Concert / Video / Live Stream
Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg – São Paulo

Quartabê // Mariá Portugal // Sibusile Xaba

Singer and guitarist Sibusile Xaba is one of the most idiosyncratic figures in South Africa’s rich music scene. His live-streamed performance is juxtaposed with a video work by São Paulo quartet Quatarbê, who blithely eschew musical boundaries, and a concert by Mariá Portugal debuting at Jazzfest Berlin with a stellar cast of German improvisers.

Mariá Portugal / Sibusile Xaba / Quartabê

Mariá Portugal // Sibusile Xaba // Quartabê

© Kristina Zalesskaya / Nqobi Temba / Ilana Bar

Past Dates

Concerts online
Watch this concert live in the festival stream or as a recording on ARTE Concert and Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Video contribution from São Paulo / ca. 10 min

Quartabê: “XXXX”

Formed back in 2014 by several members of the band led by Brazilian experimental icon Arrigo Barnabé, Quartabê has nonchalantly collided aesthetic approaches with beguiling grace and sophistication. The group – percussionist Mariá Portugal, clarinetists Joana Queiroz and Maria Beraldo, and keyboardist Chicão – have devoted their two albums to surveying and bringing new life to compositions written by, respectively, Moacir Santos and Dorival Caymmi. On the Caymmi record, the group abstracted lines and fragments of his pieces with wildly inventive arrangements, especially in the unusual blend of reeds, deftly blending improvisation, Brazilian rhythms, and translucent timbres with an arresting concision that belies the pop experiments the band members often engage in outside of this context. Quartabê’s contribution to Jazzfest Berlin has been created in a remote collaboration – a symbolic gesture of physical separation imposed by the pandemic and an acknowledgement of Mariá Portugal living in Germany for the past couple of years. The group stays unified in an ongoing musical pursuit.

Mariá Portugal drums
Joana Queiroz clarinet, bass clarinet
Maria Beraldo clarinet, bass clarinet
Chicão keyboards

Ricardo Mosca mixing
Carlos Freitas mastering
Thais Triveni camera
Sóstenes Matusalém camera
Amabile Barel camera
Ellen Trenn camera
Bernhard Rupprecht recording engineer (Mariá Portugal)
Manoela Wright executive production
Insiranomeaqui video director

Commissioned by Berliner Festspiele / Jazzfest Berlin in cooperation with Manoela Wright & Juliano Gentile

This concert is part of Jazzfest Berlin – São Paulo
__________

Live concert in Berlin / ca. 50 min

Mariá Portugal: “Erosão Viva”

Premiere

Brazilian drummer, singer, and composer Mariá Portugal didn’t leave São Paulo empty-handed when she moved to Germany at the start of 2020, after being named Improviser in Residence for the year at the Moers Festival. She brought along tracks she had recorded with a small group of collaborators – both written and improvised material – and during the solitude of the lockdown she began assembling it all into the music on her excellent new album “Erosão”, a set of memorable, texturally rich tunes that showcases not only her strengths as a drummer, but as a singer as well. The songs tap into the modern sounds of Brazil, with shape-shifting arrangements that eschew fixed patterns as well as improvised passages transformed into essential compositional elements. Portugal made her name as a member of Quartabé, a São Paulo combo that has delivered wildly creative studies of singular Brazilian composers Moacir Santos and Dorival Caymmi, and new material by the group recorded and videotaped remotely will preface Portugal’s live set at Jazzfest Berlin this year. Some of Germany’s strongest improvisers, including saxophonist Angelika Niescier, tubist Carl Ludwig Hübsch, and electronic artist Korhan Erel, will join her in forging heavily improvised versions of songs from “Erosão”, stitched together in spontaneous order through additional layers of improvisation.

Mariá Portugal drums, percussion, voice
Angelika Niescier saxophone
Filipe Nader saxophone
Heidi Bayer trumpet
Moritz Wesp trombone
Carl Ludwig Hübsch tuba
Reza Askari bass
Korhan Erel electronics, sound processing

