Concert / Live Stream
Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg

Shane Cooper and the Dinaledi Chamber Ensemble // Nate Wooley: “Columbia Icefield”

EJN-Award for Adventurous Programming

Nate Wooley uses “Columbia Icefield” to put his own distinctive spin on ambient music, with disruptive details that generate an exquisite tension marked by harmonic dissonance and atmospheric turbulence. Bassist and composer Shane Cooper, a ubiquitous figure in Johannesburg’s creative music scene over the last decade, debuts this brand-new project at Jazzfest Berlin 2021.

Nate Wooley: “Columbia Icefield” / Shane Cooper

Nate Wooley: “Columbia Icefield” // Shane Cooper

© Chris Weiss / Aubrey Jonsson

Concerts online
Watch these concerts live in the festival stream or as a recording at ARTE Concert and Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Live stream from Johannesburg / ca. 30 min

Shane Cooper and the Dinaledi Chamber Ensemble

Bassist, bandleader, and producer Shane Cooper has been a vital presence on the Johannesburg scene for the last decade, creatively colliding different traditions with a post-modern sensibility that uses electronics as a binding element. The driving rhythms of funk and rock fuel the high-energy sound of his group Mabuta, which reveals the influence of the British new jazz scene on his conception. The group’s hard-hitting 2018 album “Welcome to This World” features the indelible playing of saxophonist Shabaka Hutchings on several tracks. More recently, Cooper has worn his producer hat with his Happenstance project, collecting diverse line-ups of South African musicians – sometimes grouped by instrumental focus – to submit their group improvisations to his post-production scalpel, with intoxicating results, both hypnotic and explosive. For this Jazzfest Berlin commission, Cooper performs shape-shifting works with the Dinaledi Chamber Ensemble – which includes Mabuta pianist Bokani Dyer and guitarist Reza Khota, in addition to folklorist Cara Stacey – blending post-bop frameworks with looped elements and dynamic live dance, assembled like a 3-D piece of musique concrète.

Shane Cooper double bass, electric bass, synths, loops
Bokani Dyer piano
Cara Stacey vocals, bowstrings, traditional Southern African instruments
Linda Sikhakhane saxophone
Reza Khota guitar
Lulu Mlangeni dancer

Commissioned by Berliner Festspiele / Jazzfest Berlin in cooperation with Jess White

This concert is part of Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg
__________

10. EJN-Award for Adventurous Programming

Award ceremony of the Europe Jazz Network to the Jazzfest Berlin

__________

Live concert in Berlin / ca. 50 min

Nate Wooley: “Columbia Icefield”

Trumpeter and inveterate sonic explorer Nate Wooley consistently employs his different projects to investigate specific terrain, and the surface of this coolly simmering quartet seems concerned with a kind of turbulent ambience. As heard on the band’s sublime 2019 debut album, guitarist Mary Halvorson and pedal steel guitarist Susan Alcorn weave a knotty fabric with profound restraint, building tension from relatively serene blocks of sound larded with barbed accents, acrid harmony, and woozy drift, as drummer Ryan Sawyer stokes the flames with a zigzagging blend of propulsion and stick-in-the-spokes disruption. While some observers have noted an ECM-like sense of atmosphere, Wooley routinely goes against the meditative grain with surprising melodic twists and contemplative improvisations that eschew new age calm. Abraded by judicious amplification and reverb, Wooley’s lines alternate between moody lyricism and slashing violence, melding with the measured churn of his bandmates as much as he flails against it. The music ripples with an emotional complexity that makes room for both introspection and extroversion, conveying a multivalent depth that powerfully mirrors life’s journey. For the Berlin debut of the quartet the wildly imaginative guitarist Ava Mendoza fills in for Halvorson.

Nate Wooley trumpet
Ava Mendoza guitar
Susan Alcorn pedal steel guitar
Ryan Sawyer drums

Konzert / Livestream
Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg

Shane Cooper and the Dinaledi Chamber Ensemble // Nate Wooley: „Columbia Icefield“

EJN-Award for Adventurous Programming

Mit seinem Projekt „Columbia Icefield“ realisiert der Trompeter Nate Wooley seinen ganz eigenen Entwurf von Ambient: voller widerspenstiger Einschübe, feiner Dissonanzen und atmosphärischer Umschwünge. Per Livestream stellt der tief in der kreativen Szene von Johannesburg verwurzelte Bassist und Komponist Shane Cooper seine neueste Arbeit vor.

