Discourse

Spider Walk

Arachnophilia and Studio Tomás Saraceno

Tomás Saraceno is an Argentine-born, Berlin-based artist whose practice, consisting of floating sculptures, international collaborations and interactive installations, proposes and dialogues with forms of inhabiting and sensing the environment that have been suppressed in the Capitalocene era. The web/site and the “Spider Walk” through the ICC, accompanied by members of the Arachnophilia community, invite participants to expand their fields of perception to attune to the interspecies ecologies they inhabit.

Spider webs between branches.

Arachnophilia und Studio Tomás Saraceno: Spider Walk. The Sun Machine Is Coming Down

© Berliner Festspiele / Eike Walkenhorst

  • 60 min

With a collective call for environmental justice that enables interspecies cohabitation, Tomás Saraceno’s artistic collaborations open renewed relationships between terrestrial, atmospheric and cosmic realms.

Saraceno’s deep interest in spiders and their webs reaches back a decade and led to the formation of Arachnophilia, an interdisciplinary and research-driven initiative. Arachnophilia proposes new, speculative, and technological paths to explore the affective relationships between spiders and human beings – harnessing digital tools to cultivate multispecies kinship in the techno- and the biosphere.

As part of Arachnophilia’s commitment to attending to nonhuman kin in shared ecologies, and in the context of the global decline in invertebrate populations, the Studio has initiated a collaborative spider/web mapping exercise to notice and map the spider/web ecologies that surround us. The spider/webs encountered can then be geotagged using the Studio’s Arachnomancy app, building upon the studio’s collaborative map against extinction.

Guided by members of the Arachnophilia community, a spider/web tour through the closed down building of the ICC offers visitors tools to cultivate new ‘arts of noticing’ arachnid architectures, providing the opportunity to attune to the multispecies ecology of this architectural icon.

This walk accompanies the launch of a web/site, co-produced by the Berliner Festspiele, that opens a dialogue with our arachnid kin, seeking a more equal balance of techno-, human- and biodiversity. In collaboration with Arachnophilia friend David Zeitlyn, the website meditates on the possibilities for reciprocal, intercultural and interspecies relation.

As part of "Down To Earth", „Intervertebrate Rights" (2020) gives an insight into the research of Arachnophilia and Studio Tomás Saraceno

Diskurs / Geführte Tour

Spider Walks

Arachnophilia und Studio Tomás Saraceno

Der in Berlin wohnhafte, argentinische Künstler Tomás Saraceno, dessen Praxis schwebende Skulpturen, internationale Kollaborationen sowie interaktive Installationen umfasst, präsentiert Formen des Zusammenlebens unterschiedlicher Spezies und eine Naturwahrnehmung, die im Zeitalter des Kapitalozäns ins Abseits geraten sind. Die „Ask the Spider/Web“ Website und die von Arachnologen begleiteten „Spider Walks“ durch das ICC laden ein, das Blickfeld zu erweitern, um sich auf die Interspezies-Ökologien einzustimmen, die wir heute bewohnen.

Nahaufnahme eines Spinnwebens an einem grünen Metallgerüst, der mit Rost übersehen ist.

Tomás Saraceno. Spinnweben fotografiert als Teil der spider/web Tour im Rahmen vom Spider/Web Pavilion 7: Oracle Readings, Weaving Arachnomancy, Synanthropic Futures: At-ten(t)sion to invertebrate rights!, 2019. Auf der 58. Kunstausstellung - La Biennale di Venezia, May You Live In Interesting Times, kuratiert von Ralph Rugoff.

Foto: Studio Tomás Saraceno. Courtesy Spider/Webs, the artist and Arachnophilia

  • 45 Min

Mit dem kollektiven Ruf nach Umweltgerechtigkeit, die ein artübergreifendes Zusammenleben ermöglicht, eröffnen Tomás Saracenos künstlerische Kollaborationen neue Beziehungen zwischen terrestrischen, atmosphärischen und kosmischen Reichen.

Saracenos tiefgehendes Interesse an Spinnen und ihren Spinnweben reicht ein Jahrzehnt zurück und führte zur Gründung von Arachnophilia, einer interdisziplinären und forschungsorientierten Initiative. Arachnophilia schlägt neue, spekulative und technologische Wege ein, um die affektiven Beziehungen zwischen Spinnen und Menschen, mitunter mit digitalen Werkzeugen, zu erschließen und jene speziesübergreifende Verwandtschaft in der Techno- und Biosphäre zu kultivieren.

Die von einem Arachnologen geführten Spinnentouren durch das stillgelegte Gebäude des ICC sollen Besucher*innen neben kontextuellen Informationen zu der Spezies auch Werkzeuge zur Verfügung stellen, um neue Formen der Wahrnehmung von arachniden Architekturen zu fördern. Zugleich eröffnen sie die Möglichkeit, sich auf artübergreifende Ökologien, so wie sie auch in dieser architektonischen Ikone zu beobachten sind, einzustimmen.

Diese Führungen werden von der Einweihung von „Ask the Spider/Web" begleitet, einer von den Berliner Festspielen koproduzierten Website, die einen Dialog mit unseren Spinnenverwandten initiiert, um ein besseres Gleichgewicht zwischen Technik, Mensch und biologischer Vielfalt zu ermöglichen. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Nggàm-Spinnenwahrsager Bollo Pierre Tadios und dem Arachnophilia-Freund David Zeitlyn sinniert „Ask the Spider/Web" über die Möglichkeiten einer reziproken, interkulturellen und artübergreifenden Beziehung.

Die im Rahmen von „Down To Earth" entstandene Arbeit „Intervertebrate Rights" (2020) gibt Einblick in die Forschung von Arachnophilia und Studio Tomás Saraceno.