Cinema
70 Years of Berliner Festspiele

Channel Three. Arts

Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein
Sound: Max Heesen
Ultra-Widescreen Format, Stereo
2021

“Channel Three. Arts” shows a compilation, lasting more than four hours, of art presentations taken from every decade of the festival’s history, selected because they expose the greatest possible intransigence, obstinacy and lunacy.

Cars that are parked in an open air-area. In the centre of the image a female read person can be seen who walks towards the left. In the right foreground of the image is a male read person. He stands, with his back to the camera, in front of one of the cars.

“Berlin Fieber – Wolf Vostell” by Ulrike Ottinger in: “Channel Three. Arts”, Thilo Fischer and David von der Stein, 2021. Film, colour, sound. Film still

© Courtesy of the artists

  • 263 min
  • German, English, French, Russian, partly with German subtitles

With their comprehensive film collage on the occasion of the 70th anniversary of the Berliner Festspiele, Thilo Fischer and David von der Stein set off on a journey through time. The assemblage includes previously unpublished material whose video and sound have now been restored and digitised, overcoming the scepticism about the feasibility of preserving stage arts from long ago. It conveys the same feeling that a live audience might once have experienced. From Anna Magnani through Herbie Mann and John Cage to Merce Cunningham, the programme covering the first 20 years gathers the Who’s Who of the international art scene. Also included are discoveries such as the Living Theatre from New York, the bagpipes jazz player Rufus Harley from Pennsylvania, and Berlin greats such as Boris Blacher, Boleslaw Barlog, Erwin Piscator, and Tatjana Gsovsky. Artistic presentations from Africa have also been part of the programme from the outset.

In the 1970s, artists increasingly moved away from conventional performance venues and started using exhibition spaces for their performances and concerts. They also made use of public space. The audience was encouraged to participate directly, and political, activist and processional aspects entered the programme of the Berliner Festwochen. From events to circuses, procession to confusion – the art of the 70s shook things up and challenged the status quo. This part includes theatre by Samuel Beckett, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Tadeusz Kantor and Peter Zadek; performance art from New York; an entire festival dedicated to the circus; dance and drama from China; war dances from Burundi; and events by Allan Kaprow and Wolf Kahlen.
At the Metamusik festivals of the Austrian music pioneer Walter Bachauer, and later at the first Horizonte festivals, music of all genres and continents came together: griots from Africa, rock from Europe, experimental singing from America and koto string playing from Japan. Also on show are acts by Gordon Matta-Clark, George Maciunas and Wolf Vostell, Luca Ronconi’s knights charging through the audience and, for the first time in Europe, traditional Kabuki theatre from Tokyo.

In the 1980s, divided Berlin as a construction for peace in Europe becomes the dominant theme of the programs of the Berliner Festspiele. Above all, the painting and theatre art of East Germany was appreciated in the west of the city long before the fall of the Wall. As the school band Anyway performed at the Treffen Junger Liedermacher (Meeting of Young Songwriters) in 1989, the opening of the German-German border took place just a few kilometres away. Since then, the German-language theatre scene has been strongly influenced by East German artists such as Bert Neumann, Corinna Harfouch, Frank Castorf and Heiner Müller. But the theatre performed at the Berliner Festwochen also drew new energy from other directions: Pina Bausch was the first person to perform dance at the Theatertreffen, Thomas Brasch’s controversial play scripts were interpreted exuberantly there, and Einar Schleef deployed the potent forces of choric theatre. In addition, René Block invented an exhibition for the eyes and ears that was devoted entirely to musical spatial experimentation; an exhibition on Prussia was on display at the reopened Gropius Bau; and the open-air exhibition “Topography of Terror”, which still exists today, opened on the neighbouring site.

Arriving in the 21st century, we look back at Jean-Luc Courcoult’s legendary urban space reunification spectacle, “The Giants”; Olafur Elíasson’s play with optical illusions; René Pollesch’s discourses at the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz; Milo Rau’s highly political documentary theatre; Christoph Schlingensief’s Nazi Hamlet; Sasha Waltz’s abstract dance pathos; Susanne Kennedy’s expressive alienation theatre; and much more. Rarely has art on the stages of the Berliner Festspiele been as uncompromising and stubborn as it has been for the last 20 years. It no longer has to win anything; the play itself is the big prize. More is more, and love, brutality and humour are not mutually exclusive. We follow this assessment all the way to the home stretch. Artists such as Vegard Vinge and Ida Müller, Ragnar Kjartansson, William Forsythe, Jonathan Meese and Ilya Khrzhanovsky once again strike deep into the pit of the stomach of the international art world. Either it will be very loud or very quiet, extremely long or pure repetition, quickly and directly transferred from the immediate reality of life or artificially created over several years. We also look back at the Immersion programme series and see wonderfully sprawling musical experiments.

