Screening
Julia Stoschek Collection

Technology / Transformation: Wonder Woman

Dara Birnbaum
1978/79 / video / colour / sound

Harsh flashes of light and spins accompany the transformation of Wonder Woman. In "Technology/Transformation: Wonder Woman" (1978/79) Dara Birnbaum uses images from popular culture to expose existing ideologies and to deconstruct them with their own tools.

The superheroine Wonder Woman from the series of the same name at the moment of her transformation, with star-spangled costume, wavy blow-dry hairdo and perfect make-up.

Dara Birnbaum, Technology/Transformation: Wonder Woman, 1978/79. Vdeo, 5'45", colour, sound. Video still.

Courtesy of the artist and Electronic Arts Intermix, New York. On loan from the JULIA STOSCHEK FOUNDATION, Berlin/Düsseldorf

  • 5 min 45 sec

In her work ‘Technology/Transformation: Wonder Woman’, Dara Birnbaum appropriates images from the popular 70s TV series ‘Wonder Woman’, slowing down the “technological speed” of television in order to allow the viewer to question the medium. This work dates back to the beginning of Birnbaum’s exploration of the dissemination of images through the media and the ideologies and concepts connected with them.

The superhero Wonder Woman was created by the American psychologist William Marston as the female counterpart to the muscle-bound Superman and, in the comic book with the same title, she was able to “save the world through the power of love.” Wearing a scanty stars-and-stripes costume, magic bracelets, a diadem in her flowing blow-dried hair, and perfect make-up, Wonder Woman was played in the TV series by former Miss World USA Lynda Carter, who was able to transform herself from an inconspicuous secretary into the superhero with one spin.

In her remix of selected TV images, Dara Birnbaum concentrates on the moment of transformation, the symbolic content of the flash of light accompanied by a series of spins that signals the protagonist’s transition to become a superhero. The banal reduction of this transformation to a lighting trick and the almost touching seriousness of the performance now seem like elements of a Dadaist montage technique brought forward using the time-appropriate means of video recording. Here the critical subtext is balanced by the effect of parody, as the manipulative character of the TV figure becomes obvious and the heroine herself a puppet.

Screening
Julia Stoschek Collection

Technology / Transformation: Wonder Woman

Dara Birnbaum
1978/79 / Video / Farbe / Ton

Von grellen Lichtblitzen und Drehungen begleitet, vollzieht sich die Verwandlung von Wonder Woman. In „Technology/Transformation: Wonder Woman“ (1978/79) bedient sich Dara Birnbaum Bilderwelten der Populärkultur, um immanente Ideologien offenzulegen und diese mit den eigenen Mitteln zu dekonstruieren.

Die Superheldin Wonder Woman der gleichnamigen Serie im Moment ihrer Verwandlung, mit Sternenbanner-Kostüm, wallender Fönfrisur und perfektem Make-up.

Dara Birnbaum, Technology/Transformation: Wonder Woman, 1978/79. Video, 5'45", Farbe, Ton. Videostill

Courtesy of the artist and Electronic Arts Intermix, New York. Leihgabe der JULIA STOSCHEK FOUNDATION, Berlin/Düsseldorf

  • 5 min 45 sec

In ihrer Arbeit „Technology/Transformation: Wonder Woman“ macht sich Dara Birnbaum Bilder aus der in den 1970er-Jahren populären amerikanischen Fernsehserie „Wonder Woman“ zu eigen und verlangsamt die „technologische Geschwindigkeit“ des Fernsehens, um den Betrachter*innen die Möglichkeit zur Befragung des Mediums zu bieten. Die Arbeit steht am Anfang von Birnbaums Auseinandersetzung mit der Verbreitung von Bildern in den Medien und den damit verknüpften Ideologien und Vorstellungen von Identität.

Die Superheldin Wonder Woman wurde von dem amerikanischen Psychologen William Marston als weibliches Gegenmodell zum muskelbepackten Superman entwickelt und sollte bereits im gleichnamigen Comic „die Welt mit der Macht der Liebe retten“. Ausgestattet mit knappem Sternenbanner-Kostüm, magischen Armbändern, einem Diadem in wallender Fönfrisur und perfektem Make-up, wurde „Wonder Woman“ in der Fernsehserie von der ehemaligen Miss World USA Lynda Carter verkörpert, die sich durch eine Drehung von der unauffälligen Sekretärin in die Superheldin verwandelte.

In ihrem Remix ausgewählter Fernsehbilder konzentriert sich Dara Birnbaum auf das Moment der Verwandlung, den symbolischen Gehalt des Lichtblitzes, der den Übergang der Protagonistin zur Superheldin signalisiert und von zahlreichen Drehungen flankiert wird. Die banale Reduktion der Verwandlung auf ein Lichtspiel und der geradezu rührende Ernst der Darstellung erscheinen heute wie Bestandteile einer dadaistischen Montagetechnik, fortgeschrieben mit den zeitgemäßen Mitteln der Videoaufzeichnung. Dabei hält sich der kritische Subtext mit dem parodistischen Effekt die Waage, wenn der manipulative Charakter der Fernsehfigur offensichtlich und deren Heldin selbst zur Marionette wird.