und realisiert. Die Sitzungen finden vor Ort im Gropius Bau statt.

Für die Teilnahme an den Sitzungen ist ein Nachweis über einen vollständigen Impfschutz, ein negatives tagesakutelles Testergebnis oder der Nachweis einer überstandenen COVID-19-Infektion erforderlich. Das Tragen einer Maske ist auch am Platz Pflicht.

* Die Verarbeitung Ihrer Daten erfolgt entsprechend der Datenschutzerklärung der KBB, die Sie hiermit zur Kenntnis nehmen.