Concert / Video
Jazzfest Berlin – Cairo – Johannesburg – São Paulo

Metá Metá // Dave Douglas // Terrible Sounds // Nduduzo Makhathini

The esteemed New York trumpeter Dave Douglas gives the German premiere of this new chamber jazz ensemble, while sound poet Nduduzo Makhatini performs solo at his Jazzfest Berlin debut. The concert also features the experimental music powerhouse trio Metá Metá from São Paulo and a commissioned video work by Egyptian-German artist Philip Rizk.

Terrible Sounds / Méta Méta / Dave Douglas / Nduduzo Makhatini

Terrible Sounds // Méta Méta // Dave Douglas // Nduduzo Makhatini

© Philip Rizk / Fernando Eduardo / John Abbott / Promo

Concerts online
Watch this concerts live in the festival stream or as a recording on ARTE Concert and Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Video contribution from São Paulo / ca. 10 min

Metá Metá: “Ogbe Oyeku Iwori Odi”

In the years since forming in 2008, the members of this aesthetically voracious São Paulo trio have emerged as major figures in the Brazilian musical landscape. From the very beginning, singer Juçara Marçal, guitarist Kiko Dinucci, and saxophonist Thiago França revealed deep curiosity and stylistic fluency well beyond the sound of their polyglot home turf. While the group may summon the gritty, hard-hitting energy of punk rock in its attack, Metá Metá have enfolded the gripping polyrhythms of Brazil’s northeast into its driving grooves. The band’s most recent studio album “MM3” also added beguiling flavors from North African into its entrancing fury. The band members are involved in countless other projects, many of which feed into the elusive Metá Metá sound in protracted fashion, whether the rhythmically asserting phrasing of Marçal, the experimental frevo horns França delivers on his brassy new album, or the stark sambas Dinucci featured on his breakthrough 2020 album “Rastilho”.

Juçara Marçal voice, kalimba
Thiago França saxophone, flute, fife
Kiko Dinucci guitar, eletric guitar, synthesizer, percussion, sampler, direction

Luan Cardoso photography, post production
Beatriz Dantas editing
Caê Rolfsen mixing and mastering

Commissioned by Berliner Festspiele / Jazzfest Berlin in cooperation with Manoela Wright & Juliano Gentile

This concert is part of Jazzfest Berlin – São Paulo
__________

Livekonzert in Berlin / ca. 70 min

Dave Douglas: “Secular Psalms”

Trumpeter Dave Douglas – one of the most eloquent and versatile horn players of the last three decades – has always allowed his curiosity to push his music into new directions. Originally scheduled to make its Berlin premiere at last year’s Jazzfest Berlin but made impossible by the pandemic, this year Douglas belatedly shares this new ensemble inspired by the Flemish painter Jan van Eyck, particularly by his 1432 multi-panel masterpiece “Adoration of the Mystic Lamb” (“Ghent Altarpiece”). The trumpeter embraced the work’s dark, mysterious exterior as well as its verdant, populated interior in his writing, while also looking to the music of Franco-Flemish renaissance composer Guillaume Dufay for musical ideas. The exciting chamber jazz ensemble features Chicago cellist Tomeka Reid, Polish pianist Marta Warelis, and Belgian musicians Belinde Deman (tuba), Frederik Leroux (guitar, oud, banjo), and Antoine Pierre (drums). All of them join the leader in singing texts by French court poet Christine De Pisan and his own original English language lyrics, underlining the dichotomy of the project name in balancing the sacred and the profane.

Dave Douglas trumpet, vocals, composition
Tomeka Reid violoncello, vocals
Marta Warelis piano, portable organ, vocals
Berlinde Deman tuba, serpent, vocals
Frederik Leroux guitars, oud, banjo, vocals
Antoine Pierre drums, electronics

Co-commissioned by Berliner Festspiele / Jazzfest Berlin, November Music, Kaap and Concertgebouw Brugge, and Handelsbeurs

