Installation / Performance

Freeway Dance

Ayaka Nakama

The performance is an invitation: in Ayaka Nakama’s “Freeway Dance” a four-hour dance solo transforms a living garden in the technoid environment of the ICC into a place of music, memories, and encounters.

A female read person dances in the middle of a garden that is located within in a hall. The installation is surrounded by an audience watching the dancer.

Ayaka Nakama: Freeway Dance

© Hideto Maezawa

  • 4 h

What is our first memory of dancing? Two years ago, the Japanese choreographer and performance artist Ayaka Nakama asked people she knew well to describe their first memories of their actual selves dancing. Based on these accounts, she has used her own body to reconstruct the movements they described. This forms the starting point for “Freeway Dance”. Ayaka Nakama welcomes us within a garden installation, that invites visitors to linger while its numerous organisms and references undermine the notion of a monoculture.

The four-hour performance “Freeway Dance” will be performed on seven of the ten days whereas the idyllic garden and its swing are open to visitors throughout the day. On entry to the garden, visitors will be given headsets to augment their aural experience of the installation. Enhanced by sound projections through additional loudspeakers on the gallery level above the foyer, “Freeway Dance” presents a range of perspectives on a place of wonder, where people, memories, and cultures meet.

This project is funded by Inga Maren Otto.

Cast

Dance Ayaka Nakama
Dramaturge Shunsuke Manabe, Tomonori Fujisawa
Contributors of the memories (choreographies) Tsubasa Ako, Chihiro Kanoh, Kimiaki Nakama, Tomonori Fujisawa, Tadasu Masuda and others
Scenography Design Monai Aun, Mikio Tazoe
Stage Manager Aiko Harima
Lighting Planner Asako Miura
Sound Bunsho Nishikawa
Black Cat Kasumi Harada
Cinema Bounce! Bounce! by Junya Suzuki
Management DANCE BOX
Tour Manager Satoko Shibata

Installation / Performance

Freeway Dance

Ayaka Nakama

Die Aufführung ist eine Einladung: Mit Ayaka Nakamas „Freeway Dance“ verwandelt sich inmitten des technoiden ICC ein belebter Garten durch ein vierstündiges Tanzsolo in einen Ort der Musik, der Erinnerung und der Begegnung.

Eine weibliche gelesene Person tanzt inmitten einer Gartenlandschaft, die sich in einer Halle befindet. Die Installation wird ringsum von einem Publikum umgeben, die der tanzenden Person zuschauen.

Ayaka Nakama: Freeway Dance

© Hideto Maezawa

Was ist unsere erste Erinnerung ans Tanzen? Vor zwei Jahren bat die japanische Choreografin und Performance-Künstlerin Ayaka Nakama Menschen aus ihrem engeren Umfeld, ihre erste Erinnerung ihres tanzenden Selbst zu beschreiben. Basierend auf diesen Erzählungen rekonstruiert sie die geschilderten Bewegungen mit ihrem eigenen Körper. Das ist der Ausgangspunkt von „Freeway Dance“. Inmitten einer Garten-Installation, die zum Verweilen einlädt und zugleich mit ihren zahlreichen Bezügen und Organismen die Idee der Monokultur unterläuft, heißt uns Ayaka Nakama willkommen.

Die vierstündige Performance „Freeway Dance“ wird an sieben von zehn Tagen aufgeführt, wobei der paradiesische Garten und seine Schaukel den Besucher*innen durchgehend zugänglich ist. Beim Eintritt erhalten alle Gäste einen Kopfhörer, der das Erleben der Installation verstärkt. Ergänzt durch eine Soundübertragung auf weitere Lautsprecher auf der Galerieebene oberhalb des Foyers, bietet „Freeway Dance“ unterschiedliche Perspektiven auf einen Ort der Verwunderung, an dem verschiedene Menschen, Erinnerungen und Kulturen aufeinandertreffen.

Ein Projekt der Programmreihe Immersion.

Besetzung

Tanz Ayaka Nakama
Dramaturgie Shunsuke Manabe, Tomonori Fujisawa
Choreografischer Beitrag “Erinnerung” Tsubasa Ako, Chihiro Kanoh, Kimiaki Nakama, Tomonori Fujisawa, Tadasu Masuda and others
Bühnenbild Monai Aun, Mikio Tazoe
Stage Manager Aiko Harima
Licht Asako Miura
Sound Bunsho Nishikawa
Schwarze Katze Kasumi Harada
Kino Bounce! Bounce! by Junya Suzuki
Management DANCE BOX
Tourmanagement Satoko Shibata