Nate Wooley: „Columbia Icefield“ / Shane Cooper

Nate Wooley: „Columbia Icefield“ // Shane Cooper

© Chris Weiss / Aubrey Jonsson

Konzerte online
Sehen Sie dieses Konzert live im Festivalstream oder als Aufzeichnung auf ARTE Concert und Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Livestream aus Johannesburg / ca. 30 min

Shane Cooper and the Dinaledi Chamber Ensemble

Der Bassist, Bandleader und Produzent ist über die letzten Jahre zu einer zentralen Figur der Szene in Johannesburg geworden. Er lässt mit kreativem, postmodernem Verve unterschiedlichste Traditionen aufeinanderprallen und amalgamiert sie mit elektronischen Elementen. Funk-und Rockrhythmen treiben den hochenergetischen Sound seiner Band Matuba an, die auch von der britischen New-Jazz-Szene beeinflusst ist – zu hören etwa auf dem mitreißenden Album „Welcome to This World” von 2018. Zuletzt hatte Cooper bei seinem Happenstance-Projekt als Produzent den Hut auf. Dabei brachte er südafrikanische Musiker*innen in verschiedenen Line-ups zum Improvisieren zusammen und setzte sein kreatives Skalpell bei der Post-Produktion an. Das Ergebnis ist berauschend, so hypnotisch wie intensiv. Für die Auftragsarbeit des Jazzfests Berlin spielt Cooper mit dem Dinaledi Chamber Ensemble zusammen, zu dem neben der folkloristisch interessierten, vielseitigen Performerin Cara Stacey auch der Gitarrist Reza Khota und der Pianist Bokani Dyer gehören. Geloopte Elemente und eine dynamische Tanz-Performance verbindet Cooper mit Post-Bop, der immer wieder seine Form sucht. So entsteht eine Art dreidimensionale Musique concrète.

Shane Cooper Bass, E-Bass, Synthesizer, Loops
Bokani Dyer Klavier
Cara Stacey Gesang, Musikbogen, traditionelle Instrumente aus dem südlichen Afrika
Linda Sikhakhane Saxofon
Reza Khota Gitarre
Lulu Mlangeni Tänzer

Im Auftrag von Berliner Festspiele / Jazzfest Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit Jess White

Dieses Konzert ist Teil von Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg
__________

10. EJN-Award for Adventurous Programming

Preisverleihung des Europe Jazz Network an das Jazzfest Berlin

__________

Livekonzert in Berlin / ca. 50 min

Nate Wooley: „Columbia Icefield“

Nate Wooley, Trompeter und unermüdlicher Klangforscher, erkundet mit seinen Projekten immer neue Terrains – mit „Columbia Icefield“ widmet er sich dem Grenzbereich von Free Jazz und Ambient. Im überragenden Albumdebüt von 2019 schufen die Gitarristin Mary Halvorson und Susan Alcorn an der Pedal-Steel-Gitarre mit bemerkenswerter Zurückhaltung repetitive Strukturen, die ihre Spannung oft daraus beziehen, dass die ruhigen Passagen immer wieder mit Störungen und bitteren Harmonien durchzogen sind. Auch Drummer Ryan Sawyer bremst die gleichförmige Ruhe mit nervösen Einschüben immer wieder aus. Wenngleich dem Album eine Atmosphäre attestiert wurde, die an ECM-Veröffentlichungen erinnern mag, bürstet die Band den Sound immer wieder eigenwillig und mitunter brutal gegen den Strich und vermeidet so jede allzu meditative New-Age-Anmutung. Wooley selbst an der Trompete arbeitet mit Verstärkung und Reverb, während sein Spiel mit dem hypnotischen Strudel seiner Bandkolleg*innen verschmilzt und zugleich gegen ihn ankämpft. Die Musik ist durchdrungen von einer Komplexität, die einerseits Raum für Introspektion lässt, die Zuhörer*innen aber ebenso anspringt. Bei der Berlin-Premiere dieses Quartetts spielt die ungeheuer ideenreiche Ava Mendoza an Halvorsons Stelle.

Nate Wooley Trompete
Ava Mendoza Gitarre
Susan Alcorn Pedal-Steel-Gitarre
Ryan Sawyer Schlagzeug