Cinema
70 Years of Berliner Festspiele

Ballo Excelsior Or A Journey Through The Triumphs Of The Human Spirit

Compagnia marionettistica Carlo Colla e figli, Berliner Festwochen 1983
Colour
16.– 18.09.1983

Compagnia Colla, founded by Gaspare Carlo Gioacchino Colla, carries on one of the loveliest traditions of puppet theatre; singers and dances made out of wood move through the great operas, the minor musical comedies and the magnificent ballets with enchanting scenery.

A male read doll figure armed with a shotgun. The doll is standing in front of a painted background that shows a desert landscape with a bright orange sun. The doll’s hair is covered by a kufiya.

Compagnia marionettistica Carlo Colla e figli di Milano, “Ballo Excelsior or A Journey Through The Triumphs Of The Human Spirit”, Berliner Festwochen 1983. Film, colour, sound. Film still

© RBB / Assoziation Grupporiani

  • 66 min

In the last century the furnishings of any elegant Milan apartment would include a puppet theatre, often of considerable size. When Gaspare Carlo Gioacchino Colla, known as Giuseppe, the son of what had been a prosperous family, ran into financial difficulties, he turned his childhood hobby into a profession and toured the cities of Piedmont with his puppets.

The tiny puppet theatre transferred the successful production from the famous Teatro alla Scala to its own repertoire, while painstakingly imitating its sets and costumes. The plot was scaled down to the best-known arias and an additional comic character often added. These performances for everyone are clearly unable to compete with for those reserved for the nobility and the bourgeoisie in splendour and scale. However, many works of Meyerbeer, Bellini, Ponchielli and Donizetti only survived through this form. The “Ballo Excelsior”, the legendary spectacle glorifying science that caused a sensation at the World Exhibition of 1881, exists as a faithful copy of the vast production. It was la Scala’s most successful production ever, but, requiring over 600 people to perform, it was so massive in scale that now only the puppet theatre can provide an authentic impression of our great-grandfather’s faith in progress.

Ballett Luigi Manzotti
Music Romualdo Marnco
Artistic Director Eugenio Monti Colla

© RBB | Associazione Grupporiani

Kino
70 Jahre Berliner Festspiele

Ballo Excelsior oder die Reise durch die Eroberungen des Menschlichen Geistes

Compagnia marionettistica Carlo Colla e figli, Berliner Festwochen 1983
Farbe
16.– 18.09.1983

Die von Gaspare Carlo Gioacchino Colla gegründete Compagnia Colla pflegt eine der schönsten Traditionen des Puppenspiels – Sänger und Tänzer aus Holz führen in bezaubernden Dekorationen die großen Opern, die kleinen Singspiele und die prächtigen Ballette vor.

Eine männlich gelesene Puppenfigur, die mit einer Schrotflinte bewaffnet ist. Die Puppe steht vor einem gemalten Hintergrund, der eine Wüstenlandschaft mit orange leuchtender Sonne zeigt. Die Haare der Figur werden von einer Kufiya bedeckt.

Compagnia marionettistica Carlo Colla e figli di Milano, „Ballo Excelsior Oder Die Reise durch die Eroberungen des menschlichen Geistes“, Berliner Festwochen 1983. Film, Farbe, Ton. Filmstill

© RBB | Assoziation Grupporiani

  • 66 min

Zur Ausstattung vornehmer Mailänder Wohnungen gehörte im vorigen Jahrhundert ein Marionettentheater, oft von beträchtlichen Ausmaßen. Als Gaspare Carlo Gioacchino Colla, genannt Giuseppe, Spross einer ehemals wohlhabenden Familie, in finanzielle Not geriet, verwandelte er ein Kindervergnügen zum Beruf und zog mit seinen Puppen durch die Städte Piemonts.

Die kleine Marionettenbühne übernahm die Erfolgsproduktion des renommierten Teatro alla Scala in ihr Repertoire und imitierte mit Sorgfalt Dekorationen und Kostüme. Die Handlung wurde auf die bekanntesten Arien reduziert und oft wurde zusätzlich eine komische Figur eingefügt. An Pracht und Aufwand konnten diese Aufführungen für alle durchaus mit denen konkurrieren, die nur für Adel und Bourgeoisie gemacht waren. Etliche Werke Meyerbeers, Bellinis, Ponchiellis und Donizettis überlebten sogar nur auf diese Art. Der „Ballo Excelsior“, jenes legendäre Spektakel zur Verherrlichung der Wissenschaft, das bei der Weltausstellung 1881 Furore machte, existiert als getreue Kopie der monströsen Uraufführung. Es war zwar die erfolgreichste Produktion der Scala überhaupt, erforderte aber mit allein 600 Mitwirkenden einen ungeheuren Aufwand, so dass heute nur noch die Marionettenbühne einen authentischen Eindruck von der Fortschrittsgläubigkeit unserer Urgroßväter vermitteln kann.

Ballett Luigi Manzotti
Musik Romualdo Marnco
Künstlerische Leitung Eugenio Monti Colla

© RBB | Associazione Grupporiani