Talk & Discussion

Bureau for Hybridising Encounters

Floating University Berlin

Floating University Berlin investigates alternative, biodiverse forms of co-habitation in a partially contaminated rainwater basin, part of the former Tempelhof airport. For ten days, the ICC will become the “Bureau for Hybridising Encounters" of the Floating e. V, which will continue to explore themes of reuse and repurposing of urban spaces through conversations, projections, and an open archive process.

A group of people sitting in a circle under the open sky. In the background on the right, there is a construction with a balloon-like, white roof. In the background on the left, a spatial construction with people sitting on its stairs can be seen.

Floating University Berlin

© Constanze Flamme

In 2018, the Floating University Berlin was initiated by the architecture office raumlaborberlin as an initially temporary laboratory for collective learning and cooperative research. Since 2019, the Floating e. V. – an artist run association is situated on the premises of the rainwater retention basin of the former Tempelhof airport, cohabiting this unusual location. The basin – a fully functioning urban infrastructure serves as both a workspace and a field of research: a natureculture (Haraway) in which a variety of animals and plants coexist with cultural activities.

The contribution of the Floating University to the ICC as part of “The Sun Machine Is Coming Down” is an attempt to transport the praxis of this hybrid association into the disused relic of the ICC and to develop new impulses for a sustainable opening based on this encounter.

Conceived of as a “Bureau for Hybridising Encounters” the Floating University Berlin will bring its culture of conversation into the ICC for 10 days, view and discuss materials from three years of activities, and, through two discoursive formats such as the "Floating Dialogues" and the "Future Talks", reflect retrospectively on its own work as well as prospectively on the potential of the ideas at the heart of our work: multi-species co-habitation in urban environments and the hybridising of urban infrastructure with cultural activity.

The setting for the winter office will bring atmospheres from the site of Floating through projections and spatial arrangements, not attempting to represent a space within a space, but to inhabit the ICC with a Floating feeling. Within the space, ongoing processes from the dense program of the Floating are also hosted, such as the Urban Practice residency.

For their project at Floating University, the artists in residence Zoe Claire Miller and Marco Schmitt constructed a mobile raku kiln. They will use it to banish the spirits and traumas of the systemic malformations within our capitalist, heteropatriarchal, and techno-feudalist social order into sculptures and exorcise them through the ritual act of raku firing. The sculptures will travel to ICC to serve as protective totems or talismans for the association members in the office.

A project organised by the programme series Immersion.

Floating Dialogues

Thursday, 7 October 2021
With Benjamin Foerster-Baldenius, Phillip Oswald, Florian Stirnemann and Rosario Talevi 22:30–23:30

Saturday, 9 October 2021
With Sarah Bovelett and Tatjana Schneider 15:00–16:00
With Katherine Ball and Christian Hiller 16:00–17:00
With Teresa Huppertz and Saskia Hebert 17:00-17:30

Sunday, 10 October 2021
With Hannah Lu Verse and Felix Wierschbitzki 15:00–16:00
With Ursula Rogg and Jeanne Astrup-Chauvaux 16:00–17:00
With Sabine Zahn and Lorenz Kuschnig 17:00–17:30

Future Talks

Tuesday, 12 October 2021
"Future Forms of Public-Civic Coalitions in the City" 20:00–21:00
With Sarah Bovelett, Benjamin Foerster-Baldenius, Adrienne Goehler, Mathias Heyden, Thomas Oberender and Felix Wierschbitzki

Wednesday, 13 October 2021
"The Future of Floating Kids Manifesto" 20:00–21:00
With voices from kids university, collected by Teresa Huppertz, Inci Güler and Ute Lindenbeck

Sunday, 17 October 2021
"The Future of Environmental Pedagogies" 20:00–21:00
With: Katherine Ball, Ignacio Farias, Sandra Jasper, Sina Ribak and Ela Spalding

