Cinema
70 Years of Berliner Festspiele

Ode to the Yimeng Mountains

Dance drama ensemble of the People’s Republic of China, Berliner Festwochen 1976
1976 / Colour
Television director: Sigmar Börner

Excerpts from the recording of the performance on 23.10.1976 im Theater des Westens

The recording of the performance by the state dance drama ensemble of the People’s Republic of China during the 1976 Berliner Festwochen festival provided a rare glimpse of one of the leading artistic positions of China at the time which, coming only one month after the death of the Chinese president Mao Zedong, is impossible to regard without taking his cultural revolution campaign into account.

A stage that is laid out with a green lawn and bushes. On the lawn, two Asian read people can be seen who interact with each other. In the left half of the picture a male read person dressed in a green military uniform is lying on the ground. To his right is a female read person.

Dance Drama Ensemble of the People’s Republic of China, “Ode To The Yimeng Mountains”, Berliner Festwochen 1976. Film, colour, sound. Film still

© RBB | National Ballet of China

  • 41 min

“The Chinese Dance Drama Ensemble was founded in 1959; its predecessor was the Experimental Ballet of the Peking Dance School. It is one of the leading dance drama ensembles that have emerged and grown as a result of the staunch tempering of the Great Proletarian Revolution. From 1964 onwards it has been led by Comrade Jiang Quin in the light of the revolutionary line of Chairman Mao and following the guidelines […] for literature and art “Let one hundred flowers bloom! Let the new proceed from the critical reception of the old!” “Place the old in the service of the present, make what is foreign useful for China”, joined by revolutionary workers in literature and art to cut through the many obstacles put in place by the revisionist line. […] In these works, a series of glorious proletarian heroic figures is used to sing of the life of struggle of workers, peasants and soldiers; these works therefore play a militant role “for the solidarity and education of the people, to strike against the enemy and destroy it”. On 8 October 1964 the Great Leader of the Chinese people, Chairman Mao Zedong saw a performance of the dance drama “The Red Detachment of Women” and praised it highly. […] The Chinese Dance Drama Ensemble strides forward along the revolutionary line of Chairman Mao.”
(Programme notes published in 1976)

© RBB | National Ballet of China

Kino
70 Jahre Berliner Festspiele

Loblied auf das Yimeng-Gebirge

Staatliches Tanzdrama-Ensemble der Volksrepublik China, Berliner Festwochen 1976
1976 / Farbe
Fernsehregie: Sigmar Börner

Ausschnitte der Aufführung am 23.10.1976 im Theater des Westens

Die Aufzeichnung der Aufführung des Staatlichen Tanzdrama-Ensembles der Volksrepublik China im Rahmen der Berliner Festwochen 1976 gibt einen seltenen Einblick in eine der damals führenden künstlerischen Positionen Chinas, die nur einen Monat nach dem Tod des chinesischen Staatspräsidenten Mao Zedongs nicht ohne Berücksichtigung seiner kulturrevolutionären Kampagne betrachtet werden kann.

Eine Bühne, die mit einem grünen Rasen und Gebüsch ausgelegt ist. Auf dem Rasen sind zwei asiatisch gelesene Personen zu sehen, die miteinander interagieren. In der linken Bildhälfte liegt eine männliche gelesene Person in grüner Militäruniform. Rechts neben ihm eine weiblich gelesene Person.

Staatliches Tanzdrama-Ensemble der Volksrepublik China, „Loblied auf das Yimeng-Gebirge“, Berliner Festwochen 1976. Film, Farbe, Ton. Filmstill

© RBB | National Ballet of China

  • 41 min

„Das Chinesische Tanzdrama-Ensemble wurde 1959 gegründet; sein Vorgänger war die Experimental-Ballettbühne der Pekinger Tanzschule. Es ist eines der wichtigsten Tanzdrama-Ensembles, die sich durch kämpferische Stählung in der Großen Proletarischen Kulturrevolution entwickelt haben und herangewachsen sind. Von 1964 an leitete Genossin Djiang Tjing im Lichte der revolutionären Linie des Vorsitzenden Mao und in Befolgung der Richtlinien [...] für Literatur und Kunst: ‚Laßt hundert Blumen blühen! Laßt das Neue durch kritische Aufnahme aus dem Alten hervorgehen!‘ ‚Das Alte in den Dienst der Gegenwart stellen, das Ausländische für China nutzbar machen‘, die revolutionären Mitarbeiter in Literatur und Kunst dazu, die vielen von der revisionistischen Linie aufgerichteten Hindernisse zu durchbrechen. [...] In diesen Werken wird durch die Reihe glanzvoller proletarischer Heldengestalten [...] das kämpferische Leben der Arbeiter, Bauern und Soldaten enthusiastisch besungen; diese Werke spielen so eine militante Rolle „für den Zusammenschluss und die Erziehung des Volkes, für die Schläge gegen den Feind und dessen Vernichtung“. Am 8. Oktober 1964 sah sich der große Führer des chinesischen Volkes, der Vorsitzende Mao Tsetung, die Aufführung des Tanzdramas „Die Rote Frauenkompanie“ an und gab ihm eine hohe Einschätzung. [...] Nach der revolutionären Linie des Vorsitzenden Mao in Literatur und Kunst schreitet das Chinesische-Tanzdrama-Ensemble voran.“
(Ankündigungstext aus dem Programmheft von 1976)

© RBB | National Ballet of China