Cinema
70 Years of Berliner Festspiele

Channel One. Talking Heads

Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein
Sound: Max Heesen
4:3, Stereo, 2021

Marking the anniversary of the Berliner Festspiele, “Channel One. Talking Heads” shows 70 years of authentic Berlin conversation, culture and war history from the Berliner Festwochen and Berliner Festspiele, all condensed into a 40-minute collage with top-class representatives from art and politics.

A Siamese cat in close-up. A human hand rests on its back. Behind the animal, a male read person can be seen who sits at a desk. In the background of the picture on the right, there are two people who are also seated in the same room.

Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein, “Channel One. Talking Heads”, 2021. Film, colour, sound. Film still

© Courtesy of the artists

  • 43 min
  • German, English, French with German subtitles

What consequences does Berlin’s former structure as a divided city have on the arts, culture and society? And which legacies of the Nazi era still shape the arts, politics and society today? What are their expectations for the arts? Should art serve only itself, or should it serve the whole complexity of reality? “Channel One. Talking Heads” takes another look at the significant conversations, discussions and meetings of the last 70 years. It features statements from luminaries such as Willy Brandt to Judith Malina, from Volker Braun to Alfred Hitchcock, from Martin Luther King Jr. to Hildegard Knef, from Fela Anikulapo Kuti to Steffie Spira and from Angela Hampel to Udo Lindenberg.

Cooperation partners

null     Logo 3 sat     Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur

Partners
Akademie der Künste, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Medienkunst e.V., Associazione Grupporiani, Berlin Art Link, Boosey & Hawkes, Bundesarchiv, Transit Film, EAI Electronic Arts Intermix, Edition Peters Group C.F. Peters Ltd & Co, Felix Bloch Erben, Filmgalerie 451, Japan Actors Association, Kobalt Productions GmbH, MONA productions, Sammlung Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstverein e.V. (n.b.k.), Phenomen Berlin Filmproduktion GmbH, Progress Film GmbH, Suhrkamp Theater Verlag, Shochiku Co. Ltd. Tokyo, Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Südwestrundfunk (SWR), Telewizja Polska S.A., ZDF / Arte, ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe

© Courtesy of the artists

Kino
70 Jahre Berliner Festspiele

Channel One. Talking Heads

Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein
Ton: Max Heesen
4:3, Stereo, 2021

„Channel One. Talking Heads“ zeigt anlässlich des Jubiläums der Berliner Festspiele 70 Jahre gelebte Gesprächskultur und Konfliktgeschichte der Stadt Berlin und der Institutionen Berliner Festwochen und Berliner Festspiele, verdichtet in einer 40-minütigen Collage mit hochkarätigen Vertreter*innen aus Kunst und Politik.

Eine siamesische Katze in Nahaufnahme. Auf ihrem Rücken ruht eine menschliche Hand. Hinter dem Tier ist eine an einem Tisch sitzende, männlich gelesene Person zu erkennen. Im rechten Bildhintergrund sind zwei Personen zu sehen, die auch im selben Raum sitzen.

Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein, „Channel One. Talking Heads”, 2021. Film, Farbe, Ton. Filmstill

© Courtesy of the artists

  • 43 min
  • Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch mit deutschen Untertiteln

Welche Folgen hat die Berliner Konstruktion als geteilte Stadt auf Kunst, Kultur und Gesellschaft? Und welche Hinterlassenschaften der Nazizeit prägen Kunst, Politik und Gesellschaft bis heute? Welchen Anspruch erheben sie an die Künste? Soll sie nur sich selbst dienen oder besser doch der ganzen komplexen Wirklichkeit? „Channel One. Talking Heads“ lässt bedeutende Gespräche, Diskussionen und Zusammenkünfte der letzten 70 Jahre Revue passieren. Mit dabei: Äußerungen von Willy Brandt bis Judith Malina, von Volker Braun bis Alfred Hitchcock, von Martin Luther King Jr. bis Hildegard Knef, von Fela Anikulapo Kuti bis Steffie Spira und von Angela Hampel bis Udo Lindenberg.

Kooperationspartner

null     Logo 3 sat     Logo Deutschlandfunk Kultur

Partner
Akademie der Künste, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Medienkunst e.V., Associazione Grupporiani, Berlin Art Link, Boosey & Hawkes, Bundesarchiv, Transit Film, EAI Electronic Arts Intermix, Edition Peters Group C.F. Peters Ltd & Co, Felix Bloch Erben, Filmgalerie 451, Japan Actors Association, Kobalt Productions GmbH, MONA productions, Sammlung Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstverein e.V. (n.b.k.), Phenomen Berlin Filmproduktion GmbH, Progress Film GmbH, Suhrkamp Theater Verlag, Shochiku Co. Ltd. Tokyo, Schott Music GmbH & Co. KG, Südwestrundfunk (SWR), Telewizja Polska S.A., ZDF / Arte, ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe

© Courtesy of the artists