Cinema

The New Infinity Cinema

With films by Jeremy Shaw, Ana Vaz, Andrew Norman Wilson, Jane Jin Kaisen and Cyprien Gaillard. Curated by Agnieszka Polska.

Where does the growing interest in experiencing one’s own demise and the demise of the world in the most immersive way possible come from when dealing with works of art? For the first time, The New Infinity presents a film programme curated by the artist Agnieszka Polska for this occasion in the cinema hall of the Zeiss Large Planetarium. With their own narrative and poetics, the selected contributions react to the confrontation with an environment doomed to end. They are reports of dramatic experiences of transformation, of the circulation of substances and bodies as well as of immaterial streams of information. With films by Jeremy Shaw, Ana Vaz, Andrew Norman Wilson, Jane Jin Kaisen and Cyprien Gaillard.

Film still from “Ode to Seekers 2012” by Andrew Norman Wilson

Ode to Seekers 2012

© Andrew Norman Wilson

  • 46 min

Please note:
Stroboscopic light effects are used in this event. At certain lightning frequencies, epileptic seizures may be triggered.

Jeremy Shaw: Introduction to the Memory Personality

Part clandestine guided-hypnosis tape, part pseudo-psychoanalytical video questionnaire, “Introduction to The Memory Personality” sucks the viewer into a persuasive single-point-perspective on human consciousness and memory. Created specifically for the One on One exhibition at KW, Berlin, in 2012, (in which all works were made to only be viewed by one person at a time), the video’s VHS aesthetic serves as a levelling platform for an alchemical mix of neuroscience, motion-graphics, first-person POV, mind manipulation techniques, found footage collages and ominous narration recalling vague moments from a real or imagined past. “Introduction to The Memory Personality” assumes the role of thrift shop dollar-bin curio brought home, viewed, and lodged permanently somewhere in the back of your psyche.

Ana Vaz: Atomic Garden

“We could say that a firework is not different from a tree, or from a big artificial flower that grows, develops, flowers and dies in a few seconds. Withered, finally, it soon disappears in unrecognizable fragments. Well, let’s take this firework and make it last for a month, and we will have a flower with all the characteristics of other flowers. Or so, inverting the order of factors, may we imagine that the seed of a plant can explode like a bomb.” – Bruno Munari

Andrew Norman Wilson: Ode to Seekers 2012

“Ode to Seekers 2012” (2016) was the second project Andrew Norman Wilson developed in collaboration with the Romanian animator Vlad Maftei, and was initially conceived at Rockland Psychiatric Center in Orangeburg New York, which contains the abandoned children’s ward seen in the video. Loosely based on John Keats’ poem “Ode on a Grecian Urn” (1820), the work emerges from a translation of the formal techniques of Keats’ textual ode to an infinitely looping video. Ekphrasis—the graphic, dramatic description of a visual work of art—shifts from Keats’ urn and the celebratory scene it depicts to an abandoned children’s ward at a mental institution and a computer-generated scene composed by Wilson and Maftei. “What mad pursuit? What struggle to escape? What pipes and timbrels? What wild ecstasy?” The questions that Keats asks of the images on the urn are visually translated for the viewer of “Ode to Seekers”, transposing the poet’s queries to a scene in which a mosquito, a syringe, and an oil pump all thrust their piercers into a surface that looks at once like human skin under a microscope, desert salt flats, and potato casserole.

Jane Jin Kaisen: Strange Meetings

“Strange Meetings” was filmed at a former treatment facility for sexually transmitted diseases located near the DMZ in South Korea. The prevalence of STD among US soldiers stationed in Korea in the 1970s became a bilateral crisis and women who worked in the US military camptowns were often suspected of carrying STDs and some were forcibly detained in the center. While the building served to isolate bodies presumed contaminated from those deemed clean, the site today, however, materially bears witness to the entangled relations behind its establishment and the impossibility of creating neat separations. Beyond being an abandoned site in decay, the former STD center now serves as a backdrop for another strange meeting: A performance takes place behind the building each weekend, inadvertently complicating the relationship between past and present and diffusing the reading of the site by overriding but potentially also purging its history.

Cyprien Gaillard: Ocean II Ocean

As with much of Cyprien Gaillard's work, “Ocean II Ocean” (2019) connects disparate, evocative references into a concerto of images, sound, and movement. The film is divided into two sections that follow upon each other in an infinite loop. In the first, Gaillard’s camera focuses on fossils encrusted in the underground walls of metro stations in Russia and the former Soviet Bloc. The fossils speak to the prehistoric, watery histories of the sites that generated these materials. The other half of Ocean II Ocean follows MTA subway cars on a journey across tracks out to sea, ceremoniously dumped into the Atlantic Ocean, destined to become substrate for future reefs. Diving below the water’s surface, the camera captures marine animals moving among the steel carriages. The frenetic energy of the film’s soundtrack, produced by Gaillard from samples of recordings of a steel pan orchestra, connects these stainless steel carcasses with the percussive sound of steel. Known for their carnivalesque echoes, steel pans are historically from Trinidad and Tobago and traditionally made from discarded oil barrels, whose original contents relate both to the creation of fossil fuel and to the contemporary pollution and demise of underwater life. Connected both thematically and materially, Gaillard’s film makes apparent the recurring, tidal movements both of oceans and of the earth’s interactions with human history.