Floating Archive Work

With Sarah Bovelett, Teresa Huppertz, Roman Karrer and various association members

Tuesday, 12 October 2021 17:00–20:00
Wednesday, 13 October 2021 17:00–20:00
Thursday, 14 October 2021 17:00–21:00
Friday, 15 October 2021 17:00–21:00
Saturday, 16 October 2021 15:00–21:00
Sunday, 17 October 2021 15:00–20:00

Vortrag & Gespräch

Bureau for Hybridising Encounters

Floating University Berlin

Floating University Berlin erprobt alternative, biodiverse Formen des Zusammenlebens in dem partiell kontaminierten Regenwasserrückhaltebecken des ehemaligen Flughafen Tempelhof. Das ICC wird für zehn Tage zum „Bureau for Hybridising Encounters“ des Floating e. V., welcher durch Gespräche, Projektionen und einen offenen Archivierungsprozess die Themen der Aktivierung und Umnutzung von städtischen Räumen vor Ort erforscht.

Eine Gruppe von Menschen im Stuhlkreis unter freiem Himmel. Im Bildhintergrund rechts ist eine Konstruktion mit einem ballonartigen, weißen Dach zu sehen. Im Bildhintergrund links eine Raumkonstruktion, auf dessen Treppen Menschen sitzen.

Floating University Berlin

© Constanze Flamme

2018 wurde die Floating University Berlin vom Architekturbüro raumlaborberlin als ursprünglich temporäres Laboratorium für kollektives Lernen und kooperierendes Forschen initiiert. Seit 2019 befindet sich der Floating e. V. – ein von Künstler:innen geführter Verein - auf dem Gelände des Regenrückhaltebeckens des ehemaligen Flughafen Tempelhof und besiedelt diesen ungewöhnlichen Ort. Das Becken – eine voll funktionsfähige urbane Infrastruktur - dient als Arbeitsraum und als Forschungsfeld: eine Naturkultur (Haraway), in der eine Vielzahl von Tieren und Pflanzen mit kulturellen Aktivitäten koexistieren.

Der Beitrag der Floating University zu „The Sun Machine Is Coming Down“ ist ein Versuch, die Praxis dieses hybriden Vereins in das stillgelegte Relikt des ICC zu transportieren und aus dieser Begegnung neue Impulse für eine nachhaltige Öffnung zu entwickeln.

Konzipiert als „Bureau for Hybridising Encounters“ wird die Floating University Berlin 10 Tage lang ihre Gesprächskultur ins ICC bringen, Materialien aus drei Jahren Aktivitäten aufbereiten und in Talk-Formaten sowohl retrospektiv über die eigene Arbeit als auch prospektiv über das Potential der Ideen, die im Zentrum ihrer Arbeit stehen, reflektieren: das Zusammenleben mehrerer Arten in urbanen Umgebungen und die Hybridisierung von urbaner Infrastruktur mit kultureller Aktivität.

Das Büro wird durch Projektionen und räumliche Arrangements versuchen, die Atmosphäre vom Ort der Floating ins ICC zu übertragen. Dabei wird kein Raum im Raum geschaffen, sondern das ICC selbst mit einem Floating-Gefühl befüllt. Ein Teil der Präsentation gilt den beiden Künstler*innen der aktuell laufenden Urbane Praxis Residency.

Als Artists in Residence an der Floating University haben Zoe Claire Miller und Marco Schmitt einen mobilen Raku-Ofen gebaut. Sie nutzen ihn, um die Geister und Traumata der systemischen Missbildungen innerhalb unserer kapitalistischen, heteropatriarchalen und technofeudalistischen Gesellschaftsordnung in Skulpturen zu bannen und sie durch den rituellen Akt des Raku-Brennens zu exorzieren. Ausgestellt im ICC, begleiten die Skulpturen schützend als Totems oder Talismane die stattfindenden Interventionen.

Ein Projekt der Programmreihe Immersion