Cinema
70 Years of Berliner Festspiele

DAU. Degeneratsia

Ilya Khrzhanovsky and Ilya Permiakov
2020
colour

The institute that this film is about existed twice. Once as the top-secret Institute for Physical Problems as part of the Soviet Academy of Sciences, which was in operation from 1938 to 1968, and a second time as the largest film set in Europe, which was destroyed at the end of the project.

The portrait of a man, b/w and divided in the middle. The one half looks like from another time.

Ilya Khrzhanovsky, “DAU. Degeneratsia“, DEU, UKR, GBS, RUS 2020. Film, Berlinale Special

© Phenomen Film

  • 335 min
  • In Russian and English, with English and German subtitles

The DAU Institute in Kharkiv was an experiment designed by director Ilya Khrzhanovsky in which leading mathematicians, artists, philosophers and mystics lived and worked between 2009 and 2011. Among other things, they explored the foundations and limits of intellectual understanding and human action, working towards the creation of a “new human being” and beyond, to the bloody end.

“DAU. Degeneratsia” shows the secret institute as a place where scientific and occult experiments are conducted on animals and people and the properties of ideal human images are negotiated. Marina Abramović, Romeo Castellucci und Rabbi Adin Steinsaltz are among the participants. The secret service chooses to turn a blind eye to the erotic excesses, the nightly debaucheries and the scientists’ cruel and strange experimental methods, until finally, a group of radical youths disguised as new test subjects is infiltrated into the institute. The institutes’ new management commissions them to put a stop to the activities of the scientists and researchers.

So far, 14 feature films and several film series have emerged from the DAU project. In the summer of 2018, Berliner Festspiele were preparing to host a presentation of “DAU” as an urban project with a large-scale, enclosed event area in Berlin-Mitte Unter den Linden. It had to be cancelled shortly before the starting date because of supposedly still open safety-related questions.

Cast

With Prof. Dmitry Kaledin, Vladimir Azhippo, Olga Shkabarnya, Prof. Alexei Blinov, Prof. Nikita Nekrasov, Rabbi Adin Steinsaltz, Dr. Zoya Popova, Alexey Trifonov, Kristina Voloschina, Viktoria Skitskaya, Maksim Martsinkevitsch

Written and directed by Ilya Khrzhanovsky, Ilya Permiakov
Cinematographer Jürgen Jürges
Montage Ling Lee, Arttu Salmi, Marianne Kuopanportti Fennel
Sound Design Stefan Smith, Rob Walker, Alex Joseph
Sound Maksim Demydenko
Production Design Denis Shibanov
Costumes Lyubov Mingasitinova, Olga Bekritskaya, Elena Bekritskaya, Irina Tsvetkova
Make-up Jekaterina Oertel
Casting Vera Levchenko, Inna Schorr, Asya Smekalova
Assistant Directors Vera Levchenko, Inna Schorr
Producer Sergey Adonyev
Co-Producers Svetlana Dragayeva, Kristina Voloschina, Alexandra Timofeeva, Susanne Marian
Co-Production Phenomen Ukraine, Kiew, Phenomen UK, London, Phenomen Films, Moscow

DAU. Degeneratisia – Film still

© Phenomen Film

“Communism is a religion“

excerpt from “DAU. Degeneratsia“

THE END OF THIS WORLD?

DAU, the directing team in conversation

Confined within a totalitarian simulacrum of a recreated historical Soviet reality (1938-1968) around four hundred people, none of them actors, spent two and a half years investigating the foundations of intellectual understanding and human actions, conducting scientific and occult experiments and exploring ideas for humanity’s future. They attempted to bring this fiction into symbiosis with their own identities and to use art as a means to experience alternative ways of life and fields of responsibility. However, in the end came the apocalypse: death and fascism prevailed. The experiment is now over.