“We can’t start until you’re out!” (That is the announcement at the beginning of the performance “Stomp” by the group The Combine; Circus Busch, Berliner Festwochen 1970)

Cooperation partners

null     Logo 3 sat     Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur

Partners
Akademie der Künste, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Medienkunst e.V., Associazione Grupporiani, Berlin Art Link, Boosey & Hawkes, Bundesarchiv, Transit Film, EAI Electronic Arts Intermix, Edition Peters Group C.F. Peters Ltd & Co, Felix Bloch Erben, Filmgalerie 451, Japan Actors Association, Kobalt Productions GmbH, MONA productions, Sammlung Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstverein e.V. (n.b.k.), Phenomen Berlin Filmproduktion GmbH, Progress Film GmbH, Suhrkamp Theater Verlag, Shochiku Co. Ltd. Tokyo, Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Südwestrundfunk (SWR), Telewizja Polska S.A., ZDF / Arte, ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe

With special thanks to
German Embassy in Bujumbura (Burundi), Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in the Federal Republic of Germany, Bunraku Kyokai, Osaka (Japan), German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), Deutsches Rundfunkarchiv, Galerie Hauser & Wirth (Zürich), Goethe-Institut Tokyo and Kyoto (Japan), Goethe-Institut Kigali (Rwanda), Japanese-German Center Berlin, Japan Foundation in Berlin, The Living Theatre, La MaMa Archive, Landesarchiv Berlin, National Ballet of China, Neue Nationalgalerie (SMB), Nohgaku-Kyokai (Association of Noh Actors), Rowohlt Verlag GmbH, Wolf Vostell Estate as well as
René Block, Maksym Demydenko, Guido Diekmann, Ulrich Eckhardt, Helfrid Foron, Petra und Erhard Grosskopf, Felix Gruntz, Werner Heegewaldt, Nathalie Huck, Mona Intemann, Peter Konopatsch, Torsten Maß, Udo Lindenberg, Ida Müller, Heinz-Dieter Reese, Frieder Schlaich, Julia Schmejkal and Martina Seidel

© Courtesy of the artists

Kino
70 Jahre Berliner Festspiele

Channel Three. Arts

Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein
Ton: Max Heesen
Superbreitbildformat, Stereo
2021

„Channel Three. Arts“ zeigt einen insgesamt mehr als vier Stunden langen Zusammenschnitt von Kunstpositionen aus allen Jahrzehnten der Festspielgeschichte, ausgewählt nach größtmöglicher Kompromisslosigkeit, Eigensinn und Wahnwitz.

Autos, die auf einem Platz unter freiem Himmel geparkt sind. In der Bildmitte ist eine weibliche gelesene Person zu sehen, die nach links geht. Im Vordergrund ist eine männlich gelesene Person, die mit dem Rücken zur Kamera, vor einem der Autos steht.

„Berlin Fieber – Wolf Vostell” von Ulrike Ottinger in: „Channel Three. Arts”, Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein, 2021. Film, Farbe, Ton. Filmstill

© Courtesy of the artists

  • 263 min
  • Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Russisch, teilweise mit deutschen Untertiteln

Mit ihrer umfassenden filmischen Collage anlässlich des 70. Jubiläums der Berliner Festspiele begeben sich Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein auf Zeitreise. Das teils unveröffentlichte, in Bild und Ton restaurierte und digitalisierte Material schlägt der Skepsis gegenüber der Konservierbarkeit längst vergangener Bühnenkünste ein Schnippchen und transportiert ein Gefühl davon, was einst live zu erleben war. Anna Magnani, Herbie Mann, John Cage oder Merce Cunningham – das Programm der ersten 20 Jahre (1951-1969) Festspielgeschichte versammelt bereits klangvolle Namen der internationalen Kunstszene. Es sind Entdeckungen wie das Living Theatre aus New York oder der Dudelsack-Jazzer Rufus Harley aus Pennsylvania, aber auch Berliner Größen wie Boris Blacher, Boreslaw Barlog, Erwin Piscator oder Tatjana Gsovsky dabei. Auch Kunstpositionen aus Afrika sind von Beginn an Teil des Programms.

In den 1970er-Jahren verlassen die Künstler*innen verstärkt die konventionellen Aufführungsorte – sie bespielen Ausstellungsräume mit Performances und Konzerten und erobern auch den öffentlichen Raum. Das Publikum wird zur direkten Teilhabe ermutigt und das Politische, Aktivistische und Prozessuale erhält Einzug in das Programm. Von Happening bis Zirkus, von Prozession bis Konfusion – die Kunst der 70er rüttelt auf und agitiert. Dazu gehört: Theater von Samuel Beckett, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Tadeusz Kantor und Peter Zadek, Performancekunst aus New York, ein ganzes Festival gewidmet dem Zirkus, Tanzdrama aus China, Kriegstänze aus Burundi und Happenings von Allan Kaprow und Wolf Kahlen. Außerdem trifft in den Metamusik-Festivals des österreichischen Musikpioniers Walter Bachauer und später auch in den ersten Horizonte-Festivals die Musik aller Genres und Kontinente aufeinander: Griots aus Afrika, Rock aus Europa, experimenteller Gesang aus Amerika und Koto-Saitenspiel aus Japan. Zu sehen sind auch Aktionen von Gordon Matta-Clark, George Maciunas und Wolf Vostell, Luca Ronconis Ritterspiele und erstmals in Europa traditionelles Kabuki-Theater aus Tokio.

Das geteilte Berlin als Konstruktion für den Frieden in Europa wird zum beherrschenden Thema der Programme der Berliner Festspiele in den 1980er-Jahren. Vor allem die Malerei und die Theaterkunst der DDR findet bereits lang vor dem Mauerfall ihre Wertschätzung im Westteil der Stadt. Als die Schülerband Anyway 1989 beim Treffen Junger Liedermacher auftritt, findet zeitgleich wenige Kilometer weiter die Grenzöffnung statt. Die deutschsprachige Theaterszene wird fortan nachdrücklich geprägt von ostdeutschen Künstler*innen wie Bert Neumann, Corinna Harfouch, Frank Castorf und Heiner Müller. Doch auch aus anderen Richtungen bezieht das bei den Berliner Festwochen aufgeführte Theater neue Schlagkraft: Pina Bausch zeigt erstmals Tanz beim Theatertreffen, Thomas Braschs kontroverse Stücktexte werden überbordend interpretiert und Einar Schleef setzt die Wirkkräfte des Dokumentartheaters ein. Daneben erfindet René Block eine Ausstellung für Augen und Ohren, die sich ganz dem musikalischen Raumexperiment widmet, im wiedereröffneten Martin-Gropius-Bau läuft eine Ausstellung über Preußen und auf dem Nachbargrundstück wird die bis heute bestehende „Topographie des Terrors“ eröffnet.

Angekommen im 21. Jahrhundert blicken wir noch einmal zurück auf das legendäre Stadtraum-Wiedervereinigungs-Spektakel „Die Riesen“ von Jean-Luc Courcoult, auf Olafur Eliassons Spiel mit optischer Täuschung, René Polleschs Volksbühnendiskurse, Milo Raus hochpolitisches Dokumentartheater, Christoph Schlingensiefs Nazi-Hamlet, Sasha Waltz abstrakten Tanzpathos, Susanne Kennedys expressives Verfremdungstheater und vieles mehr. Selten war die Kunst auf den Bühnen der Berliner Festspiele vielleicht so kompromisslos und eigensinnig wie in den letzten 20 Jahren. Sie begreift, dass sie nichts mehr gewinnen muss, sondern das Spiel selbst der große Gewinn ist. More is more und Liebe, Brutalität und Humor schließen sich keinesfalls aus. Dieser Einschätzung folgen wir bis zur Zielgerade. Künstler*innen wie Ida Müller und Vegard Vinge, Ragnar Kjartansson, William Forsythe, Jonathan Meese und Ilya Khrzhanovsky schlagen zum Ende noch einmal tief in die Magengrube internationaler Kunstbeflissenheit. Entweder wird es ganz laut, oder ganz leise, superlang oder pure Wiederholung, schnell und direkt überführt aus der unmittelbaren Lebensrealität oder jahrelang künstlich erschaffen. Außerdem blicken wir zurück auf die Programmreihe Immersion und sehen wunderbar ausufernde musikalische Experimente.

„Wir können erst anfangen, wenn Sie raus sind!“
(Ansage zu Beginn der Performance „Stomp“ der Gruppe The Combine, Zirkus Busch, Berliner Festwochen 1970)

Kooperationspartner

null     Logo 3 sat     Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur

Partner
Akademie der Künste, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Medienkunst e.V., Associazione Grupporiani, Berlin Art Link, Boosey & Hawkes, Bundesarchiv, Transit Film, EAI Electronic Arts Intermix, Edition Peters Group C.F. Peters Ltd & Co, Felix Bloch Erben, Filmgalerie 451, Japan Actors Association, Kobalt Productions GmbH, MONA productions, Sammlung Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstverein e.V. (n.b.k.), Phenomen Berlin Filmproduktion GmbH, Progress Film GmbH, Suhrkamp Theater Verlag, Shochiku Co. Ltd. Tokyo, Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Südwestrundfunk (SWR), Telewizja Polska S.A., ZDF / Arte, ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe

Mit besonderem Dank an
German Embassy in Bujumbura (Burundi), Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in the Federal Republic of Germany, Bunraku Kyokai, Osaka (Japan), German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), Deutsches Rundfunkarchiv, Galerie Hauser & Wirth (Zürich), Goethe-Institut Tokyo and Kyoto (Japan), Goethe-Institut Kigali (Rwanda), Japanese-German Center Berlin, Japan Foundation in Berlin, The Living Theatre, La MaMa Archive, Landesarchiv Berlin, National Ballet of China, Neue Nationalgalerie (SMB), Nohgaku-Kyokai (Association of Noh Actors), Rowohlt Verlag GmbH, Wolf Vostell Estate
René Block, Maksym Demydenko, Guido Diekmann, Ulrich Eckhardt, Helfrid Foron, Petra und Erhard Grosskopf, Felix Gruntz, Werner Heegewaldt, Nathalie Huck, Mona Intemann, Peter Konopatsch, Torsten Maß, Udo Lindenberg, Ida Müller, Heinz-Dieter Reese, Frieder Schlaich, Julia Schmejkal and Martina Seidel

© Courtesy of the artists