__________

Video contribution from Cairo / ca. 20 min

Terrible Sounds – A Triptych

The German percussionist, journalist, composer, and filmmaker Hartmut Geerken – who over the years worked with Sun Ra, John Tchicai, and Art Ensemble of Chicago – had already become enamoured with the sounds of Sun Ra when he took a job in Cairo in 1967, where he met and befriended Salah Ragab, an army general who played drums and led the country’s military band. They formed Egypt’s first jazz band, the Cairo Jazz Band, as well as the Cairo Free Jazz Ensemble. Among their collaborative efforts was a 1971 improvised recording with several other musicians, which went unissued until four decades later, when it was released as “Muharram 1392” – the Islamic date of the original recording. Filmmaker Philip Rizk, collaborating with musician Nadah El Shazly, assembled a group of experimental musicians from the region – including Egyptian multi-instrumentalist Maurice Louca, who will present his Elephantine project at this year’s festival – to reflect on and celebrate the recording with new improvisations. The project, a special Jazzfest Berlin commission, took on a life of its own, with Rizk creating a multi-layered meditation on colonialism’s long life in an era of neo-colonialism by looking at events around the unsealing of the tomb of Tutankhamun in the year 1922, accompanied by the new sessions along with other soundscapes into a kaleidoscopic audiovisual experience.

Philip Rizk concept & video
Nadah El Shazly musical direction & music editing, vocals, keyboards
Hartmut Geerken metal tongue drum, mizmar, bandura, flute, arghul and angklung
Maurice Louca keyboards
Ayman Asfour violin
Sharif Sehnaoui guitar, saz

Commissioned by Berliner Festspiele / Jazzfest Berlin with a recording supported by Mophradat

This concert is part of Jazzfest Berlin – Cairo
__________

Live concert in Berlin / ca. 50 min

Nduduzo Makhathini

Last year, South African pianist, composer and bandleader Nduduzo Makhathini reached an international audience with his Blue Note debut “Modes Of Communication: Letters From The Underworlds”, a heady mix of Randy Weston’s global jazz conception and the spirituality of John Coltrane. The prolific musician, who has worked as a member of The Ancestors with Shabaka Hutchings, makes his Jazzfest Berlin debut with a rare solo performance, tapping into a more introspective aesthetic than his ebullient band projects. His stunning 2017 solo album “Reflections” presents music of delicate patience, and while there are tunes where the pianist taps into the soulful traditions of his homeland, braiding gospel and Zulu harmony spiked with a shot of free jazz on a piece like “Igagu”, more often than not he carves out a meditative space that allows his thoughtful ruminations plentiful space to breathe. His forceful left-hand figures imbue his performances with an earthy presence that’s beautifully balanced by the poetic gestures unleashed by his right hand, with compositions that ignore stylistic boundaries in favour of genre-agnostic exploration.

Nduduzo Makhathini piano

This concert is part of Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg

Konzert / Video
Jazzfest Berlin – Cairo – Johannesburg – São Paulo

Metá Metá // Dave Douglas // Terrible Sounds // Nduduzo Makhathini

Metá Metá aus São Paulo lässt Post-Punk-Energie auf eine wilde Mischung aus diversen Einflüssen treffen, während Filmemacher Philip Rizk mit „Terrible Sounds“ eine audiovisuelle Meditation über Ägyptens bewegte Kolonialgeschichte präsentiert. Dazwischen präsentiert Dave Douglas sein neues Projekt – und der südafrikanische Pianist Nduduzo Makhathini beschließt das Festival mit introspektiven Tönen.

Terrible Sounds / Méta Méta / Dave Douglas / Nduduzo Makhatini

Terrible Sounds // Méta Méta // Dave Douglas // Nduduzo Makhatini

© Philip Rizk / Fernando Eduardo / John Abbott / Promo

Konzerte online
Sehen Sie dieses Konzert live im Festivalstream oder als Aufzeichnung auf ARTE Concert und Jazzfest Berlin on Demand.