Ten years after filming, the director llya Khrzhanovsky, the co-director for post-production, Ilya Permiakov and the hair and make-up designer and co-director of a number of DAU films, Jekaterina Oertel, meet again on the occasion of the cinema presentation of DAU. Degeneratsiya as part of “THE SUN MACHINE IS COMING DOWN”. All in Berlin, the city where it proved impossible to find a home for DAU despite three different attempts. Thomas Oberender knows a thing or two about this and yet the experiment never seems to be entirely completed. Isn’t the architecture of the ICC also slightly reminiscent of the sets in the film?

The Soviet Union has long since become history and the DAU Institute, once the largest film set in Europe, was also broken up some time ago. Meanwhile representatives of fascist movements have taken up seats in parliaments all over Europe and this is why we look once again in the direction of Kharkiv and see how young neo-Nazis skilfully infiltrate systems, create a power vacuum, spread fear and determine all the debates: so there is plenty to talk about. And for tired eyes, there’s always vodka and gherkins!

With: Ilya Khrzhanovsky, Ilya Permiakov, Jekaterina Oertel and Thomas Oberender
This discussion will be in English.

The back view of a man who is dressed in a red costume and stands in front of a table. He is in an open temple. The right half of the picture depicts an open fire.

DAU. Degeneratsia by Ilya Khrzhanovsky, Ilya Permiakov, DEU, UKR, RUS 2020

© Phenomen Films

Kino
70 Jahre Berliner Festspiele

DAU. Degeneratsia

Ilya Khrzhanovsky und Ilya Permiakov
2020
Farbe

Das Institut, um das es in diesem Film geht, hat zwei Mal existiert. Einmal als streng geheimes Institut für Physikalische Probleme der Sowjetischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, das zwischen 1938 und 1968 betrieben wurde, ein zweites Mal als größtes Filmset Europas, das am Ende des Projekts zerstört wurde.

Das Portrait eines Mannes, zweigeteilt, in Schwarz-Weiß. Die linke Hälfte erscheint als wäre sie aus einer anderen Zeit.

Ilya Khrzhanovsky, „DAU. Degeneratsia“, DEU, UKR, GBS, RUS 2020. Film, Berlinale Special

© Phenomen Film

  • 335 min
  • In russischer und englischer Sprache, mit englischen und deutschen Untertiteln

Das DAU-Institut in Charkiw war eine von Regisseur Ilya Khrzhanovsky konzipierte Experimentierstation, in der zwischen 2009 und 2011 führende Mathematiker*innen, Künstler*innen, Philosoph*innen und Mystiker*innen lebten und arbeiteten. Erforscht wurden unter anderem Grundlagen und Grenzen des intellektuellen Verstehens und des menschlichen Handelns. Bis zur Erschaffung des „neuen Menschen“ und darüber hinaus: zum blutigen Ende. Bisher sind aus dem DAU-Projekt 14 Spielfilme und mehrere Serien hervorgegangen.

„DAU. Degeneratsia“ zeigt das Geheiminstitut als einen Ort, an dem wissenschaftliche und okkulte Experimente an Tieren und Menschen durchgeführt und menschliche Idealbilder verhandelt werden. Unter den Mitwirkenden sind Marina Abramović, Romeo Castellucci und Rabbi Adin Steinsaltz. Der Geheimdienst zieht es vor, die Augen vor den erotischen Ausschweifungen, abendlichen Exzessen und den grausamen und befremdlichen Versuchsmethoden der Wissenschaftler*innen zu verschließen, bis letzten Endes, getarnt als neue Testpersonen, eine Gruppe radikaler Jugendlicher in das Institut eingeschleust und von einer neuen Institutsleitung mit dem Auftrag betraut wird, das Treiben der Wissenschaftler*innen und Forscher*innen zu stoppen.

Im Sommer 2018 bereiteten die Berliner Festspiele eine Präsentation von „DAU“ als urbanes Projekt mit einem großflächigen, geschlossenen Veranstaltungsareal in Berlin-Mitte Unter den Linden vor. Es musste kurz vor dem Starttermin wegen vermeintlich noch offener sicherheitsrelevanter Fragen abgesagt werden.

Besetzung DAU. Degeneratsia

Mit Prof. Dmitry Kaledin, Vladimir Azhippo, Olga Shkabarnya, Prof. Alexei Blinov, Prof. Nikita Nekrasov, Rabbi Adin Steinsaltz, Dr. Zoya Popova, Alexey Trifonov, Kristina Voloschina, Viktoria Skitskaya, Maksim Martsinkevitsch

Buch und Regie Ilya Khrzhanovsky, Ilya Permiakov
Kamera Jürgen Jürges
Montage Ling Lee, Arttu Salmi, Marianne Kuopanportti Fennel
Sound Design Stefan Smith, Rob Walker, Alex Joseph
Ton Maksim Demydenko
Production Design Denis Shibanov
Kostüme Lyubov Mingasitinova, Olga Bekritskaya, Elena Bekritskaya, Irina Tsvetkova
Maske Jekaterina Oertel
Casting Vera Levchenko, Inna Schorr, Asya Smekalova
Regieassistenz Vera Levchenko, Inna Schorr
Produzent*in Sergey Adonyev
Co-Produzent*innen Svetlana Dragayeva, Kristina Voloschina, Alexandra Timofeeva, Susanne Marian
Co-Produktion Phenomen Ukraine, Kiew, Phenomen UK, London, Phenomen Films, Moskau

DAU. Degeneratisia – Filmstill

© Phenomen Film

„Communism is a religion“

Ausschnitt aus „DAU. Degeneratsia“

THE END OF THIS WORLD?

DAU, das Regieteam im Gespräch

Gefangen in einem totalitären Simulacrum einer nachempfundenen historischen Sowjetrealität (1938-1968) erforschten über zweieinhalb Jahre rund vierhundert Menschen, keiner von ihnen Schauspieler, Grundlagen des intellektuellen Verstehens und menschlichen Handels, führten wissenschaftliche und okkulte Experimente durch und verhandelten Ideen für die Zukunft der Menschheit. Sie versuchten die Fiktion mit ihren eigenen Identitäten in Symbiose zu bringen und mit den Mitteln der Kunst alternative Lebensweisen und Verantwortungsräume zu erfahren. Doch am Ende kommt es zur Apokalypse, der Tod und der Faschismus siegt: das Experiment ist beendet.

Zehn Jahre nach den Dreharbeiten treffen sich Regisseur llya Khrzhanovsky, Co-Regisseur der Postproduktion, Ilya Permiakov und Maskenbildnerin sowie ebenfalls Co-Regisseurin einiger DAU-Filme, Jekaterina Oertel, anlässlich der Kinoaufführung von DAU. Degeneratsia bei “The Sun Machine Is Coming Down” erneut. Das Ganze natürlich in Berlin, der Stadt, die für DAU trotz drei Anläufen in drei Jahren nie eine Heimat werden konnte. Auch Thomas Oberender kann davon ein Lied singen und dennoch scheint das Experiment nie ganz beendet. Erinnert Sie die Architektur des ICC nicht auch ein bisschen an die Kulisse im Film?

Die Sowjetunion ist lange Geschichte und das DAU-Institut, einst größtes Filmset Europas, auch schon eine ganze Weile zerstört. Mittlerweile sitzen überall in Europa wieder Vertreter*innen faschistischer Bewegungen in den Parlamenten und auch deshalb blicken wir noch einmal nach Charkiw und sehen wie die jungen Neonazis geschickt Systeme infiltrieren, ein Machtvakuum herstellen, schließlich selbst die Kontrolle übernehmen, Angst verbreiten und all die Debatten bestimmen: eine Menge Gesprächsstoff also. Und gegen müde Augen helfen Wodka und Gurken!

Mit: Ilya Khrzhanovsky, Ilya Permiakov, Jekaterina Oertel und Thomas Oberender
Gespräch in englischer Sprache.

Die Rückenansicht eines Mannes im roten Kostüm, der vor einem Tisch steht. Er befindet sich in einem offenen Tempel. In der rechten Bildhälfte ist ein offenes Feuer zu sein.

DAU. Degeneratsia von Ilya Khrzhanovsky, Ilya Permiakov, DEU, UKR, RUS 2020

© Phenomen Films