Cinema
70 Years of Berliner Festspiele

Sun Ra Allstars

Concert as part of Berliner Jazztage 1983
Colour
Philharmonie, 29.10.1983

If you wanted to experience Sun Ra in the 80s, you had to do it live. Although he was more productive than almost any other jazz musician, until the 1990s his recordings were only released on small record labels. His live performance at the Berliner Jazztage in 1983 is testimony to the musical curiosity of Sun Ra and his Allstar Ensemble.

Sun Ra in a dark room. He holds his arms up and wears a glittery golden costume consisting of cape and headpiece. In the foreground of the image the back views of seated people can be seen who wear similar headpieces and make music.

Sun Ra Allstars, Jazzfest Berlin 1983. Film, 54'24", colour, sound. Film still

© RBB | Sun Ra LLC

  • 54 min

Wrapped in glittering garments – something between science fiction, psychedelic and ancient Egypt – his ensembles spun out their very own spiritual and mysterious free jazz landscapes, which still show 40 years later how humour, skill and musical experimentation can unite with relish. Live from the Berlin Philharmonie with his all-star big band: including trumpeter Don Cherry, drummer Philly Joe Jones, saxophonist Archie Shepp and Sun Ra himself on piano.

© RBB | Sun Ra LLC

Cast

Keyboard Sun Ra
Trumpet Lester Bowie
Trumpet Don Cherry
Tenor saxophone, flute John Gilmore
Alto saxophone Marshall Allen
Tenor saxophone Archie Shepp
Bass Richard Davis
Drums Clifford Jarvis
Drums Philly Joe Jones
Drums, percussion Famoudou Don Moye

© RBB | Sun Ra LLC

Kino
70 Jahre Berliner Festspiele

Sun Ra Allstars

Konzert im Rahmen der Berliner Jazztage 1983
Farbe
Philharmonie, 29.10.1983

Wer Sun Ra in den 1980er-Jahren hören wollte, der musste dies in der Regel live erledigen. Zwar war er produktiv wie kaum ein anderer Jazzmusiker, doch wurden seine Aufnahmen bis in die 1990er-Jahren nur auf kleinen Plattenlabels verlegt. Seine Live-Darbietung im Rahmen der Berliner Jazztage 1983 bezeugt die musikalische Neugierde Sun Ras und seines Allstar-Ensembles.

Sun Ra in einem verdunkelten Raum. Er hält seine Arme hoch und trägt ein golden glitzerndes Kostüm aus Umhang und Kopfbedeckung. Im Bildvordergrund sind die Rückenansichten von sitzenden Personen zu sehen, die musizieren und ähnliche Kopfbedeckungen tragen.

Sun Ra Allstars, Jazzfest Berlin 1983. Film, 54'24", Farbe, Ton. Filmstill

© RBB | Sun Ra LLC

  • 54 min

Umhüllt von glitzernden Gewändern – irgendwas zwischen Science Fiction, Psychedelic und Altem Ägypten – entspannen Sun Ras Ensembles ihre ganz eigenen spirituellen und geheimnisvollen Free Jazz Landschaften, die auch 40 Jahre später noch zeigen, wie sich Humor, Könnerschaft und musikalisches Experiment lustvoll vereinen können. Live aus der Berliner Philharmonie mit seiner Allstar-Bigband: u. a. mit Trompeter Don Cherry, Schlagzeuger Philly Joe Jones, Saxophonist Archie Shepp und am Klavier Sun Ra.

Besetzung

Keyboard Sun Ra
Trompete Lester Bowie
Trompete Don Cherry
Tenorsaxophon, Flöte John Gilmore
Altsaxophon Marshall Allen
Tenorsaxophon Archie Shepp
Bass Richard Davis
Schlagzeug Clifford Jarvis
Schlagzeug Philly Joe Jones
Schlagzeug, Perkussion Famoudou Don Moye

© RBB | Sun Ra LLC