Concert / Live Stream
Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg

Aki Takase’s Japanic // Herbie Tsoaeli

Albert-Mangelsdorff-Preis

The South African bassist Herbie Tsoaeli purveys a classic post-bop sound, melding the spirituality of the classic John Coltrane Quartet, South African melodies and gospel cadences, while Aki Takase’s quintet Japanic looks to the player-piano music of American composer Conlon Nancarrow as inspiration.

Aki Takase’s Japanic / Herbie Tsoaeli

Aki Takase’s Japanic // Herbie Tsoaeli

© Dirk Bleicker / Steve Gordon, Musicpics.co.za

Past Dates

Concerts online
Watch these concerts live in the festival stream or as a recording at ARTE Concert and Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Albert-Mangelsdorff-Preis 2021: Aki Takase

Award ceremony of the German Jazz Union as part of the Jazzfest Berlin
__________

Live concert in Berlin / ca. 50 min

Aki Takase’s Japanic

Berlin’s beloved Aki Takase is as artistically restless as they come, feeding her impulses with a steady diet of disparate collaboration. Her sublime Japanic quintet was assembled to pay indirect homage to the maverick American composer Conlon Nancarrow, who wrote humanly impossible pieces for mechanical piano, and while this project formed with DJ Illvibe rarely evokes those breathless constructions, it does celebrate his fascination with careening tempos and freakish counterpoint. On the group’s superb 2019 debut album “Thema Prima”, drummer Dag Magnus Narvesen and bassist Johannes Fink lay down sturdy grooves as a kind of ballast for the wildly zigzagging lines of the rest of the nimble combo, which also includes the imaginative saxophonist Daniel Erdmann. But it is the competing and complementary energies of Takase and Illvibe that take center stage, unleashing seemingly incongruous lines that coalesce masterfully. The music delivers a furiously swinging post-bop framework, but each piece includes elements that go against the grain, with Illvibe rarely deploying samples in conventional fashion, but instead operating like a sound sculptor.

Aki Takase piano
Daniel Erdmann saxophone
DJ Illvibe turntables, electronics
Johannes Fink double bass
Dag Magnus Narvesen drums
__________

Live stream from Johannesburg / ca. 30 min

Herbie Tsoaeli: “Afrikan Time – Our Sound / Hours Sound”

Bassist and bandleader Herbie Tsoaeli is a gray eminence on South Africa’s bustling jazz scene, a musician who remembers first-hand the depredations of the Apartheid era as a child in the Nyanga East Township of Capetown. He has endured, serving as a trusted, invaluable sideman, and eventually becoming a bandleader himself where he has functioned as a crucial mentor to many of the talents that have emerged in recent years, such as the acclaimed pianist Nduduzo Makhathini, who previously played in the bassist’s influential combo African Time. Tsoaeli’s 2013 debut as a bandleader was honoured as best jazz album by the South African Music Awards. His unerring time and warm tone anchor the deeply spiritual jazz of his band, connecting the searching tone of John Coltrane’s classic quartet with a touch of gospel and traditional South African melodies. For this live video stream, he leads the current incarnation of his quintet, which is joined by a trio of superb singers: Busi Sibeko, Bongani Nikelo, and Sakhile Moleshe.

Herbie Tsoaeli bass, vocal
Ayanda Sikade drums
Yonela Mnana piano
Sakhile Simane trumpet, fluegelhorn
Sisonke Xhonti tenor sax
Busi Sibeko vocals
Bongani Nikelo vocals
Sakhile Moleshe vocals

This concert is part of Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg

Konzert / Livestream
Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg

Aki Takase’s Japanic // Herbie Tsoaeli

Albert-Mangelsdorff-Preis

Die japanische Pianistin Aki Takase gehört zu den umtriebigsten Komponist*innen und Improvisationskünstler*innen Berlins, wofür sie beim Jazzfest Berlin 2021 den Albert-Mangelsdorff-Preis verliehen bekommt. Der Bassist Herbie Tsoaeli liefert einen klassischen Post-Bop-Sound, der Einflüsse von John Coltrane und südakfrikanischen Melodien verbindet.

Aki Takase’s Japanic / Herbie Tsoaeli

Aki Takase’s Japanic // Herbie Tsoaeli

© Dirk Bleicker / Steve Gordon, Musicpics.co.za

Konzerte online
Sehen Sie dieses Konzert live im Festivalstream oder als Aufzeichnung auf ARTE Concert und Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Albert-Mangelsdorff-Preis 2021: Aki Takase

Preisverleihung der Deutschen Jazzunion im Rahmen des Jazzfest Berlin
__________

Livekonzert in Berlin / ca. 50 min

Aki Takase’s Japanic

Rastloser als die in Berlin hoch geschätzte Pianistin Aki Takase kann man kaum sein; künstlerische Anregungen findet sie in grundverschiedenen Kollaborationen. Ihr grandioses Quintett Japanic entstand als indirekte Hommage an den eigenwilligen amerikanischen Komponisten Conlon Nancarrow, der für Menschenhände unspielbare Kompositionen für Selbstspielklaviere schrieb. Zwar knüpft sie in ihrem zusammen mit DJ Illvibe initiierten Projekt kaum direkt an dessen atemlose Klanggeflechte an. Dafür feiert die Band Nancarrows Faszination mit schlingernden Tempi und überraschenden Kontrasten. Auf dem grandiosen Albumdebüt „Thema Prima“ von 2019 legen der Schlagzeuger Dag Magnus Narvesen und der Bassist Johannes Fink ein Fundament aus robusten Grooves für die wilden Haken, die der Rest der souverän aufspielenden Combo schlägt – nicht zuletzt dank des vor Ideen strotzenden Saxofonisten Daniel Erdmann. Doch die Bühne gehört vor allem den konkurrierenden und doch komplementären Energien von Takase und Illvibe, die scheinbar disparate Melodielinien gekonnt verschmelzen lassen. Sie sorgen für einen überbordend swingenden Post-Bop-Rahmen, in dem einzelne Elemente gegen den Strich gebürstet werden. Seine Samples setzt Illvibe nur selten in konventioneller Weise ein. Vielmehr formt er den Klang wie ein Bildhauer.

Aki Takase Klavier
Daniel Erdmann Saxofon
DJ Illvibe Turntables, Elektronik
Johannes Fink Kontrabass
Dag Magnus Narvesen Schlagzeug
__________

Livestream aus Johannesburg / ca. 30 min

Herbie Tsoaeli: „Afrikan Time – Our Sound / Hours Sound“

Der Bassist und Bandleader Herbie Tsoaeli ist eine graue Eminenz in Südafrikas lebendiger Jazzszene, ein Musiker, der sich noch aus erster Hand an die Verwüstungen der Apartheid-Zeit erinnert, die er als Kind im Nyanga East Township in Kapstadt erlebte. Er hat es überlebt, war als zuverlässiger und außerordentlich wertvoller Sideman an diversen Projekten beteiligt und wurde schließlich selbst Bandleader, der vielen neuen Talenten der letzten Jahre als wichtiger Mentor gilt – so etwa dem gefeierten Pianisten Nduduzo Makhathini, der schon in Tsoaelis einflussreicher Band Afrikan Time spielte. Tsoaelis Debüt als Bandleader wurde 2013 bei den South African Music Awards als bestes Jazzalbum ausgezeichnet. Sein treffsicheres Timing und sein warmer Ton vertiefen den spirituellen Jazz seiner Band, die den suchenden Impetus von John Coltranes klassischem Quartett mit einem Hauch von Gospel und traditionellen südafrikanischen Melodien verbindet. Beim Jazzfest Berlin 2021 wird die hochkarätige Besetzung seines aktuellen Quintetts von einem Trio hervorragender Sänger*innen begleitet.

Herbie Tsoaeli Bass, Gesang
Ayanda Sikade Schlagzeug
Yonela Mnana Klavier
Sakhile Simane Trompete, Flügelhorn
Sisonke Xonti Tenorsaxofon
Busi Sibeko Gesang
Bongani Nikelo Gesang
Sakhile Moleshe Gesang

Dieses Konzert ist Teil von Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg