Screening
Julia Stoschek Collection

A Minute Ago

Rachel Rose
2014 / single-channel HD video installation / colour / sound

With her video work ‘A Minute Ago’ (2014) that combines sequences on a beach, hail showers, and documentary interviews, the American artist Rachel Rose allows viewers to experience the ephemeral nature of the present.

A painting of a heroic landscape, in the foreground two dead bearers carry a body wrapped in cloth.

Rachel Rose, A Minute Ago, 2014. Single-channel HD video installation, 8'43", colour, sound

Courtesy of the artist and Pilar Corrias, London. On loan from the JULIA STOSCHEK FOUNDATION, Berlin/Düsseldorf. Part of: Rachel Rose, Palisades, 2015, mixed-media video installation; 2 videos, audio work, custom made speakers, carpet

  • 8 min 43 sec

As in many of Rachel Rose’s works, reference to a specific place forms the starting point for “A Minute Ago”. An amateur video of a beach in Siberia opens the sequence and provides the work’s title with a remark from one visitor: “It was perfect weather a minute ago.” Suddenly a seemingly apocalyptic hailstorm transforms their joy at a hot summer’s day into pure fear, reinforced by the sounds of the Pink Floyd track “Echoes”. The next scene places the viewers inside one of the most famous architectural icons of the modern age, the Glass House built by Philip Johnson in Connecticut in 1949. Johnson himself – appearing like a fleeting, out-of-focus hologram – guides us through his former home. Overlaid with images of Nicolas Poussin’s painting ‘Landscape with the Funeral of Phocion’ (1648), the dead man remains in motion while the glass house with its transparent panels acquires a symbolic significance.

Part of:
Rachel Rose, “Palisades”, 2015, mixed-media video installation; 2 videos, audio work, custom made speakers, carpet

Screening
Julia Stoschek Collection

A Minute Ago

Rachel Rose
2014 / Einkanal-HD-Videoinstallation / Farbe / Ton

Mit ihrer Videoarbeit „A Minute Ago“ (2014) lässt die amerikanische Künstlerin Rachel Rose die Zuschauer*innen – zwischen Strandsequenzen, Hagelschauern und dokumentarischen Interviewaufnahmen – teilhaben am Spiel mit der flüchtigen Präsenz.

Ein Gemälde einer heroischen Landschaft, im Vordergrund tragen zwei Totenträger einen im Tuch eingehüllten Körper.

Rachel Rose, A Minute Ago, 2014. Einkanal-HD-Videoinstallation, 8'43", Farbe, Ton

Courtesy of the artist and Pilar Corrias, London. Leihgabe der JULIA STOSCHEK FOUNDATION, Berlin/Düsseldorf. Teil von: Rachel Rose, Palisades, 2015, Mixed-Media Videoinstallation; 2 Videos, Audioarbeit, spezialangefertigte Lautsprecher, Teppich

  • 8 min 43 sec

Wie in vielen Arbeiten von Rachel Rose bildet ein konkreter räumlicher Bezug den Ausgangspunkt von „A Minute Ago“. Ein Amateurvideo an einem Strand in Sibirien eröffnet die Sequenz und begründet mit der Bemerkung eines Strandbesuchers den Titel der Arbeit: „It was a perfect weather a minute ago“ (dt. „Bis vor einer Minute war das Wetter grandios.“). Schlagartig verwandelt ein apokalyptisch anmutender Hagelsturm die Freude über den heißen Sommertag in schiere Angst, verstärkt durch das Erklingen von Pink Floyds Komposition „Echoes“. Die nächste Szene versetzt die Betrachter*innen in eine der berühmtesten Architekturikonen der Moderne, dem 1949 von Philip Johnson in Connecticut errichteten Glass House. Johnson selbst führt – wie ein flüchtig unscharfes Hologramm erscheinend – durch sein ehemaliges Wohnhaus. Überlagert mit Aufnahmen von Nicolas Poussins Gemälde „Das Begräbnis des Phokion“ (1648) bleibt der Tote unterwegs, während das Glashaus mit seinen durchsichtigen Fronten selbst zum Sinnbild wird.

Teil von:
Rachel Rose, „Palisades”, 2015, Mixed-Media-Videoinstallation, 2 Videos, Audioarbeit, spezialangefertigte Lautsprecher, Teppich