Cinema
70 Years of Berliner Festspiele

Fela Anikulapo Kuti and Africa 70

Concert as part of Berliner Jazztage 1978
Colour
Philharmonie, 4.11.1978

The concert by the Afrobeat big band “Africa 70”, founded by Fela Anikulapo Kuti and Tony Allen at the Berlin Philharmonie in 1978, signified both the high point as well as the end of a band that was considered a legend in its own time for its aesthetically and politically explosive performances.

The the musician Fela Kuti who wears a yellow, patterned shirt. He looks to the right and smiles. Behind the artist, the shadowy contours of his band members can be seen.

Fela Anikulapo Kuti and Africa 70, Berliner Jazztage 1978. Film, 87'03", colour, sound. Film still

© RBB

  • 87 min

The musician and producer Quincy Joppes shows no fear of superlatives in his on stage introduction: “We present to you tonight the greatest thing ever to come out of Africa: Fela and Afrika 70 – an experience of genuine African music: you’re going to see something very original, politically, religiously and musically.”

For Fela Anikulapo Kuti, who was banned from performing in Nigeria and Ghana because of his political support for the liberation movement, his appearance at the Berliner Jazztagen was the last concert he played with the Afrobeat group he had founded together with star drummer Tony Allen. During the concert he announced that he was going to stand for election as President of Nigeria and all the proceeds from his European tour would go to fund his election campaign. This appearance is regarded as the high point of the band’s history and their best documented concert, using several camera angles, a line-up of 20 musicians and 27 dancers, whose bare skin was painted in honour of the goddess Osun. The Berlin audience sat opposite them, completely baffled and unresponsive. The following day the newspapers vied to outdo each other with negative reviews, the other concerts in Europe were cancelled, and the band’s sudden end was sealed. Ultimately Kuti’s candidature for the newly-founded Movement of the People was not even recognized for the election. He refused to give up and continued to devote himself to African issues that did not stop at national borders. Now, 24 years after his death, he is a folk hero in West Africa and here too he has also begun to be recognized as one of the leading composers of the 20th century.

Cast

Vocals, tenor saxophone, alto saxophone, keyboard Fela Anikulapo Kuti
Trumpet Tunde Williams
Trumpet Nwokoma Ikem
Bass saxophone Lekan Animashaun
Guitar Leke Benson
Bass Nweke Atifoh
Tenor guitar Oghene Kologbo
Conga Oladeinde Koffi
Conga Addo Nettey
Conga Shina Abiodun
Percussion Babajinde Olaleye
Percussion Ayoola Abayomi
Drums Tony Allen Alabi
Vocals Tejumade Anikulapo Kuti
Vocals Kewe Anikulapo Kuti
Vocals Runke Anikulapo Kuti

© BMG Rights Management GmbH.

Kino
70 Jahre Berliner Festspiele

Fela Anikulapo Kuti and Africa 70

Konzert im Rahmen der Berliner Jazztage 1978
Farbe
Philharmonie, 4.11.1978

Das Konzert der von Fela Anikulapo Kuti und Tony Allen begründeten Afrobeat-Bigband “Africa 70” in der Berliner Philharmonie 1978 ist Höhepunkt und Endpunkt der Band, die bereits damals mit ihren künstlerisch wie politisch hochexplosiven Auftritten großes Aufsehen erregte.

Der Musiker Fela Kuti in einem gelben, gemusterten Hemd. Er blickt lächelnd nach rechts. Hinter dem Künstler sind die schattigen Konturen seiner Bandmitglieder zu erkennen.

Fela Anikulapo Kuti and Africa 70, Berliner Jazztage 1978. Film, 87'03", Farbe, Ton. Filmstill

© RBB

  • 87 min

Der Musiker und Produzent Quincy Joppes scheut keine Superlative in seiner einführenden Bühnenansprache: „Wir präsentieren Ihnen heute das Größte, was je aus Afrika kam: Fela und die Afrika 70 – ein Erlebnis echter afrikanischer Musik: Sie werden etwas sehr Ursprüngliches sehen, politisch, religiös und musikalisch.”

Für Fela Anikulapo Kuti, dem in Nigeria und Ghana aufgrund seines politischen Engagements für die Befreiungsbewegung ein Auftrittsverbot auferlegt wurde, war sein Auftritt bei den Berliner Jazztagen das letzte Konzert mit seiner mit Ausnahme-Schlagzeuger Tony Allen begründeten Afrobeat-Gruppe. Während des Konzerts verkündete er seine Kandidatur als nigerianischer Präsident und sämtliche Einnahmen aus der Europareise sollten schließlich für seinen Wahlkampf auch draufgegangen sein. Der Auftritt gilt als Höhepunkt der Bandgeschichte und als ihr am besten dokumentiertes Konzert mit einer Vielzahl an Kamerawinkeln, einer Formation von 20 Musiker*innen und 27 Tänzerinnen, die zu Ehren der Göttin Osun auf nackter Haut bemalt waren. Das Berliner Publikum saß dem völlig irritiert und regungslos gegenüber. Die Zeitungen überschlugen sich tags darauf in negativer Kritik, die weiteren Europakonzerte wurden abgesagt und das jähe Ende seiner Band war besiegelt. Seine Kandidatur mit dem neu gegründeten Movement of the People wurde schließlich gar nicht zur Wahl anerkannt. Er resignierte nicht und widmete sich weiter afrikanischen Themen, die an Landesgrenzen keineswegs Halt machten. Heute, 24 Jahre nach seinem Tod, ist er in Westafrika ein Volksheld und auch in Europa mittlerweile als einer der wichtigen Komponisten des 20. Jahrhunderts anerkannt.

Besetzung

Gesang, Tenorsaxophon, Altsaxophon, Keyboard Fela Anikulapo Kuti
Trompete Tunde Williams
Trompete Nwokoma Ikem
Basssaxophon Lekan Animashaun
Gitarre Leke Benson
Bass Nweke Atifoh
Tenorgitarre Oghene Kologbo
Konga Oladeinde Koffi
Konga Addo Nettey
Konga Shina Abiodun
Perkussion Babajinde Olaleye
Perkussion Ayoola Abayomi
Schlagzeug Tony Allen Alabi
Gesang Tejumade Anikulapo Kuti
Gesang Kewe Anikulapo Kuti
Gesang Runke Anikulapo Kuti
Gesang Alake Anikulapo Kuti
Gesang Emarua Gheru Anikulapo Kuti
Gesang Fehintola Anikulapo Kuti

© BMG Rights Management GmbH.