Videoarbeit aus São Paulo / ca. 10 min

Metá Metá: „Ogbe Oyeku Iwori Odi“

In den Jahren seit ihrer Gründung 2008 haben sich die Mitglieder dieses ästhetisch unersättlichen Trios aus São Paulo zu wichtigen Figuren in der brasilianischen Musiklandschaft entwickelt. Von Anfang an zeigten Sängerin Juçara Marçal, Gitarrist Kiko Dinucci und Saxofonist Thiago França eine tiefe Neugier und stilistische Gewandtheit, die weit über den Sound ihrer polyglotten Heimat hinausgeht. Neben der düsteren, knallharten Energie des Punkrocks haben Metá Metá etwa die packenden Polyrhythmen des brasilianischen Nordostens in ihre treibenden Grooves einfließen lassen. Ihr jüngstes Studioalbum „MM3“ ergänzt seine mitreißende Kraft durch musikalische Einflüsse aus Nordafrika. Die Bandmitglieder sind an zahllosen anderen Projekten beteiligt, von denen viele in den kaum zu fassenden Metá Metá-Sound Eingang finden – seien es die rhythmische Artikulation von Marçal, die experimentellen Frevo-Bläserpassagen, die França auf seinem schrillen neuen Album liefert, oder die schroffen Sambas auf Dinuccis bahnbrechendem Album „Rasthilho“ von 2020.

Juçara Marçal Gesang, Kalimba
Thiago França Saxofon, Flöte, Schwegel
Kiko Dinucci Gitarre, E-Gitarre, Synthesizer, Perkussion, Sampler, Regie

Luan Cardoso Kamera, Postproduktion
Beatriz Dantas Schnitt
Caê Rolfsen Mixing, Mastering

Im Auftrag von Berliner Festspiele / Jazzfest Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit Manoela Wright & Juliano Gentile

Dieses Konzert ist Teil von Jazzfest Berlin – São Paulo
__________

Livekonzert in Berlin / ca. 70 min

Dave Douglas: „Secular Psalms“

Der Trompeter Dave Douglas – einer der ausdrucksstärksten und vielseitigsten Bläser der letzten drei Dekaden – hat sich beim Erschließen neuer musikalischer Horizonte immer schon von seiner Neugier leiten lassen. Ursprünglich wollte Douglas sein neues Ensemble auf dem letztjährigen Jazzfest vorstellen, was durch die Pandemie verhindert wurde. Nun erfolgt die verspätete Premiere des Werks, welches von dem flämischen Maler Jan van Eyck inspiriert ist, insbesondere von seinem aus mehreren Tafeln bestehenden Meisterwerk „Die Anbetung des Lamm Gottes” (oder „Genter Altar”) aus dem Jahr 1432. Der Trompeter bezog aus der dunklen Außenseite des Altars dabei ebenso Inspiration wie aus dem grüneren, bevölkerten Innenleben, das nur im geöffneten Zustand zu sehen ist. Zudem fand Douglas musikalische Anregungen bei dem franko-flämischen Renaissancekomponisten Guillaume Dufay. Mitglieder seines vielversprechenden Kammer-Jazz-Ensembles sind die Cellistin Tomeka Reid aus Chicago, die polnische Keyboarderin Marta Warelis und die belgischen Musiker*innen Belinde Deman (Tuba), Frederik Leroux (Gitarre, Oud, Banjo) und der Schlagzeuger Antoine Pierre. Sie alle singen neben Lyrics des Bandleaders auch Texte der französischen Hofdichterin Christine de Pizan und unterstreichen damit die bereits im Bandnamen angelegte Dichotomie zwischen dem Heiligen und dem Profanen.

Dave Douglas Trompete, Gesang, Komposition
Tomeka Reid Cello, Gesang
Marta Warelis Klavier, Kofferorgel, Gesang
Berlinde Deman Tuba, Serpent, Gesang
Frederik Leroux Gitarren, Oud, Banjo, Gesang
Antoine Pierre Schlagzeug, Elektronik

Im Auftrag von Berliner Festspiele / Jazzfest Berlin, November Music, Kaap and Concertgebouw Brugge, und Handelsbeurs

__________

Videoarbeit aus Kairo / ca. 20 min

Terrible Sounds – A Triptych

Der deutsche Schlagzeuger, Journalist, Komponist und Filmemacher Hartmut Geerken, der im Laufe der Jahre mit Sun Ra, John Tchicai und dem Art Ensemble of Chicago zusammengearbeitet hat, verliebte sich bereits in die Klänge von Sun Ra, als er 1967 einen Job beim Goethe-Institut in Kairo annahm, bei dem er Salah Ragab kennenlernte und sich mit ihm anfreundete. Ragab war Armeegeneral und Schlagzeuger und leitete die Militärkapelle des Landes. Zusammen gründeten sie die erste Jazzband Ägyptens, die Cairo Jazz Band, sowie das Cairo Free Jazz Ensemble. Darüber hinaus zählt zu ihren gemeinsamen Arbeiten eine improvisierte Aufnahme aus dem Jahr 1971 mit weiteren Musikern, die erst vier Jahrzehnte später unter dem Titel „Muharram 1392“ – dem islamischen Datum der Originalaufnahme – veröffentlicht wurde. Der Filmemacher Philip Rizk hat gemeinsam mit der Musikerin Nadah El Shazly eine Gruppe experimenteller Musiker*innen aus der Region zusammengestellt, um die Aufnahme in neuen Improvisationen zu reflektieren – unter ihnen der ägyptische Multiinstrumentalist Maurice Louca, der beim diesjährigen Festival sein Projekt Elephantine vorstellt und als Co-Kurator des Kairo-Fokus in Erscheinung tritt. Durch einen Auftrag des Jazzfest Berlin hat das Projekt eine neue Eigendynamik entwickelt: Rizk hat eine vielschichtige filmische Meditation über das Fortleben des Kolonialismus in einer Ära des Neokolonialismus geschaffen, in der er sich mit den Ereignissen rund um die Öffnung des Grabes von Tutanchamun im Jahr 1922 befasst, und die neuen Sessions mit anderen Soundscapes zu einem kaleidoskopischen audiovisuellen Erlebnis arrangiert.

Philip Rizk Konzept & Video
Nadah El Shazly Musikalische Leitung & Bearbeitung, Gesang, Tasteninstrumente
Hartmut Geerken Stahlzungentrommel, Mizmar, Bandura, Flöte, Arghul, Angklung
Maurice Louca Tasteninstrumente
Ayman Asfour Violine
Sharif Sehnaoui Gitarre, Saz

Im Auftrag von Berliner Festspiele / Jazzfest Berlin mit einer von Mophradat unterstützten Aufnahme

Dieses Konzert ist Teil von Jazzfest Berlin – Cairo
__________

Livekonzert in Berlin / ca. 50 min

Nduduzo Makhathini

Letztes Jahr erreichte der südafrikanische Pianist, Komponist und Bandleader Nduduzo Makhathini ein internationales Publikum mit seinem Blue Note Debüt „Modes Of Communication: Letters From The Underworlds“, einer berauschenden Mischung aus Randy Westons Global Jazz-Idee und der Spiritualität von John Coltrane. Der ideenreiche Musiker, der bei The Ancestors mit Shabaka Hutchings zusammengearbeitet hat, gibt bei seinem Jazzfest Berlin-Debüt einen seltenen Soloauftritt, der ästhetisch als viel introspektiver zu erwarten ist als seine überschäumenden Bandprojekte. Sein atemberaubendes Soloalbum „Reflections“ von 2017 bietet Musik von zarter Seelenruhe, und obwohl es Stücke gibt, in denen sich der Pianist bei den gefühlvollen Traditionen seines Heimatlandes bedient und etwa in einem Stück wie „Igagu“ Gospel und Zulu-Harmonien mit einem Schuss Free Jazz verwebt, schafft er sich meistens einen meditativen Raum, der seinen sorgfältigen Grübeleien reichlich Platz zum Atmen lässt. Die kraftvollen Figuren, die er mit der linken Hand spielt, verleihen seinen Darbietungen eine erdige Präsenz, die durch die poetischen Gesten seiner rechten Hand wunderbar ausgeglichen wird, mit Kompositionen, die stilistische Grenzen zugunsten genre-agnostischer Erkundungfreiheit ignorieren.

Nduduzo Makhathini Klavier

Dieses Konzert ist Teil von Jazzfest Berlin – Johannesburg