Jeremy Shaw: Introduction to the Memory Personality (2012, 12 min 38s)
Ana Vaz: Atomic Garden (2013, 8 min)
Andrew Norman Wilson: Ode to Seekers 2012 (2016, 8 min 30s)
Jane Jin Kaisen: Strange Meetings (2017, 4 min 55s)
Cyprien Gaillard: Ocean II Ocean (2019, 11 min)

Film

The New Infinity Cinema

Mit Filmen von Jeremy Shaw, Ana Vaz, Andrew Norman Wilson, Jane Jin Kaisen und Cyprien Gaillard. Kuratiert von Agnieszka Polska.

Woher kommt das steigende Interesse daran, in der Auseinandersetzung mit Kunstwerken ausgerechnet den eigenen Untergang und den Untergang der Welt möglichst immersiv zu erfahren? Erstmals präsentiert The New Infinity im Kinosaal des Zeiss-Großplanetariums ein von der Künstlerin Agnieszka Polska für diesen Anlass kuratiertes Filmprogramm. Die ausgewählten Beiträge reagieren mit ihrer je eigenen Erzählung und Poetik auf die Konfrontation mit einer dem Ende geweihten Umwelt. Sie sind Berichte von dramatischen Transformationserfahrungen, von der Zirkulation von Substanzen und Körpern ebenso wie von immateriellen Informationsströmen. Mit Filmen von Jeremy Shaw, Ana Vaz, Andrew Norman Wilson, Jane Jin Kaisen und Cyprien Gaillard.

Filmstill aus „Ode to Seekers 2012“ von Andrew Norman Wilson

Ode to Seekers 2012

© Andrew Norman Wilson

  • 46 min

Bitte beachten Sie:
In dieser Veranstaltung werden stroboskopische Lichteffekte eingesetzt. Bei bestimmten Blitzfrequenzen können unter Umständen epileptische Anfälle ausgelöst werden.

Jeremy Shaw: Introduction to the Memory Personality

In einer Mischung aus unheimlicher Hypnose-Kassette und pseudo-psychoanalytischem Video-Fragebogen verwickelt „Introduction to The Memory Personality“ den/die Betrachter*in in eine verführerische Zentralperspektive über das menschliche Bewusstsein und die Erinnerung. Die VHS-Ästhetik dieser Arbeit, die für die Ausstellung „One on One“ 2012 im KW Berlin entstand, in der jedes Werk nur von je einer Person gleichzeitig zu betrachten war, dient als ausgleichendes Element für einen alchemistischen Mix aus Neurowissenschaften, Motion-Graphics, POV, Techniken der Gedankensteuerung, Found Footage-Collagen und einer geheimnisvollen Erzählung, die Momente aus einer realen oder imaginären Vergangenheit zurückholt. „Introduction to the Memory Personality“ wirkt wie ein kurioses Objekt aus einem Trödelladen: Man nimmt es mit nach Hause, betrachtet es von allen Seiten und legt es schließlich irgendwo tief in der eigenen Psyche ab.

Ana Vaz: Atomic Garden

„Man könnte sagen, dass sich ein Feuerwerkskörper nicht von einem Baum oder einer großen künstlichen Blume unterscheidet, die wächst, sich entwickelt, blüht und in wenigen Sekunden vergeht. Verwelkt verschwindet sie schließlich bald in unerkennbaren Bruchstücken. Nehmen wir dieses Feuerwerk und lassen es einen Monat lang bestehen, dann haben wir eine Blume mit allen Eigenschaften anderer Blumen. Oder kehren wir die Reihenfolge der Faktoren um und stellen uns vor, dass der Samen einer Pflanze wie eine Bombe explodieren kann.“ – Bruno Munari

Andrew Norman Wilson: Ode to Seekers 2012

„Ode to Seekers 2012“ (2016) ist die zweite Zusammenarbeit zwischen Andrew Norman Wilson und dem rumänischen Animator Vlad Maftei. Sie entstand im Rockland Psychiatric Center in Orangeburg, New York, wo sich die verlassene Kinderstation befindet, die im Video zu sehen ist. In einer Übertragung von John Keats' Gedicht „Ode on a Grecian Urn“ (1820) auf das Medium Video entsteht eine filmische Arbeit in endlosem Loop. Die Ekphrasis – die grafische, dramatische Beschreibung eines visuellen Kunstwerks – wechselt von Keats' Urne und der darin dargestellten feierlichen Szene zu einer verlassenen Kinderstation in einer psychiatrischen Anstalt und der von Wilson und Maftei komponierten Szene. „Welch' verrücktes Streben? Welcher Kampf um die Flucht? Was für Pfeifen und Pauken? Welch' wilde Ekstase?“ Die Fragen, die Keats den Bildern auf der Urne stellt, werden für den/die Betrachter*in von „Ode to Seekers“ visuell übersetzt in eine Szenerie, in der eine Mücke, eine Spritze und eine Ölpumpe ihre Stacheln in eine Oberfläche stechen, die an menschliche Haut unter dem Mikroskop ebenso erinnert wie an eine Salzwüste oder einen Kartoffelauflauf.

Jane Jin Kaisen: Strange Meetings

"Strange Meetings“ wurde in einer ehemaligen Behandlungseinrichtung für sexuell übertragbare Krankheiten in der Nähe der DMZ in Südkorea gedreht. Die Verbreitung von Geschlechtskrankheiten unter in Korea stationierten US-Soldaten führte in den 1970er Jahren zu einer bilateralen Krise. Frauen, die in den US-Militär-Camptowns arbeiteten, wurden häufig verdächtigt, Überträgerinnen von Geschlechtskrankheiten zu sein, einige von ihnen wurden in der Einrichtung zwangsweise festgehalten. Während das Gebäude dazu diente, mutmaßlich kontaminierte Körper von denen zu trennen, die als sauber galten, zeugt der Ort heute von den verwickelten Beziehungen, die hinter seiner Einrichtung standen, und von der Unmöglichkeit klarer Trennungen. Das ehemalige Zentrum für Geschlechtskrankheiten ist nicht nur ein verlassener Ort, der dem Verfall preisgegeben ist, sondern dient jetzt auch als Kulisse für eine andere seltsame Begegnung: Jedes Wochenende findet hinter dem Gebäude eine Performance statt, die ungewollt die Beziehung zwischen Vergangenheit und Gegenwart verkompliziert, den Blick auf diesen Ort überschreibt und seine Geschichte auszulöschen droht.

Cyprien Gaillard: Ocean II Ocean

Wie bei vielen Arbeiten von Cyprien Gaillard verbindet auch „Ocean II Ocean“ (2019) disparate, suggestive Referenzen zu einem Konzert aus Bildern, Ton und Bewegung. Der Film ist in zwei Abschnitte unterteilt, die in einem Loop aufeinander folgen. Im ersten Teil fokussiert Gaillards Kamera auf Fossilien, die in den unterirdischen Wänden von Metrostationen in Russland und dem ehemaligen Sowjetblock verkrustet sind. Die Fossilien erzählen von der prähistorischen, wässrigen Geschichte der Orte, die diese Materialien hervorgebracht haben. Der zweite Teil von „Ocean II Ocean“ folgt den MTA-U-Bahn-Waggons auf ihrer Reise über die Gleise hinaus ins Meer, wo sie feierlich in den Atlantik gekippt werden, um als Substrat für zukünftige Riffe zu dienen. Die Kamera taucht unter die Wasseroberfläche und fängt Meerestiere ein, die sich zwischen den Stahlwaggons bewegen. Die frenetische Energie der Tonspur des Films, die Gaillard aus Samples von Aufnahmen eines Steel-Pan-Orchesters produziert hat, verbindet diese Kadaver aus Edelstahl mit dem perkussiven Klang von Stahl. Die Stahlpfannen, die für ihre karnevalesken Klänge bekannt sind, stammen historisch aus Trinidad und Tobago und werden traditionell aus ausrangierten Ölfässern hergestellt, deren ursprünglicher Inhalt sowohl auf die Gewinnung fossiler Brennstoffe als auch auf die heutige Verschmutzung und die Auslöschung des Lebens unter Wasser verweist. In einem thematischen und materiellen Zusammenhang macht Gaillards Film die wiederkehrenden Gezeitenbewegungen der Ozeane und die Wechselwirkungen der Erde mit der menschlichen Geschichte deutlich.

Jeremy Shaw: Introduction to the Memory Personality (2012, 12 min 38s)
Ana Vaz: Atomic Garden (2013, 8 min)
Andrew Norman Wilson: Ode to Seekers 2012 (2016, 8 min 30s)
Jane Jin Kaisen: Strange Meetings (2017, 4 min 55s)
Cyprien Gaillard: Ocean II Ocean (2019, 11 min)