Cinema
70 Years of Berliner Festspiele

Ivan the Terrible

Sergei Eisenstein
1944/1946
b/w and colour
Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin / Frank Strobel
Rundfunk-Chor Berlin, Marina Prudenskaya (alto), Alexander Vinogradov (bass)
Concert as part of Musikfest Berlin 2016

The monumental film ‘Ivan the Terrible’ by Sergei Eisenstein was created in the middle of the Second World War. In 2016 Musikfest Berlin presented this classic sound film with a live performance of the film score by Sergei Prokofiev for the first time, offering a new experience of his musical compositions.

A masked person in a white costume who wears a golden crown. The person dances in the dark and is observed by people in the background of the image.

Sergei Eisenstein, “Ivan the Terrible”, 1944/1946. Film concert of Musikfest Berlin 2016,. Film, colour, sound. Film still. RSB/Rundfunkchor

© Berlin ZDF / Arte

  • 186 min
  • In Russian with German subtitles

Film concerts have now assumed a regular place in the repertoire of symphony orchestras, but seldom are such monumental cinematic and musical works performed as those in the three film concerts that Musikfest Berlin produced between 2016 and 2019 in co-operation with RSB and the film department of ZDF/ARTE. Two masterpieces of the silent era were shown in the two French films “J’Accuse” (1918) and “La Roue” (1923) directed by Abel Gance, along with “Ivan the Terrible”, a classic sound film made in the 1940s.

Music played a special role in all three projects. The film music to “Ivan the Terrible” was written by Sergei Prokofiev and was performed to accompany the film live for the first time in 2016. It is written for a choir, solo singers and symphony orchestra. When it is heard as a sound film in the cinema, this scarcely offers an adequate impression of the boldness of the original music. In the large space of the concert hall, with the choir seated on the balcony directly beside the screen, it was possible for a giant sound experience to unfold.

© RSB | Rundfunkchor | Berlin ZDF | Arte

Kino
70 Jahre Berliner Festspiele

Iwan der Schreckliche

Sergej Eisenstein
1944/1946
s/w und Farbe
Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin / Frank Strobel
Rundfunk-Chor Berlin, Marina Prudenskaya (Alt), Alexander Vinogradov (Bass)
Aufführung im Rahmen des Musikfest Berlin 2016

Mitten im Zweiten Weltkrieg entstand der Monumentalfilm „Iwan der Schreckliche“ von Sergej Eisenstein. 2016 zeigte das Musikfest Berlin zum ersten Mal den Tonfilmklassiker mit der Filmmusik von Sergej Prokofjew live und machte dessen Musikkompositionen erneut erlebbar.

Eine maskierte Person im weißen Kostüm und einer goldenen Krone auf ihrem Haupt. Die Person tanzt im Dunklen und wird dabei von Menschen im Bildhintergrund beobachtet.

Sergej Eisenstein, „Iwan der Schreckliche“, 1944/1946. Filmkonzert des Musikfest Berlin 2016,. Film, Farbe, Ton. Filmstill. RSB/Rundfunkchor

© Berlin ZDF / Arte

  • 186 min
  • In russischer Sprache mit deutschen Untertiteln

Filmkonzerte haben inzwischen ihren festen Platz im Spielplan von Sinfonie-Orchestern, selten aber werden so monumentale Film und Musikwerke geboten, wie bei den drei Filmkonzerten, die das Musikfest Berlin in Kooperation mit dem RSB und der Filmredaktion ZDF/ARTE zwischen 2016 und 2019 realisierte. Mit den beiden französischen Filmen „J’accuse“ (1918) und „La Roue“ (1923) von Abel Gance waren zwei große Stummfilme zu erleben, mit „Iwan der Schreckliche“ ein Tonfilmklassiker, der in den 1940er-Jahren entstand.

Bei allen drei Projekten spielte die Musik eine besondere Rolle. Die Filmmusik zu „Iwan der Schreckliche“ stammt von Sergej Prokofjew und wurde 2016 zum ersten Mal live zum Film gespielt. Geschrieben ist sie für Chor, Gesangssolisten und Sinfonieorchester. Hört man sie im Kino auf der Tonfilmkopie, vermittelt sich kaum ein adäquater Eindruck von ihrer ursprünglichen Kühnheit. Im großen Saal des Konzerthauses, wo der Chor auf dem Balkon direkt neben der Leinwand platziert war, entfaltete sich hingegen ein gigantisches Klangerlebnis.

© RSB | Rundfunkchor | Berlin ZDF | Arte