Cinema
70 Years of Berliner Festspiele

Dämonen (The Devils)

Fyodor Dostoevsky, directed by Frank Castorf
Colour
Theatertreffen 2000
Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz / Wiener Festwochen

Recorded performance 11.3.2000

Anyone living in the depths of the abyss has the worst behind them. Dostoyevsky’s "The Devils" is set during the transition from religious faith to materialist ideology, yet the work not only anticipates the approaching death of God, but also the failure of socialism.

A theatre stage immerged in bluish light. On its left side is a partially vitrified spatial construction. In the pink-lit interior of the enclosure that is filled with smoke, there is a male read person who is standing.

Frank Castorf, “The Devils”, 2000. Film, 232'17", colour, sound. Film still

© Volksbühne Berlin | Bert Neumann Association

  • 232 min
  • In German and Russian without subtitles

Created in the 1860s, Fjodor Dostojewsky‘s novel not only opens up a philosophical panorama of the range of human striving for transcendence, it also establishes such fateful bonds between striving individuals that only the full terror of the constitutional state can put a stop to its widespread destruction. Beauty and terror mate before the onset of darkness. In a last house just before the Russia’s western border, somewhere in between Paris, Texas, Cindy Sherman, Dogma 95 and Duma 2000. Frank Castorf directs in stage and costume designs by Bert Neumann. Appearing on stage are Henry Hübchen, Milan Peschel, Silvia Rieger, Martin Wuttke, Kathrin Angerer, Bernhard Schütz, Sophie Rois, Hendrik Arnst and others.

Cast

Directed by Frank Castorf
Stage and Costume Design Bert Neumann
Dramaturgy Matthias Pees
Musical Directors Sir Henry, Thomas Krinzinger
Recording Erhard Ertel

With: Kathrin Angerer, Hendrik Arnst, Henry Hübchen, Sebastian König, Astrid Meyerfeldt, Milan Peschel, Silvia Rieger, Sophie Rois, Bernhard Schütz, Sir Henry, Jeanette Spassova, Joachim Tomaschewsky, Ulrich Voß and Martin Wuttke

© Volksbühne Berlin | Bert Neumann Association

Kino
70 Jahre Berliner Festspiele

Dämonen

Fjodor Dostojewski, Regie Frank Castorf
Farbe
Theatertreffen 2000
Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz / Wiener Festwochen

Aufzeichnung der Aufführung am 11.3.2000

Wer im Abgrund lebt, hat das Gröbste hinter sich. Fjodor Dostojewskis „Dämonen“ spielt am Übergang vom religiösen Glauben zur materialistischen Ideologie, doch ahnt das Werk nicht nur den nahenden Tod Gottes voraus, sondern auch schon das Scheitern des Sozialismus.

Eine Theaterbühne, die in blaues Licht getaucht ist. Auf ihr links befindet sich eine teils verglaste Raumkonstruktion. In dem verqualmten und pink beleuchteten Innenraum des Gehäuses steht eine männlich gelesene Person.

Frank Castorf, „Dämonen“, 2000. Film, 232'17", Farbe, Ton. Filmstill

© RBB | Courtesy of the artists

  • 232 min
  • In deutscher und russischer Sprache ohne Untertitel

Entstanden in den sechziger Jahren des 19. Jahrhunderts, eröffnet Fjodor Dostojewskis Roman „Dämonen“ nicht nur ein philosophisches Panorama des unterschiedlichen menschlichen Strebens nach Transzendenz, sondern knüpft auch derart schicksalhafte Bande zwischen den einzelnen Strebenden, dass am Ende nur der ganze Schrecken staatlicher Konstitution der allgemeinen Vernichtung Einhalt gebieten kann. Schönheit und Terror paaren sich vor Einbruch der Dunkelheit. In einem letzten Haus kurz hinter der Westgrenze Russlands, irgendwo zwischen Paris, Texas, Cindy Sherman, Dogma 95 und Duma 2000, inszeniert Frank Castorf im Bühnen- und Kostümbild von Bert Neumann. Auf der Bühne stehen u. a. Henry Hübchen, Milan Peschel, Silvia Rieger, Martin Wuttke, Kathrin Angerer, Bernhard Schütz, Sophie Rois und Hendrik Arnst.

Besetzung

Regie Frank Castorf
Bühne und Kostüme Bert Neumann
Dramaturgie Matthias Pees
Musikalische Einrichtung Sir Henry, Thomas Krinzinger
Aufzeichnung Erhard Ertel

Mit Kathrin Angerer, Hendrik Arnst, Henry Hübchen, Sebastian König, Astrid Meyerfeldt, Milan Peschel, Silvia Rieger, Sophie Rois, Bernhard Schütz, Sir Henry, Jeanette Spassova, Joachim Tomaschewsky, Ulrich Voß und Martin Wuttke

© Volksbühne Berlin | Bert Neumann Association