This concert is part of Jazzfest Berlin – São Paulo
__________

Live stream from Johannesburg / ca. 30 min

Sibusile Xaba introduces IzangoMa

Premiere

One of South Africa’s most idiosyncratic and unpredictable forces, guitarist and singer Sibusile Xaba, extends and warps the legacy of Malombo pioneer Philip Tabane and turns the Zulu troubadour tradition of Maskandi on its head. He is a virtuosic guitarist who persistently opts for less travelled pathways, unspooling clean-toned lines that tangle in sudden knots, unfurl in pulsating pointillism, and coalesce into biting, unusual harmonies. His voice feels less like an instrument than a force of nature, following or colliding his guitar lines with fractured verse, liquid grunts, and strangely intuitive scat-like rhythmic sallies. Although his melodic conception is totally his own, there is something in his sui generis amalgam that recalls the equally singular approach of the Bahamian master Joseph Spence. But despite his eccentricities, Xaba plays well with other, engaging in multi-layered improvisation exchanges with the collaborators bold enough to collaborate with him, such as Shabaka Hutchings who’s improvised lines meld beautifully with Xaba’s jagged phrasing on “Phefumula”, an 18-minute excursion on the guitarist’s recent album “Ngiwu Schwabada”. For his special Jazzfest Berlin performance, Xaba promises a new direction, switching from guitar to keyboards and fronting a 14-piece band with multiple percussionists and vocalists.

Sibusile Xaba lead vocals, guitar, keys
Khanyisile Mtshobile backing vocals
Neo Leoka backing vocals
Fakazile Nkosi backing vocals
Sakhile Twala bass
Thabelo Khamisi keys
Ashley Kgabo synth/analogue sounds
Malusi Masia alto & tenor saxophone
Jack Mcwabe trumpet
Mthokozisi Mazibuko congas
Yao Gatorwobuna Agbodohu djembe
Soares Bruno djembe & doom doom
Marino Saide tufa
Virgilio Abdala guitar

This concert is part of Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg

Konzert / Video / Livestream
Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg – São Paulo

Quartabê // Mariá Portugal // Sibusile Xaba

Das Quartett Quartabê aus São Paulo verbindet mühelos Improvisation, ausgefeilte Harmonien und poppige Prägnanz – hier in einer musikalischen Videoarbeit. Mitglied Mariá Portugal tritt beim Jazzfest Berlin 2021 zudem live in Berlin auf. Auch der Südafrikanische Sänger und Gitarrist Sibusile Xaba bewegt sich geschickt zwischen Tradition und Experiment, angetrieben von einer hochgradig intuitiven Sensibilität.

Mariá Portugal / Sibusile Xaba / Quartabê

Mariá Portugal // Sibusile Xaba // Quartabê

© Kristina Zalesskaya / Nqobi Temba / Ilana Bar

Konzerte online
Sehen Sie dieses Konzert live im Festivalstream oder als Aufzeichnung auf ARTE Concert und Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Videoarbeit aus São Paulo / ca. 10 min

Quartabê: „XXXX“

Seitdem Quartabê 2014 von mehreren Bandmitgliedern der brasilianischen Experimentalikone Arrigo Barnabé gegründet wurde, verbinden sie nonchalant ästhetische Ansätze mit betörender Grazie und Raffinesse. Die Gruppe – bestehend aus der Perkussionistin Mariá Portugal, den Klarinettistinnen Joana Queiroz und Maria Beraldo sowie dem Keyboarder Chicão – hat ihre zwei Alben den Kompositionen von Moacir Santos und Dorival Caymmi gewidmet, um ihnen neues Leben einzuhauchen. Auf dem Caymmi-Album abstrahiert Quartabê Linien und Fragmente von dessen Stücken in wilden, einfallsreichen Arrangements und vermischt geschickt Improvisation, brasilianische Rhythmen und überraschende Klangfarben mit einer verblüffenden Prägnanz, die kaum auf die Pop-Experimente schließen lassen, in die die Mitglieder außerhalb dieses Kontextes involviert sind. Beim Beitrag der Gruppe zum Jazzfest Berlin spielt jede Musiker*in auf einem separaten Bildschirm – eine symbolische Geste der physischen Trennung, die durch die Pandemie verursacht wurde und zudem der Tatsache geschuldet ist, dass Mariá Portugal seit einiger Zeit in Deutschland lebt. Vereint sind alle vier aber weiterhin in ihrer kontinuierlichen musikalischen Zusammenarbeit.

