Film / Listening Session
Jazzfest Berlin – Cairo

Nancy Mounir: “Nozhet El Nofous (Those who were not invited)”

Followed by a Listening Session with Judith Hamann, Maurice Louca and Uygur Vural

Egyptian violinist Nancy Mounir has spent five years researching female Egyptian singers from the 1920s. These artists often worked with tuning systems outside of the dominant scales in the Arabic mainstream, and their gender and artistic choices left them uninvited from the influential 1932 Congress of Arab Music in Cairo.

Nancy Mounir

Nancy Mounir

© Promo

Concerts online
Watch this event live in the festival stream or as a recording at ARTE Concert and Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Film / ca. 40 min

Nozhet El Nofous (Those who were not invited)

The film is a promenade through a near-forgotten world, where archival clues guide us and eventually tell the story. Mounira El Mahdeya and others evoke and relive their glory days, before the 1932 Congress of Arab Music was held in Cairo. Indeed, Mounira and her fellow singers who feature in this work were not invited to the Congress, which aimed to document and standardise Arab and Oriental music and resulted in the erasure of a rich tapestry of microtonality from Egyptian music. Using a mix of archival material and new footage, Nancy Mounir plays along and with the material to add musical layers and reconstruct a non-existent musical memory, culminating in a performance at the Institute of Arab Music, the very place where the Congress was held, thus reviving these singers’ voices where they were once excluded and erased.

Nancy Mounir concept, composition, theremin, research, co-direction
Ahmed El Saaty co-direction, editing, cinematography
Laila Soliman art consulting
Youssra El Hawary accordion, research, dramaturgy
Mounir Maher piano
Ahmed Amin double bass
Hakim Abdel Naïm research
Yasser Abdullah research
Darren Hayes live sound
Simsara Music executive producer

Listening Session / ca. 60 min

Fine Tuning Difference

From traditional non-tempered tuning systems, just intonation, equal temperament, microtonal systems, to idiosyncratic detunings – the pluriverse of approaches to tuning and tonal organization is a central element of musical construction and expression. It is also a historically charged field, in which the relationships between indigenous, traditional and modern approaches, diversity and standardization, body, soul and systems of musical organization are manifested. In this Listening Session, musicians Judith Hamann, Maurice Louca and Uygur Vural share glimpses of their individual takes and thinking on tuning, microtonality and tonal organization. Australian cellist and composer-performer Judith Hamann is an impressive new voice in the Berlin ‘tuning scene’ around artists like the Harmonic Space Orchestra, Marc Sabat, Catherine Lamb or Zinc & Copper. Mixing Arabic music, electronics, psychedelic folk and free improvisation, Maurice Louca is one of the most prolific musicians and composers on Egypt´s underground music scene. Multidisciplinary artist and cellist Uygur Vural has been exploring the transcultural sphere between European contemporary music and free improvisation, classical Arabic and Anatolian tradition, and jazz for many years.

with Judith Hamann, Maurice Louca and Uygur Vural
moderation Thomas Gläßer

This event is part of Jazzfest Berlin – Cairo

Film / Listening Session
Jazzfest Berlin – Cairo

Nancy Mounir: „Nozhet El Nofous (Those who were not invited)“

Anschließend Listening Session mit Judith Hamann, Maurice Louca und Uygur Vural

Die ägyptische Multiinstrumentalistin Nancy Mounir interessiert sich ebenso für experimentellen Rock wie für traditionelle arabische Musik. Fünf Jahre lang hat sie zu ägyptischen Sängerinnen der 1920er-Jahre recherchiert, die mit von der damaligen arabischen Norm abweichenden mikrotonalen Skalen arbeiteten – was 1932, neben ihrem Geschlecht, für ihren Ausschluss vom Kairoer Kongress für arabische Musik sorgte.

Nancy Mounir

Nancy Mounir

© Promo

Konzerte online
Sehen Sie diese Veranstaltung live im Festivalstream oder als Aufzeichnung auf ARTE Concert und Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Film / ca. 40 min

Nozhet El Nofous (Those who were not invited)

Der Film nimmt den Zuschauer mit in eine fast vergessene Welt; das Archivmaterial liefert dabei die entscheidenden Hinweise. Es erzählt von dem goldenen Zeitalter von Mounira El Mahdeya und anderen Sängerinnen, die im Jahr 1932 nicht zum Kongress für arabische Musik in Kairo eingeladen wurden. Dort verfolgte man das Ziel, arabische und orientalische Musik zu dokumentieren und zu standardisieren, wodurch etwa die komplexe Vielfalt der Mikrotonalität in der ägyptischen Musik ausgelöscht wurde. Die Multiinstrumentalistin Nancy Mounir spielt zu einer Mischung aus Archivaufnahmen und neuem Material und fügt außerdem neue Klangschichten hinzu – in der Absicht, eine musikalische Erinnerung zu schaffen, die bisher nicht existierte. Das Projekt gipfelt in einer Performance am Institut für arabische Musik, wo seinerzeit der Kongress stattfand. So lässt Mounir die Stimmen der Sängerinnen genau dort wieder auferstehen, wo sie damals ausgeschlossen und ausgelöscht wurden.

Nancy Mounir Konzept, Komposition, Theremin, Forschung, Regie
Ahmed El Saaty Regie, Editing, Kinematographie
Laila Soliman Künstlerische Beratung
Youssra El Hawary Akkordeon, Forschung, Dramaturgie
Mounir Maher Klavier
Ahmed Amin Kontrabass
Hakim Abdel Naïm Forschung
Yasser Abdullah Forschung
Darren Hayes Live-Sound
Simsara Music Produktion

Listening Session / ca. 60 min

Fine Tuning Difference

Traditionell, untemperiert, mikrotonal, rein, offen oder gleichschwebend – Stimmung und tonale Organisation sind eine zentrale und historisch aufgeladene Koordinate von Musik: Hier manifestieren sich die Spannung zwischen indigenen, traditionellen und modernen Musiken, die Verdrängung musikalischer Ausdrucksweisen sowie das Verhältnis von Klang, Körper und musikalischen Ordnungssystemen. In dieser Listening Session geben die Musiker*innen Judith Hamann, Maurice Louca und Uygur Vural Einblick in ihre individuelle Auseinandersetzung mit verschiedenen Stimmungen und Mikrotonalität. Die australische Cellistin und Composer-Performerin Judith Hamann ist eine beeindruckende neue Stimme in der Berliner Tuning-Szene um das Harmonic Space Orchestra, Marc Sabat, Catherine Lamb oder Zinc & Copper. Mit eigenwilligen Projekten zwischen arabischer Musik und Psychedelic Folk, Elektronik und freier Improvisation ist Maurice Louca einer der wichtigsten Musiker und Komponisten der ägyptischen Underground-Szene. Der multidisziplinäre Künstler und Cellist Uygur Vural entwickelt seit Jahren eine transkulturelle Musizierweise, in der neben freier Improvisation, Jazz und traditioneller osmanischer, indischer oder arabischer Musik auch der Reichtum der anatolischen Musik durchklingt.

Mit Judith Hamann, Maurice Louca und Uygur Vural
Moderation Thomas Gläßer

Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil von Jazzfest Berlin – Cairo