Cinema
70 Years of Berliner Festspiele

Channel Sixteen. Breaking News

Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein
Sound: Max Heesen
4:3, Stereo, 2021

Eleven minutes of television erupts, dealing with the Berliner Festwochen. The television reports from 1951 to 1987 reveal, with their sharp juxtaposition and vibrant musicality, the observant, judgmental, illustrative, oversimplifying and lurid tone of public reporting.

Four rows of images can be seen, each consisting of four identical images that feature four male read people. They stand in a row in front of a theatre curtain, wearing dark knee-length costume sets consisting of a jacket, knee-length pants, pulled-up socks and shoes. They move their hands.

Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein, “Channel Sixteen. Breaking News”, 2021. Film, colour, sound. Film still

© Courtesy of the artists

  • 11 min
  • German, no subtitles

The 11-minute film “Breaking News” puts the official reporting in focus: how was the festival Berliner Festwochen seen between 1951 and 1987, how was it commented on and what political events was it marked by? What emerges is a process of emancipation for the Berliner Festwochen, an institution caught between foreign policy and cultural policy mandates, the American allies, a national spirit of optimism, and an infinite amount of art and culture that demanded to be shown and discussed again after 1945. Emancipation is achieved primarily through the programme itself turning towards political, activist, experimental and avant-garde forms of art that include cultural and artistic spectrums beyond the Central European horizon. It is a televisual feast.

Cooperation partners

null     Logo 3 sat     Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur

Partners
Akademie der Künste, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Medienkunst e.V., Associazione Grupporiani, Berlin Art Link, Boosey & Hawkes, Bundesarchiv, Transit Film, EAI Electronic Arts Intermix, Edition Peters Group C.F. Peters Ltd & Co, Felix Bloch Erben, Filmgalerie 451, Japan Actors Association, Kobalt Productions GmbH, MONA productions, Sammlung Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstverein e.V. (n.b.k.), Phenomen Berlin Filmproduktion GmbH, Progress Film GmbH, Suhrkamp Theater Verlag, Shochiku Co. Ltd. Tokyo, Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Südwestrundfunk (SWR), Telewizja Polska S.A., ZDF / Arte, ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe

© Courtesy of the artists

Kino
70 Jahre Berliner Festspiele

Channel Sixteen. Breaking News

Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein
Ton: Max Heesen
4:3, Stereo, 2021

11 Minuten Fernsehgewitter über die Berliner Festwochen: In den Fernsehberichten aus den Jahren 1951 bis 1987 zeigt sich in scharfer Aneinanderreihung und peitschender Musikalität der beobachtende, kommentierende, illustrierende, verkürzende und reißerische Ton der öffentlichen Berichterstattung.

Es sind vier Bildreihen aus jeweils vier identischen Bildern zu sehen, die vier männlich gelesene Personen zeigen. Sie stehen vor einem Bühnenvorhang in in einer Reihe und tragen ein dunkles knielanges Kostümset aus Jacke, knielanger Hose, hochgezogenen Strümpfen und Schuhen. Sie bewegen ihre Hände.

Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein, „Channel Sixteen. Breaking News”, 2021. Film, Farbe, Ton. Filmstill

© Courtesy of the artists

  • 11 min
  • Deutsch ohne Untertitel

Der elfminütige Film „Breaking News“ rückt die öffentliche Berichterstattung in den Fokus: Wie wurden die Berliner Festwochen zwischen 1951 und 1987 wahrgenommen, wie kommentiert und von welchen politischen Ereignissen geprägt? Sichtbar wird ein Emanzipationsprozess der Institution Berliner Festwochen im Spannungsfeld zwischen außen- und kulturpolitischem Auftrag, den amerikanischen Alliierten, nationaler Aufbruchstimmung und unendlich viel Kunst und Kultur, die nach 1945 wieder gezeigt und diskutiert werden will. Emanzipation in erster Linie durch das Programm selbst: Hinwendung zu politischer, aktivistischer, experimenteller und avantgardistischer Kunst und Einbeziehung von Kultur- und Kunstspektren außerhalb des mitteleuropäischen Horizonts. Ein televisionäres Ornament.

Kooperationspartner

null     Logo 3 sat     Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur

Partner
Akademie der Künste, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Medienkunst e.V., Associazione Grupporiani, Berlin Art Link, Boosey & Hawkes, Bundesarchiv, Transit Film, EAI Electronic Arts Intermix, Edition Peters Group C.F. Peters Ltd & Co, Felix Bloch Erben, Filmgalerie 451, Japan Actors Association, Kobalt Productions GmbH, MONA productions, Sammlung Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstverein e.V. (n.b.k.), Phenomen Berlin Filmproduktion GmbH, Progress Film GmbH, Suhrkamp Theater Verlag, Shochiku Co. Ltd. Tokyo, Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Südwestrundfunk (SWR), Telewizja Polska S.A., ZDF / Arte, ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe

© Courtesy of the artists