Workshop

Dabke Community Dancing at Gropius Wood

With Medhat Aldaabal and Ali Hasan

As part of the exhibition Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社, artist Zheng Bo created a platform in Gropius Wood on which his Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習 took place. After the end of the exhibition, the Berlin dance company Sasha Waltz & Guests follows his wish to use the place for “human bodies” and invites you to join the Dabke Community Dancing with Medhat Aldaabal and Ali Hasan.

Dabke Community Dancing, Sasha Waltz & Guests © Anna Limantava

  • 90 min

Past Dates

For some years now, Medhat Aldaabal (dance) and Ali Hasan (live percussion) have been inviting people to take part in the Dabke Community Dancing in the radialsystem, now taking place open air in the Gropius Wood. The traditional circle dance is very popular in many variations in the Middle East. In Berlin, it combines the enthusiasm of the two Syrian artists with the openness of a cross-generational audience.

“All of the participants were smiling in the end and that was the most beautiful thing. When I see that people are happy, enthusiastic and smiling, then I feel that I am becoming a part of this country, and this country is becoming a part of me.” (Medhat Aldaabal)

Since the beginning of 2016, Sasha Waltz & Guests has been developing and presenting the format “ZUHÖREN – Dritter Raum für Kunst und Politik” as a transdisciplinary platform for artistic strategies on current social issues, such as the fourth edition on the topic of “Climate change and democracy. From complexity to action“ (2019). The Syrian artists Medhat Aldaabal and Ali Hasan have been part of the Berlin ZUHÖREN network since the beginning and have worked here in various formats.

The workshop is open to people of different ages, recommended from the age of 12. Previous knowledge is not required – but enjoyment of movement in a group. We dance outdoors and at distance, contact details are documented on site. 3G is recommended.

A programme by Sasha Waltz & Guests, Education & Community in cooperation with the Gropius Bau. Sasha Waltz & Guests is funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

Workshop

Dabke Community Dancing im Gropius Hain

Mit Medhat Aldaabal und Ali Hasan

Als Teil der Ausstellung Zheng Bo: Wanwu Council 萬物社 schuf der Künstler Zheng Bo eine Plattform im Gropius Hain, auf der seine Ecosensibility Exercises 生態感悟練習 stattfanden. Die Berliner Tanzcompagnie Sasha Waltz & Guests folgt nach dem Ende der Ausstellung seinem Wunsch, den Ort für „menschliche Körper“ zu nutzen und veranstaltet hier Dabke Community Dancing mit Medhat Aldaabal und Ali Hasan.

Dabke Community Dancing, Sasha Waltz & Guests © Anna Limantava

  • 90 min

Vergangene Termine

Seit einigen Jahren lädt das Dabke Community Dancing mit Medhat Aldaabal (Tanz) und Ali Hasan (Live Percussion) zum Tanzen im radialsystem ein. Nun findet es erstmals im Gropius Hain unter freiem Himmel statt. Der traditionelle Kreistanz ist in vielen Variationen im Nahen Osten sehr beliebt und verbindet in Berlin die Begeisterung der beiden syrischen Künstler mit der Offenheit eines generationsübergreifenden Publikums.

„Am Ende haben alle Teilnehmer*innen gelächelt und das war das Schönste. Wenn ich sehe, dass die Leute glücklich und enthusiastisch sind und lächeln, dann fühle ich, dass ich ein Teil dieses Landes werde, und dieses Land wird ein Teil von mir.“ (Medhat Aldaabal)

Seit Anfang 2016 entwickelt und präsentiert Sasha Waltz & Guests das Format „ZUHÖREN – Dritter Raum für Kunst und Politik“ als transdisziplinäre Plattform rund um künstlerische Strategien zu aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Themen, wie die vierte Edition zum Thema „Climate change and democracy. From complexity to action“ (2019). Seit Beginn gehören die syrischen Künstler Medhat Aldaabal und Ali Hasan zum Berliner ZUHÖREN-Netzwerk und haben hier in unterschiedlichen Formaten mitgewirkt.

Der Workshop ist offen für Menschen unterschiedlichen Alters, empfohlen ab 12 Jahren. Vorkenntnisse sind nicht erforderlich – aber Freude an Bewegung in der Gruppe. Wir tanzen im Freien und mit Abstand, vor Ort werden Kontaktdaten erfasst. 3G wird empfohlen.

Ein Programm von Sasha Waltz & Guests, Education & Community in Kooperation mit dem Gropius Bau. Sasha Waltz & Guests wird gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.