Performance Parcours

Screws

Alexander Vantournhout / not standing

German Premiere
World Premiere: 28.05.2019, Rencontres chorégraphiques internationales de Seine-Saint-Denis

Alexander Vantournhout is trained in both contemporary dance and circus. In five microperformances, he sets out to explore the creative kinetic potential of physical limitations as well as the relationships and boundaries between performers and objects.

Two female-read people hanging upside down from a horizontal pole in a darkened room, resting their heads on the shoulders of their counterpart. An audience is sitting around them.

Alexander Vantournhout / not standing: Screws. The Sun Machine Is Coming Down

© Berliner Festspiele / Eike Walkenhorst

  • 60 min , no interval

Ordinarily, a bowling ball only has a single function: to knock down as many pins as possible at the other end of the alley. But what if we were to remove this object from its habitual environment and turn it into a subject?

In “Screws” Alexander Vantournhout guides the audience through an itinerary of microperformances: Short solos, duets and fine-edged group choreographies reverse the relationship between body and object. The objects attached to the body, such as snow-shoes, bowling balls or anti-gravity shoes, either stabilise the body or throw it out of balance, which can either overcome or enhance the gravitational pull. This challenges the dancers to resist the laws of physics.

This site-specific performance leads spectators along a parcours through the ICC. They are welcome to join and choose the angles from which they would like to experience the individual miniature compositions.

A project organised by the programme series Immersion.

Cast

Choreography / Circography Alexander Vantournhout
Creation Petra Steindl, Josse De Broeck, Felix Zech, Hendrik van Maele, Emmi Väisänen and Alexander Vantournhout
Performance Charlotte Cétaire, Harrison Claxton, Jessica Eirado Enes, Axel Guérin and Alexander Vantournhout
Dramaturgy Sébastien Hendrickx
Consultation Rudi Laermans
Choreographic Assistance Anneleen Keppens, Martin Kilvady
Costume Anne-Catherine Kunz
Technical Management Rinus Samyn
Lighting Design Tim Oelbrandt
Technical Design Bert Van Dijck, Rinus Samyn, Tom Reynaerts, Tom Daniels
Construction Willy Cauwelier
Photography Bart Grietens
Company Management Esther Maas
Tour Management Aïda Gabriëls
Diffusion Frans Brood Productions

Trailer

Production not standing
Co-production Kunstencentrum Vooruit, Gent, MA, Montbeliard, PERPLX, Marke, CIRCa, Auch
Residencies: Kunstencentrum Vooruit, Gent, Platforme 2 Pôles Cirque en Normandie/La Brêche à Cherbourg-Cirque-Théâtre d’Elbeuf, Cultuurcentrum, Brugge, Wood Cube, Roeselare, Workspace, Brussels, MA, Montbéliard, Circa, Auch

Thanks to Lore Missine, Veerle Mans, Bauke Lievens, Maria Madeira, Lien Vanbossele, Monuments Nationaux de France et Simon Pons-Rotbardt
With the support of the Flemish Authorities.

Alexander Vantournhout is artist-in-residence in arts center Vooruit in Ghent and associated artist of le CENTQUATRE Paris and Cirque-théâtre Elbeuf. He’s cultural ambassador of the city of Roeselare and supported by Fondation BNP Paribas for the development of his projects.

Performance-Parcours

Screws

Alexander Vantournhout / not standing

Deutschlandpremiere
Uraufführung: 28.05.2019, Rencontres chorégraphiques internationales de Seine-Saint-Denis

Alexander Vantournhout ist sowohl im zeitgenössischen Tanz als auch im Circus ausgebildet. Er begibt sich in fünf Mikroperformances auf die Suche nach dem kreativen kinetischen Potential, das in den körperlichen Einschränkungen, in den Beziehungen und Grenzen zwischen Darsteller*innen und Objekten liegt.

Zwei weiblich gelesene Personen in Turnanzügen tragen Schneeketten an den Schuhen und balancieren ihre Körper, gegeneinander gelehnt, in einer diagonalen Position.

Alexander Vantournhout / not standing, Screws

© Bart Grietens

  • 60 min, ohne Pause

Normalerweise hat eine Bowlingkugel nur eine Funktion: am Ende der Bahn so viele Kegel wie möglich umzustoßen. Was aber, wenn man dieses Objekt aus seiner gewohnten Umgebung entfernt und aus dem Objekt ein Subjekt macht?

In „Screws“ führt Alexander Vantournhout das Publikum durch eine Reihe von Mikroperformances. Von kurzen Soli und Duetten bis hin zu pointierten Gruppenchoreografien wird die Beziehung zwischen dem Körper und dem Objekt umgedreht. Die am Körper befestigten Gegenstände, wie Eisschuhe, Bowlingkugeln oder Antigravitationsschuhe, geben ihm entweder Halt oder bringen ihn aus dem Gleichgewicht, wodurch die Schwerkraft überwunden oder ihre Wirkung verstärkt wird. Die Tänzer*innen sind aufgefordert, den Gesetzen der Physik zu widerstehen.

Diese ortsspezifische Performance führt die Zuschauer*innen auf einem Parcours durch das ICC. Sie sind eingeladen, sich anzuschließen und die Perspektiven zu wählen, aus denen sie die einzelnen Miniaturkompositionen wahrnehmen möchten.

Ein Projekt der Programmreihe Immersion.

Besetzung

Choreografie/ Circografie Alexander Vantournhout
Entwicklung Petra Steindl, Josse De Broeck, Felix Zech, Hendrik van Maele, Emmi Väisänen and Alexander Vantournhout
Performance Charlotte Cétaire, Harrison Claxton, Jessica Eirado Enes, Axel Guérin and Alexander Vantournhout
Dramaturgie Sébastien Hendrickx
Inhaltliche Beratung Rudi Laermans
Assistenz Choreografie Anneleen Keppens, Martin Kilvady
Kostüme Anne-Catherine Kunz
Technischer Leiter Rinus Samyn
Licht Tim Oelbrandt
Technik Bert Van Dijck, Rinus Samyn, Tom Reynaerts, Tom Daniels
Konstruktion Willy Cauwelier
Fotografie Bart Grietens
Management Kompagnie Esther Maas
Tourmanagement Aïda Gabriëls
Vertrieb Frans Brood Productions

Produktion not standing
Koproduktion Kunstencentrum Vooruit, Gent, MA, Montbeliard, PERPLX, Marke, CIRCa, Auch
Residenzen Kunstencentrum Vooruit, Gent, Platforme 2 Pôles Cirque en Normandie/La Brêche à Cherbourg-Cirque-Théâtre d’Elbeuf, Cultuurcentrum, Brugge, Wood Cube, Roeselare, Workspace, Brussels, MA, Montbéliard, Circa

Besonderen Dank an Lore Missine, Veerle Mans, Bauke Lievens, Maria Madeira, Lien Vanbossele, Monuments Nationaux de France et Simon Pons-Rotbardt

Mit Unterstützung der Flämischen Regierung
Alexander Vantournhout ist Residenzkünstler bei Kunstencentrum Vooruit, Gent und assoziierter Künstler bei Le CENTQUATRE Paris and Cirque-théâtre Elbeuf. Er ist Kulturbotschafter der Stadt Roeselare und wird von der Fondation BNP Paribas bei der Entwicklung seiner Projekte unterstützt.