Mariá Portugal Schlagzeug
Joana Queiroz Klarinette, Bassklarinette
Maria Beraldo Klarinette, Bassklarinette
Chicão Tasteninstrumente

Ricardo Mosca Tonmischung
Carlos Freitas Mastering
Thais Triveni Kamera
Sóstenes Matusalém Kamera
Amabile Barel Kamera
Ellen Trenn Kamera
Bernhard Rupprecht Tonmeister
Manoela Wright Produktionsleitung
Insiraonomaqui Regie

Im Auftrag von Berliner Festspiele / Jazzfest Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit Manoela Wright & Juliano Gentile

Dieses Konzert ist Teil von Jazzfest Berlin – São Paulo
__________

Livekonzert in Berlin / ca. 50 min

Mariá Portugal: „Erosão Viva“

Premiere

Die brasilianische Schlagzeugerin, Sängerin und Komponistin kam nicht mit leeren Händen, als sie Anfang 2020 als Improviser in Residence des Moers Festivals nach Deutschland zog. Im Gepäck hatte sie Tracks, die sie mit einigen Mitstreiter*innen in São Paulo eingespielt hatte. In den einsamen Monaten des Lockdowns entwickelte sie daraus ihr exzellentes Solodebüt „Erosão“: eine Sammlung eindrucksvoller, komplexer Stücke, die nicht nur ihre Qualitäten als Schlagzeugerin ausstellen, sondern auch ihre Fähigkeiten als Sängerin. Die Songs docken an die Sounds des modernen Brasiliens an: mit Arrangements, die sich immer wieder neu finden, und improvisierten Passagen, die Portugal zu kompositorischen Bausteinen weiterentwickelt hat. Einen Namen machte sie sich zuvor als Mitglied von Quartabê. Neues Material der Band wird als Videobeitrag unmittelbar vor Portugals Live-Set zu erleben sein. Die Saxophonistin Angelika Niescier, der Tubist Carl Ludwig Hübsch und der Elektronikkünstler Korhan Erel, die zu den besten Improvisator*innen Deutschlands gehören, interpretieren beim Jazzfest Berlin gemeinsam mit Portugal das Material von „Erosão“ zum ersten Mal live.

Mariá Portugal Schlagzeug, Perkussion, Gesang
Angelika Niescier Saxofon
Heidi Bayer Trompete
Moritz Wesp Posaune
Carl Ludwig Hübsch Tuba
Filipe Nader Bass
Reza Askari Schlagzeug
Korhan Erel Elektronik, Klangbearbeitung

Dieses Konzert ist Teil von Jazzfest Berlin – São Paulo
__________

Livestream aus Johannesburg / ca. 30 min

Sibusile Xaba introduces IzangoMa

Premiere

Eine der eigenwilligsten und unberechenbarsten Kräfte Südafrikas, Gitarrist und Sänger Sibusile Xaba, erweitert und verzerrt das Erbe des Malombo-Pioniers Philip Tabane und stellt die Zulu Tradition von Maskandi auf den Kopf. Der virtuose Gitarrist wählt beharrlich kaum betretene Pfade und spielt saubere Tonlinien, die sich in plötzlichen Knoten verheddern, in pulsierendem Pointillismus aufrollen und zu beißenden, ungewöhnlichen Harmonien zusammenballen. Seine Stimme fühlt sich weniger wie ein Instrument an als wie eine Naturgewalt, die seinen Gitarrenlinien mit gebrochenen Versen, Lauten und seltsam intuitiven scat-artigen rhythmischen Ausbrüchen folgt oder mit ihnen kollidiert. Doch trotz seiner Exzentrik spielt Xaba gut mit anderen zusammen und lässt sich auf einen vielschichtigen Improvisationsaustausch mit denjenigen ein, die mutig genug sind, mit ihm zu kollaborieren. Sein Jazzfest Berlin-Debut verspricht eine neue Richtung einzuschlagen, indem Xaba von der Gitarre zu den Tasten wechselt und eine 14-köpfige Band mit mehreren Perkussionist*innen und Sänger*innen anführt.

Sibusile Xaba Lead-Gesang, Gitarre, Keyboard
Khanyisile Mtshobile Hintergrundgesang
Neo Leoka Hintergrundgesang
Fakazile Nkosi Hintergrundgesang
Sakhile Twala Bass
Thabelo Khamisi Keyboard
Ashley Kgabo Synth/Analogue Sounds
Malusi Masia Alt- & Tenorsaxofon
Jack Mcwabe Trompete
Mthokozisi Mazibuko Congas
Yao Gatorwobuna Agbodohu Djjembe
Soares Bruno Djembe & Doom Doom
Marino Saide Tufa
Virgilio Abdala Gitarre

Dieses Konzert ist Teil von Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg