Concert / Live Stream
Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg

Side Bar // Koma Saxo

The members of Side Bar are not only widely respected figures on the local scene, but they have also made international inroads as The Ancestors, a project led by British reedist Shabaka Hutchings. Berlin’s Koma Saxo is the sound of surprise for jazz in 2021, viewing each performance as an opportunity to explore new terrain.

Koma Saxo / Side Bar

Koma Saxo // Side Bar

© Maarit Kytöharju / Side Bar

Past Dates

Concerts online
Watch these concerts live in the festival stream or as a recording at ARTE Concert and Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Live stream from Johannesburg (time-shifted) / ca. 30 min

Side Bar

The members of the agile quintet from Johannesburg recently coined their unit Side Bar, but there is nothing ancillary about this sturdy combo which blends hard-hitting post-bop with the spiritual yearning of late John Coltrane, while coming up on a steady diet of the South African jazz-rock band Batsumi and the legendary free jazz pioneers The Blue Notes. Yet they have taken those ideas to forge a sound all their own. The combo features some of the city’s finest musicians, most of whom previously worked together in the Amandla Freedom Ensemble, but their career path shifted around 2015 when the UK saxophonist Shabaka Hutchings visited their city and engaged with the musicians. He enlisted them as his band The Ancestors. That group has provided crucial, polystylistic support on two superb albums, including last year’s remarkable “We Are Sent Here by History”. But while the same rapport and depth they reveal in The Ancestors surely carries over into Side Bar, they are intent on carving out their own space, and this performance will surely feature music from a debut album the quintet is currently in the process of making under the direction of percussionist Gontse Makhene.

Tumi Mogorosi drums
Ariel Zamonsky bass
Gontse Makhene percussion
Mthunzi Mvubu alto sax
Siyabonga Mthembu vocals

This concert is part of Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg
__________

Live concert in Berlin / ca. 50 min

Koma Saxo

Premiere

Led by Berlin-based Swedish bassist Petter Eldh, Koma Saxo has been turning heads since emerging a couple of years ago. Those lucky enough to have seen the quintet can testify to the group’s visceral power, and as their recent album “Live” makes plain, the experience is joyful, sweaty, and soulful, with the musicians pushing hard against the strictures of its indelible themes, which collide post-bop, Scandinavian, folk, and hip-hop rhythms in unexpected ways. Eldh and drummer Christian Lillinger play with the groove like putty – stretching it, tearing it apart, and endlessly reconfiguring it – while reedists Jonas Kullhammar, Otis Sandsjö, and Mikko Innanen coalesce into a punchy horn section and operate like free agents. The band functions like a live remix, using its repertoire as a jumping off point. The group’s 2019 debut featured Eldh’s masterful application of hip-hop production techniques without watering down the band’s furious post-bop energy, while their third album features contributions from pianist Kit Downes, singer Sofia Jernberg, and cellist Lucy Railton, who help send the group in a new direction with a more lyric, contained, and contemplative side. In the band’s Jazzfest Berlin debut, Eldh promised to play some electric bass and craft live beats with his MPC.

Petter Eldh double bass
Otis Sandsjö saxophone
Jonas Kullhammar saxophone
Mikko Innanen saxophone
Christian Lillinger drums

Konzert / Livestream
Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg

Side Bar // Koma Saxo

Koma Saxo steht für Überraschungen im Jazz des Jahres 2021. Das deutsch-skandinavische Quintett nutzt jeden Auftritt als Gelegenheit, neues Terrain zu erkunden. Die Musiker von Side Bar präsentieren neue Musik, die verspricht, „den Sound von Post-Jazz- und Post-Rock zu erkunden und das transnationale Ethos des Black Sonic mitzudenken“.

Koma Saxo / Side Bar

Koma Saxo // Side Bar

© Maarit Kytöharju / Side Bar

Konzerte online
Sehen Sie dieses Konzert live im Festivalstream oder als Aufzeichnung auf ARTE Concert und Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Livestream aus Johannesburg / ca. 30 min

Side Bar

Die Mitglieder des energiegeladenen Quintetts aus Johannesburg haben sich zwar kürzlich in Side Bar umbenannt, doch gibt es nichts Nebensächliches an diesem Projekt, das harten Post-Bop mit der spirituellen Sehnsucht des späten John Coltrane mischt und gleichzeitig Einflüsse der südafrikanischen Jazz-Rock-Band Batsumi und der legendären Free Jazz-Pioniere von The Blue Notes verarbeitet. Allerdings haben sie diese Ideen aufgegriffen, um einen ganz eigenen Sound daraus zu entwickeln. Die Combo besteht aus einigen der besten Musiker*innen der Stadt, von denen die meisten zuvor im Amandla Freedom Ensemble zusammengearbeitet haben. Ihr Karriereweg änderte sich jedoch 2015, als der britische Saxophonist Shabaka Hutchings die Stadt besuchte und sie die Band The Ancestors mit ihm gründeten. Diese Gruppe hat auf zwei hervorragenden Alben, darunter das außergewöhnliche „We Are Sent Here by History“ von 2020, wesentlich den polystilistischen Sound geprägt. Doch wenngleich die Harmonie und Tiefe, die sie in The Ancestors offenbaren, sicherlich auch in Side Bar zum Tragen kommen, sind sie darauf bedacht, sich ihren eigenen Raum zu schaffen – und bei diesem Auftritt wird sicherlich Musik von einem Debütalbum zu hören sein, das das Quintett derzeit unter der Leitung des Schlagzeugers Gontse Makhene aufnimmt.

Tumi Mogorosi Schlagzeug
Ariel Zamonsky Bass
Gontse Makhene Perkussion
Mthunzi Mvubu Altsaxofon
Siyabonga Mthembu Gesang

Dieses Konzert ist Teil von Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg
__________

Livekonzert in Berlin / ca. 50 min

Koma Saxo

Premiere

Koma Saxo, die Combo des in Berlin lebenden schwedischen Bassisten Petter Eldh, sorgt seit ihrer Gründung vor einigen Jahren für Aufsehen. Wer schon das Glück hatte, das Quintett live zu erleben, weiß um dessen intuitive Kraft. Die steckt auch im jüngst erschienenen Album „Live“: eine beglückende, ebenso schweißtreibende wie beseelte Hörerfahrung, die davon lebt, dass die Musiker*innen Grenzen austesten, indem sie Post-Bop, skandinavischen Folk und Hip-hop-Rhythmen auf immer wieder überraschende Weise zusammenführen. Eldh und Schlagzeuger Christian Lillinger spielen mit ihren Grooves wie mit Knetmasse, dehnen, stauchen und zerpflücken sie, um sie dann wieder ganz neu zusammenzusetzen, während Jonas Kullhammar, Otis Sandsjö und Mikko Innanen an den Saxofonen frei das musikalische Terrain erkunden. Ihr Repertoire dient dabei lediglich als Startrampe – im Zusammenspiel der Band wird es immer wieder aufs Neue geremixt. Auf dem Debüt von 2019 glänzte Eldh mit seinen Skills als Hip-Hop-Produzent, ohne dadurch die vehemente Post-Bop-Energie der Band zu verwässern. Auf dem dritten Album sorgen nun der Pianist Kit Downes, die Sängerin Sofia Jernberg und die Cellistin Lucy Railton für eine kontemplative, zurückhaltendere Anmutung. Eldh wird bei der Jazzfest-Premiere seiner Band nicht nur E-Bass spielen, sondern auch Live-Beats an Sampler und Drum-Computer basteln.

Petter Eldh Kontrabass
Otis Sandsjö Saxofon
Jonas Kullhammar Saxofon
Mikko Innanen Saxofon
Christian Lillinger Schlagzeug